AGENDA Senate Committee on Education House Committee on Education Meeting Jointly

Monday, August 11, 2014 10:00 AM Room 171, State Capitol Little Rock, Arkansas

Sen. Joyce Elliott, Vice Chair Sen. Jason Rapert Sen. Bruce Holland Sen. Uvalde Lindsey Sen. Alan Clark Sen. Jim Hendren Sen. Eddie Cheatham Rep. James McLean, Chair Rep. Ann V. Clemmer, Vice Chair Rep. Debra M. Hobbs Rep. Les "Skip" Carnine Rep. Robert E. Dale Rep. Karen S. Hopper Rep. Jody Dickinson Rep. John Charles Edwards Rep. Mark Biviano Rep. John Catlett Rep. Homer Lenderman Rep. Gary Deffenbaugh Rep. Jon S. Eubanks Rep. Sheilla E. Lampkin Rep. James Ratliff Rep. Bruce Cozart

Rep. Charlotte Vining Douglas Rep. Mark Lowery Rep. Charles L. Armstrong Rep. Brent Talley Rep. Stephen Meeks, Non-Voting Rep. Lane Jean, Non-Voting Rep. Fredrick J. Love, Non-Voting Rep. Reginald Murdock, Non-Voting Rep. Justin T. Harris, Non-Voting Rep. Jeff Wardlaw, Non-Voting Rep. Andy Mayberry, Non-Voting Rep. David Fielding, Non-Voting Rep. Harold Copenhaver, Non-Voting Rep. Randy Alexander, Non-Voting Rep. Chris Richey, Non-Voting Rep. Jim Dotson, Non-Voting

- A. Call to Order 10:00 A.M.
- B. Remarks by the Chairs
- C. Approval of the Minutes from the July 1, 2014, July 14, 2014, and July 15, 2014 Meetings [Exhibits C1, C2, and C3]
- D. Reports from Members Who Attended Recent Meetings Concerning Public or Higher Education
- E. Presentation by the 2014 Arkansas Teacher of the Year
 Mr. Jonathan Crossley, English Language Arts Teacher, Palestine-Wheatley High School, Palestine-Wheatley School District
- F. Preliminary Discussion of the Draft Report Mandated by Act 107 of 2013 **The Honorable Linda Chesterfield**, State Senator, District 30
- G. Discussion of Proposed Arkansas Department of Education Rule, Arkansas Department of Education Policies Governing Programs for Educator Licensure Offered by Institutions of Higher Education in Arkansas [Exhibit G]
 Ms. Cheryl Reinhart, Attorney, Ethics and Licensure, Arkansas Department of Education
- Notice: Silence your cell phones. Keep your personal conversations to a minimum. Observe restrictions designating areas as "*Members and Staff Only*"

Agenda August 11, 2013 Page 2

- H. Discussion of Proposed National Science Standards
 Dr. Debbie Jones, Assistant Commissioner of Learning Services, Arkansas Department of Education
- I. Discussion of Zuni4Ed Program Ms. Tina McCord, ZUNI Tree, LLC
- J. Other Business
- K. Adjournment