DEPARTMENT OF EDUCATION

Ņ

<u>SUBJECT</u>: School Superintendent Mentoring Program

DESCRIPTION: Pursuant to Act 586 of 2011, and upon availability of funding, the Department of Education will develop and sponsor a mentoring program for new superintendents. Beginning 2011-2012, a new superintendent must be mentored within 12 months of obtaining employment and to maintain a license. These rules establish the general requirements of the program, define the components, require a minimum of 30 hours of instruction, outline monitoring and compliance procedures, establish sanctions for failing to comply, and define qualifications for mentors.

Due to public comment, the following revisions were made:

Sections 3.01.1 and 3.01.2: These sections were added to clarify the date upon which the 12 month superintendent mentoring program period begins.

Section 3.03: This section was deleted because it was determined that Section 6.00 sufficiently listed the required qualifications for superintendent mentors.

Section 4.01.9: This section was added to ensure that new superintendents received training concerning the Arkansas Standards for Accreditation of Arkansas public schools and school districts. The remaining sections were renumbered accordingly.

Section 4.06: This section was amended to require proof of successful completion of the superintendent mentoring program for a superintendent to receive a certificate of program completion from the Department of Education.

Section 5.03: This section was deleted because the relevant text is now included in Sections 3.01.1 and 3.01.2.

<u>PUBLIC COMMENT</u>: A public hearing was held on September 27, 2011. Public comment period ended on October 21, 2011. The following comments were submitted to the Department:

Ron Harder, Arkansas School Boards Association

Comment:

• Section 3.01 – Unless 5.03 covers the issue of interim superintendents, since 2.01 rightfully excuses interim superintendents from the required mentoring, I suggest adding language clarifying when the 12 month time period starts for a superintendent who has been an interim superintendent, but was made permanent at some point during a school year. This language could also be added to 5.01.

• Section 7.01 – Please consider adding language stating that a commissioner's memo will be issued annually to inform superintendents whether or not the rules are in effect for the current school year.

Response:

- Comment accepted. Subsections 3.01.1 and 3.01.2 set forth the beginning dates for the twelve (12) month superintendent mentoring program period for new superintendents and interim superintendents who become permanent superintendents.
- Comment considered. The ADE will consider such a notification.

Tripp Walter, Arkansas Public School Resource Center

Comment:

- Section 3.02 and 3.03 Other partners should be included here along with the Arkansas Association of Educational Administrators.
- Section 3.03 How will the public know the total requirements?
- Sections 4.05 and 4.06
 - a. Where is the authority to require the assessments?
 - b. Who will develop the assessments?
 - c. Does the mentor present to the Department (Sections 4.05.2 and 4.06)?
- Section 5.02 If a mental disability, may not want to allow.
- Section 6.02 Will the costs associated with training incurred by the mentors be reimbursable?

The proposed effective date is January 15, 2012, implementation is subject to appropriation and availability of funding.

CONTROVERSY: This is not expected to be controversial.

FINANCIAL IMPACT: This is dependent upon funding availability.

LEGAL AUTHORIZATION: Arkansas Code Annotated §6-11-105 (d) gives the Department the general authority to promulgate rules and regulations.

Specifically, Ark. Code Ann. §6-17-402 (b)(1) states "[t]he State Board of Education shall promulgate rules and regulations for the issuance, licensure, relicensure, and continuance of licensure of teachers in the public schools of this state."

This rule is promulgated in order to implement the changes in the law created by Act 586 of 2011.

ARKANSAS DEPARTMENT OF EDUCATION RULES GOVERNING THE SCHOOL SUPERINTENDENT MENTORY EPOGRAM

1.00 REGULATORY AUTHORITY AND PURPOSE

DEC 1 2 2011

- 1.01 These rules shall be known as the Arkansas Department **LEGISITOT Rules** Governing the School Superintendent Mentoring Program.
- 1.02 The State Board of Education enacted these rules pursuant to its authority as set forth in Ark. Code Ann. §§ 6-11-105, 6-13-109, Act 586 of 2011, and 25-15-201 et seq.

2.00 DEFINITION

2.01 "First-year Arkansas superintendent" means a licensed educator who will become a superintendent in Arkansas for the first time during the 2011-2012 school year or each school year thereafter. The term does not refer to other district level administrators, such as deputy superintendents, assistant superintendents or associate superintendents. The term does not refer to acting superintendents or interim superintendents unless the acting superintendents or interim superintendents become the permanent superintendents of the district.

3.00 GENERAL REQUIREMENTS

- 3.01 Beginning with the 2011-2012 school year, a first-year Arkansas superintendent shall complete the superintendent mentoring program within twelve (12) months of obtaining or maintaining employment as a superintendent to maintain his or her superintendent's license.
 - 3.01.1 Except as noted in subsection 3.01.2 below, the twelve (12) month superintendent mentoring program period shall begin upon the first day that the first-year Arkansas superintendent obtains employment with an Arkansas public school district, as evidenced by the effective date contained in the signed employment contract between the superintendent and an Arkansas public school district.
 - 3.01.2 For an interim or acting superintendent of a school district who becomes the permanent superintendent of the same school district, the twelve (12) month superintendent mentoring program period shall begin upon the

date the interim or acting superintendent becomes the permanent superintendent pursuant to official action of the school district's board of directors.

