## AGENDA

## Senate Committee on Education House Committee on Education Meeting Jointly

## Monday, February 08, 2016 01:30 PM Room A, MAC Little Rock, Arkansas

Sen. Jane English, Chair Sen. Uvalde Lindsey, Vice Chair Sen. Eddie Joe Williams Sen. Alan Clark Sen. Bobby J. Pierce Sen. Jim Hendren Sen. Eddie Cheatham Sen. Blake Johnson Rep. Bruce Cozart, Chair Rep. Sheilla E. Lampkin, Vice Chair Rep. Greg Leding Rep. Reginald Murdock Rep. Gary Deffenbaugh Rep. Justin T. Harris Rep. Jon S. Eubanks Rep. James Ratliff Rep. Jeremy Gillam Rep. John W. Walker Rep. Nate Bell Rep. Scott Baltz Rep. Charlotte V. Douglas Rep. Mark Lowery Rep. Mark D. McElroy Rep. Charles L. Armstrong Rep. Bill Gossage Rep. Warwick Sabin Rep. Grant Hodges Rep. Michael John Gray

- A. Call to Order 1:30 P.M.
- B. Remarks by the Chairs
- C. Approval of the Minutes of the January 11, 2016 and January 12, 2016 Meetings [Exhibits C1 and C2]
- D. Reports from Members Who Attended Recent Meetings Concerning Public or Higher Education
- E. Update on Interim Study Proposal 2015-003 by Representative Charles Armstrong, REQUESTING THE HOUSE COMMITTEE ON EDUCATION TO CONDUCT A STUDY OF THE BEST PRACTICES FROM PUBLIC SCHOOLS AND PUBLIC CHARTER SCHOOLS IN THE STATE AND IN THE NATION THAT MAY BE IMPLEMENTED IN ARKANSAS SCHOOL DISTRICTS TO IMPROVE THE EFFICIENCY OF THE STATE'S SYSTEM OF PUBLIC EDUCATION AND STUDENT ACHIEVEMENT LEVELS. [Exhibit E] Dr. Gary W. Ritter, Faculty Director, Office for Education Policy, University of Arkansas, Fayetteville
   Dr. Sarah C. McKenzie, Executive Director, Office for Education Policy, University of Arkansas, Fayetteville
- F. Discussion of the University of Arkansas at Fort Smith (UAFS)'s Adopt A Professor Program Ms. Jennifer Jennings Davis, Director, Western Arkansas Education Renewal Zone, University of Arkansas-Fort Smith
- G. Discussion of Proposed Revisions to the Arkansas Department of Education's National Board for Professional Teaching Standards Rules [Exhibits G1 and G2]
  Ms. Ivy Pfeffer, Assistant Commissioner, Division of Educator Effectiveness and Licensure, Arkansas Department of Education

## Notice: Silence your cell phones. Keep your personal conversations to a minimum. Observe restrictions designating areas as "*Members and Staff Only*"

Agenda February 8, 2016 Page 2

Ms. Barbara Culpepper, Unit Programs Coordinator, Division of Educator Effectiveness and Licensure, Arkansas Department of Education
 Ms. Cheryl Rinehart, Professional Licensure Standards Board Director/Attorney, Division of Educator Effectiveness and Licensure, Arkansas Department of Education

- H. Discussion of Proposed Arkansas Department of Education Rule, Arkansas Department Of Education Rules Governing Schools Of Innovation [Exhibit H] Mr. Cory Biggs, Attorney, Arkansas Department of Education
- I. Other Business
- J. Adjournment