EXHIBIT B1

MINUTES SENATE COMMITTEE ON EDUCATION HOUSE COMMITTEE ON EDUCATION

Meeting Jointly Monday, October 3, 2022 1:30 PM Room A, MAC Little Rock, Arkansas

Committee members present: Senators Missy Irvin, Chair; Joyce Elliott, Vice-Chair; Linda Chesterfield, Jane English, Colby Fulfer, Greg Leding and James Sturch; Representatives Bruce Cozart, Chair, Brian S. Evans, Vice-Chair, Rick Beck, Ken Bragg, Karilyn Brown, Gary Deffenbaugh, Megan Godfrey, Steve Hollowell, Fredrick J. Love, John Maddox, Gayla H. McKenzie, Stephen Meeks, Reginald Murdock, Stu Smith and Nelda Speaks

Other members present: Senators Kim Hammer and Larry Teague; Representatives Howard Beaty, Stan Berry, Cameron Cooper, Marsh Davis, Jim Dotson, Jack Ladyman, David Ray, Jay Richardson, Johnny Rye, Jamie Scott, Keith Slape, Joy Springer and Dwight Tosh

Senator Irvin called the meeting the order.

Approval of Minutes for September 6, 2022 Meeting [Exhibit C] Representative Evans made a motion to approve the minutes, seconded by Representative Meeks, and without objection, the motion carried.

Discussion of Adequacy Issues and Potential Recommendations for the 2022 Adequacy Report Senator Irvin allowed members who submitted recommendations to discuss their recommendations for the 2022 Adequacy Report.

Senator Irvin recognized Dr. Ivy Pfeffer, Deputy Commissioner, Division of Elementary & Secondary Education. Dr. Pfeffer talked about the competitive differential pay rates for teachers in the state of Tennessee as well as teacher retention and launching the teacher residency model to provide new teachers with the work base experience while they're obtaining their degrees and experience in education.

With no further business, the meeting adjourned at 4:15 p.m.