# **EXHIBIT B2**

### MINUTES SENATE COMMITTEE ON EDUCATION House Committee on Education Meeting Jointly Tuesday, November 7, 2023 9:00 AM Room A, MAC Little Rock, Arkansas

Committee members present: Senators Jane English, Chair; Linda Chesterfield, Vice Chair; Breanne Davis, Jim Dotson, and Matt Stone; Representatives Brian S. Evans, Chair; Keith Brooks, Vice Chair; Sonia Eubanks Barker, Hope Duke, Lanny Fite, Vivian Flowers, Denise Garner, Wayne Long, John Maddox, Ron McNair, Stephen Meeks, DeAnn Vaught, Steven Walker, and Carlton Wing

Other members present: Senators Alan Clark, Steve Crowell, Tyler Dees, Jonathon Dismang, Scott Flippo, Ben Gilmore, Bart Hester, Fredrick Love, and Dan Sullivan; Representatives Harlan Breaux, Frances Cavenaugh, Denise Ennett, Jon Eubanks, Kenneth Ferguson, Jack Fortner, Zack Gramlich, DeAnna Hodges, Steve Hollowell, Jack Ladyman, Roger Lynch, Tippi McCullough, Aaron Pilkington, Chad Puryear, David Ray, Jay Richardson, R. Scott Richardson, Johnny Rye, and Joy Springer

Representative Evans called the meeting to order.

## Presentation of Caring for Arkansas through Arkansas Teacher Corps and IMPACT Arkansas Principal Fellowship [Exhibits B1-B3]

Kate Mamiseishvili, Dean, College of Education and Health Professions, University of Arkansas (UA); Josh B. McGee, Associate Director, Office for Education Policy (OEP), Department of Education Reform, UA; Sarah McKenzie, Executive Director, OEP, Department of Education Reform, UA; Brandon G. Lucius, Executive Director, Arkansas Teacher Corps, Department of Education Reform, UA; John Bacon, Executive Director, IMPACT Arkansas Principal Fellowship, Department of Curriculum and Instruction, UA, presented an overview of Arkansas Teacher Corps and IMPACT Arkansas Principal Fellowship programs. They discussed child poverty rates, teacher shortages, and teacher retention.

### Presentation from Arkansas Educational Cooperatives [Exhibits C1-C8]

Brad Horn, Director, Wilbur D. Mills Education Service Cooperative; Daryl Blaxton, Director, Northeast Arkansas Education Cooperative; Pam Castor, Director, Crowley's Ridge Educational Service Cooperative; Gerald Cooper, Director, Northcentral Arkansas Education Service Cooperative; Karen Kay McMahon, Director, South Central Service Cooperative; and Benny Weston, Director, Dequeen-Mena Education Service Cooperative, presented information on total revenue and expenditures for fiscal year 2023 and gave a cooperative finance overview.

### **Other Business**

Representative Meeks requested that at a future meeting, the Department of Education present information regarding emerging technology's impact on future employment of current students and how the department plans to keep students from using it to complete their assignments for them.

With no further business, the meeting adjourned at 11:00 a.m.