TENTATIVE AGENDA Senate Committee on Education

Thursday, January 22, 2009 UPON ADJOURNMENT OF BOTH CHAMBERS Room 138, State Capitol Little Rock, Arkansas

Sen. Jimmy Jeffress, Chair Sen. Steve Bryles, Vice Chair Sen. Kim Hendren Sen. Shane Broadway Sen. Gene Jeffress Sen. Mary Anne Salmon Sen. Johnny Key Sen. Joyce Elliott

- A. Call to Order 2:30 P.M. or Upon Adjournment of the House of Representatives
- B. Discussion of Issues Pertaining to Teacher Performance Pay
 Dr. Gary Ritter, Director, Office of Educational Policy, College of Education and Health Professions, University of Arkansas
- C. Discussion of the Activities of the Commission on Closing the Achievement Gap in Arkansas
 Dr. Calvin Johnson, Dean, School of Education, University of Arkansas at Pine Bluff and former Member of the Arkansas House of Representatives
 Dr. Jesse Hargrove, Chair, Commission on Closing the Achievement Gap in Arkansas and Chair, Division of Education, Philander Smith College
- D. Discussion of Activities of the Arkansas Department of Education to Address Issues Related to the Achievement Gap
 Dr. Ken James, Commissioner, Arkansas Department of Education
 Dr. Alice Barnes Rose, Assistant Commissioner, Learning Services, Arkansas Department of Education
 Ms. Deborah Coffman, Associate Director, Professional Development, K-12 Literacy Arkansas Department of Education
- E. Other Business
- F. Adjournment