

MINUTES SENATE COMMITTEE ON EDUCATION

House Committee on Education
Meeting Jointly
Monday, July 17, 2023
9:00 AM
Room A, MAC
Little Rock, Arkansas

Committee members present: Senators Jane English, Chair; Linda Chesterfield, Vice-Chair; Joshua Bryant, Breanne Davis, Jim Dotson, Kim Hammer, Matt Stone; Representatives Brian S. Evans, Chair; Keith Brooks, Vice-Chair; Rick Beck, Bruce Cozart, Charlene Fite, Lanny Fite, Denise Garner, Grant Hodges, Wayne Long, Brit McKenzie, Ron McNair, Stephen Meeks, DeAnn Vaught, and Carlton Wing

Other members present: Senator Jonathan Dismang; Representatives Fred Allen, Stan Berry, Joey Carr, Frances Cavenaugh, Cindy Crawford, Denise Ennett, Jon S. Eubanks, Tippi McCullough, Shad Pearce, Aaron Pilkington, Chad Puryear, David Ray, Johnny Rye, Jamie Scott, Joy Springer, and Trey Steimel

Senator English called the meeting to order.

Arkansas Department of Education (ADE) - Proposed Emergency Rule Governing the Education Freedom Account Program [Exhibit B]

Andres Rhodes, Chief Legal Counsel, ADE, and Courtney Salas-Ford, Chief of Staff, ADE, reviewed the Proposed Emergency Rule Governing the Education Freedom Account Program and discussed the procedures implemented for the 2023/2024 school year.

Representative Wing motioned to recommend to the ALC Executive Subcommittee review and approval of the proposed emergency rule. Without objection, the motion carried.

Senator Dotson motioned to recommend to the ALC Executive Subcommittee review and approval of the proposed emergency rule. With a second from Senator Hammer, the motion carried.

With no further business, the meeting adjourned at 10:00 a.m.