AGENDA

Senate Committee on Education **House Committee on Education Meeting Jointly**

Monday, August 22, 2016 01:30 PM Room 171, State Capitol Little Rock, Arkansas

Sen. Jane English, Chair

Sen. Uvalde Lindsey, Vice Chair

Sen. Eddie Joe Williams Sen. Alan Clark

Sen. Bobby J. Pierce

Sen. Jim Hendren

Sen. Eddie Cheatham

Sen. Blake Johnson

Rep. Bruce Cozart, Chair

Rep. Greg Leding

Rep. Reginald Murdock

Rep. Gary Deffenbaugh

Rep. Justin T. Harris

Rep. Jon S. Eubanks

Rep. James Ratliff

Rep. Jeremy Gillam

Rep. John W. Walker

Rep. Nate Bell

Rep. Scott Baltz

Rep. Charlotte V. Douglas

Rep. Mark Lowery

Rep. Mark D. McElrov

Rep. Charles L. Armstrong

Rep. Bill Gossage

Rep. Warwick Sabin

Rep. Grant Hodges

Rep. Michael John Gray

- Call to Order -1:30 P.M. Α.
- Remarks by the Chairs В.
- C. Approval of the Minutes from the July 18, 2016 and July 19, 2016 Meetings [Exhibits C1 and C2]
- D. Update on the Activities of Economics Arkansas Ms. Sue Owens, Executive Director, Economics Arkansas
- Introduction of **Dr. Maria Markham**, the New Director of the Arkansas Department of Higher E. Education
- F. Update on Arkansas's Teacher Supply

Ms. Ivy Pfeffer, Assistant Commissioner, Division of Educator Effectiveness and Licensure, Arkansas Department of Education

G. Overview of Activities Associated with Take Your Legislator to School Month

The Honorable Charlotte Vining Douglas, State Representative, District 75

The Honorable Alan Clark. State Senator. District 13

Ms. Cecillea Pond-Mayo, Communications Officer, Arkansas House of Representatives

- H. Other Business
- I. Adjournment

Note: All exhibits for this meeting are available by electronic means and are accessible on the General

Assembly's website at www.arkleg.state.ar.us

Notice: Silence your cell phones. Keep your personal conversations to a minimum. Observe restrictions designating areas as "Members and Staff Only"