AGENDA Senate Committee on Education House Committee on Education Meeting Jointly

Monday, October 13, 2014 10:00 AM Room 171, State Capitol Little Rock, Arkansas

Sen. Joyce Elliott, Vice Chair Sen. Jason Rapert Sen. Bruce Holland Sen. Uvalde Lindsey Sen. Alan Clark Sen. Jim Hendren Sen. Eddie Cheatham Rep. James McLean, Chair Rep. Ann V. Clemmer, Vice Chair Rep. Debra M. Hobbs Rep. Les "Skip" Carnine Rep. Robert E. Dale Rep. Karen S. Hopper Rep. Jody Dickinson Rep. John Charles Edwards Rep. Mark Biviano Rep. John Catlett Rep. Homer Lenderman Rep. Gary Deffenbaugh Rep. Jon S. Eubanks Rep. Sheilla E. Lampkin Rep. James Ratliff Rep. Bruce Cozart

Rep. Charlotte Vining Douglas Rep. Mark Lowery Rep. Charles L. Armstrong Rep. Brent Talley Rep. Stephen Meeks, Non-Voting Rep. Lane Jean, Non-Voting Rep. Fredrick J. Love, Non-Voting Rep. Reginald Murdock, Non-Voting Rep. Justin T. Harris, Non-Voting Rep. Jeff Wardlaw, Non-Voting Rep. Andy Mayberry, Non-Voting Rep. David Fielding, Non-Voting Rep. Harold Copenhaver, Non-Voting Rep. Randy Alexander, Non-Voting Rep. Chris Richey, Non-Voting Rep. Jim Dotson, Non-Voting

- A. Call to Order 10:00 A.M.
- B. Remarks by the Chairs and Reports from Members Who Attended Recent Meetings Concerning Public or Higher Education
- C. Approval of the Minutes from the August 12, 2014, September 8, 2014, September 9, 2014, and September 25, 2014 Meetings [Exhibits C1, C2, C3, and C4]
- D. Discussion of Interim Study Proposal (ISP) 2013-001 by Senator David Johnson, REQUESTING THE ARKANSAS LEGISLATIVE COUNCIL TO CONDUCT AN INTERIM STUDY TO DETERMINE EFFECTIVE STRATEGIES TO ENSURE THAT ALL ARKANSAS STUDENTS ARE READING AT GRADE LEVEL BY THE END OF THE THIRD GRADE BY 2020. [Exhibit D] The Honorable David Johnson, State Senator, District 32
- E. Discussion of Issues Related to Broadband Access for School Districts
 Ms. Lydia Dobyns, President, New Tech Network
 Mr. Cory Biggs, Director of Public Affairs, Arkansas Education Association
 Ms. Renee Carr, Executive Director, Arkansas Rural Community Alliance
 Mr. Chad Williamson, Noble Impact Instructor, eStem High Public Charter School
- F. Receipt and Discussion of the Annual Report of the School Leadership Coordinating Council
 Dr. Mary Gunter, Chair, School Leadership Coordinating Council
 Mr. Mike Mertens, Assistant Executive Director, Arkansas Association of Educational Administrators
 Ms. Ivy Pfeffer, Assistant Commissioner, Human Resources, Educator Effectiveness and Licensure, Arkansas Department of Education
 Mr. David Cook, Director, Arkansas Leadership Academy
- Notice: Silence your cell phones. Keep your personal conversations to a minimum. Observe restrictions designating areas as "*Members and Staff Only*"

Agenda October 13, 2014 Page 2

- G. Discussion of Interim Study Proposal (ISP) 2013-139 by Representative Alexander, TO ESTABLISH THE PARENTAL CHOICE SCHOLARSHIP PROGRAM. [Exhibit G] The Honorable Randy Alexander, State Representative, District 88
- H. Report on the Activities of the Arkansas Task Force for the Prevention Through Education of Child Sexual Abuse
 [Exhibit H]
 The Honorable John Baine, State Representative, District 7
- I. Report on the Pea Ridge Manufacturing & Business Academy, a Conversion Charter School Operated by the Pea Ridge School District
 Mr. Rick Neal, Superintendent, Pea Ridge School District
- J. Other Business
- K. Adjournment