AGENDA

Senate Committee on Education House Committee on Education Meeting Jointly

Monday, July 18, 2016 01:30 PM Room 171, State Capitol Little Rock, Arkansas

Sen. Jane English, Chair Sen. Uvalde Lindsey, Vice Chair Sen. Eddie Joe Williams Sen. Alan Clark Sen. Bobby J. Pierce Sen. Jim Hendren Sen. Eddie Cheatham Sen. Blake Johnson Rep. Bruce Cozart, Chair Rep. Sheilla E. Lampkin, Vice Chair Rep. Greg Leding Rep. Reginald Murdock Rep. Gary Deffenbaugh Rep. Justin T. Harris Rep. Jon S. Eubanks Rep. James Ratliff Rep. Jeremy Gillam Rep. John W. Walker Rep. Nate Bell Rep. Scott Baltz Rep. Charlotte V. Douglas Rep. Mark Lowery Rep. Mark D. McElroy Rep. Charles L. Armstrong Rep. Bill Gossage Rep. Warwick Sabin Rep. Grant Hodges Rep. Michael John Gray

- A. Call to Order 1:30 P.M.
- B. Remarks by the Chairs
- C. Approval of the Minutes of the June 22, 2016 Meeting [Exhibit C]
- D. Update on <u>Closing the Gap 2020</u>: A Master Plan for Arkansas Higher Education
 Dr. Brett Powell, Director, Arkansas Department of Higher Education
- E. Update on Arkansas Public School Computer Network (APSCN) Broadband Upgrade Mr. Mark Myers, Director, Arkansas Department of Information Systems
- F. Discussion of Issues Related to Career and Technical Education (CTE)
 Dr. Charisse Childers, Director, Arkansas Department of Career Education
 Ms. Kathi Turner, Deputy Director, Division of Career and Technical Education,
 Arkansas Department of Career Education
 Mr. Brian Rogers, Deputy Director, Office of Skills Development, Arkansas
 Department of Career Education
- G. Other Business
- H. Adjournment
- Note: All exhibits for this meeting are available by electronic means and are accessible on the General Assembly's website at <u>www.arkleg.state.ar.us</u>
- Notice: Silence your cell phones. Keep your personal conversations to a minimum. Observe restrictions designating areas as "Members and Staff Only"