

MINUTES SENATE COMMITTEE ON EDUCATION HOUSE COMMITTEE ON EDUCATION

Meeting Jointly
Tuesday, September 5, 2023
1:30 PM
Room A, MAC
Little Rock, Arkansas

Committee members present: Senators Jane English, Chair; Joshua Bryant, Breanne Davis, Jim Dotson, Kim Hammer, Greg Leding, and Matt Stone; Representatives Brian S. Evans, Chair; Keith Brooks, Vice-Chair; Sonia Eubanks Barker, Rick Beck, Bruce Cozart, Hope Duke, Charlene Fite, Lanny Fite, Vivian Flowers, Grant Hodges, Wayne Long, Ron McNair, Stephen Meeks, Stetson Painter, Steven Walker, and Carlton Wing

Other members present: Senators Brian King and Fredrick Love; Representatives Brandon Achor, Fred Allen, Stan Berry, Nicole Clowney, Denise Ennett, Jon Eubanks, Kenneth Ferguson, Jack Ladyman, Tippi McCullough, Aaron Pilkington, David Ray, Jay Richardson, Johnny Rye, Joy Springer, and Jeff Wardlaw

Senator English called the meeting to order.

Consideration to Approve the May 15, 2023, and July 17, 2023, Meeting Minutes [Exhibits C1-C2] Without objection, the minutes were approved.

Discussion of Workforce in Arkansas [Exhibit D]

Mike Rogers, Chief Workforce Officer, Arkansas Governor's Office; Dr. Ken Warden, Commissioner, Arkansas Division of Higher Education; Ross White, Director of Career and Technical Education, Arkansas Department of Education; and Cody Waits, Director, Arkansas Office of Skills Development, Department of Commerce, gave a presentation regarding the workflow for each workforce system in Arkansas.

Consideration for Adoption of Interim Study Proposals (ISP): [Exhibits E1-E7]

Senator English stated that, without objection, all seven ISP listed on the agenda will be adopted for study.

With no further business, the meeting was adjourned at 3:30 p.m.