- 3.02 The Department of Education shall, in conjunction with the Arkansas Association of Educational Administrators, develop all curriculum and training materials for the superintendent mentoring program.
- 3.03 The Department of Education shall, in conjunction with the Arkansas Association of Educational Administrators, establish all necessary requirements pertaining to the qualification of mentors under the superintendent mentoring program. Such qualifications shall be in addition to the basic qualifications set forth in Section <u>6.00 of these rules</u>.
- 3.043 Membership in the Arkansas Association of Educational Administrators, or any other organization, is not required in order for a superintendent to successfully complete the requirements of the program.
- 3.054 The requirements contained in these rules are in addition to those contained in other areas of Arkansas law or in other rules of the State Board of related to administrator licensure, including without limitation, the Arkansas Department of Education Rules Governing Initial and Standard/Advanced Level Administrator and Administrator Arkansas Correctional School Licensure.

4.00 PROGRAM REQUIREMENTS

4.01 The superintendent mentoring program shall include the following components:

4.01.1 Curriculum and instruction;

4.01.2 Ethics;

4.01.3 Facilities;

4.01.4 Human resources;

4.01.5 Leadership;

4.01.6 School funding;

4.01.7 Technology;

4.01.8 School board relations;

<u>4.01.9 Standards for Accreditation of Arkansas Public Schools and School</u> <u>Districts;</u>

4.01.910 Understanding reports and trend data; and

4.01.1011 Legal issues.

- 4.02 The required course of study for the superintendent mentoring program shall not consist of less than thirty (30) hours of instruction. Twelve (12) of the thirty (30) hours of instruction shall consist of documented interaction between the mentor and superintendent mentee.
- 4.03 A first-year Arkansas superintendent who completes the requirements of the superintendent mentoring program may use the training toward fulfillment of the Initial Tier 1 training set forth by Ark. Code Ann. § 6-20-2204 and the Arkansas Department of Education Rules Governing the Arkansas Financial Accounting and Reporting System and Annual Training Requirements. A first-year Arkansas superintendent who has previously completed Initial Tier 1 training must nevertheless complete the requirements of the superintendent mentoring program.
- 4.03 Instruction under the superintendent mentoring program may take place in person, through distance learning, through Compressed Interactive Video (CIV), or a combination thereof.
- 4.04 The superintendent mentor and superintendent mentee shall keep a signed, written record of progress that includes a description of:

4.04.1 The subject of instruction and areas covered;

- 4.04.2 Whether the instruction took place in person, through distance learning, through Compressed Interactive Video (CIV), or a combination thereof; and
- 4.04.3 The amount of time of instruction during each session.

- 4.05 In order to successfully complete the superintendent mentoring program, a superintendent must:
 - 4.05.1 Take and pass an assessment for each of the program components described in Section 4.01 of these rules; and
 - 4.05.2 Complete a final assessment or project covering the entire program.
- 4.06 Upon *proof of* successful completion of the superintendent mentoring program, a superintendent will receive a certificate of program completion from the Department of Education.

5.00 SANCTIONS

- 5.01 A first-year Arkansas superintendent who does not complete the requirements of the superintendent mentoring program within twelve (12) months of obtaining or maintaining employment as a superintendent shall be ineligible to maintain his or her superintendent's license.
- 5.02 If, due to the physical or mental disability of the superintendent or other extenuating circumstances as may be recognized by the State Board, a superintendent does not complete the requirements of the superintendent mentoring program within twelve (12) months of obtaining or maintaining employment as a superintendent, the State Board may permit the superintendent up to an additional twelve (12) months to complete the program.
- 5.03 The twelve (12) month period described in section 5.01 of these rules shall begin upon the first day that the first year Arkansas superintendent obtains employment with an Arkansas public school district, as evidenced by the effective date contained in the signed employment contract between the superintendent and an Arkansas public school district.

6.00 MENTOR QUALIFICATIONS

6.01 For the purposes of these rules, a mentor shall meet the following basic qualifications:

6.01.1 A practicing Arkansas superintendent or retired Arkansas superintendent;

- 6.01.2 Successfully completes an application and screening process as set forth by the Department of Education; and
- 6.01.3 Successfully completes a mentor training program as set forth by the Department of Education.
- 6.02 The Department of Education will certify mentors who meet the qualifications outlined in Section 6.01 of these rules.

7.00 FUNDING

- 7.01 These rules are subject to the appropriation and availability of funding.
- 7.02 The Department of Education may, through the use of contracts, grants, or subgrants, coordinate with qualified entities to provide training under the superintendent mentoring program to superintendents in Arkansas.