AR General Assembly

The Arkansas General Assembly is made up of two houses, the House of Representatives and the Senate. The House of Representatives has 100 members and the Senate has 35 members. All members of the General Assembly are elected by voters from their respective districts. The primary duties of the General Assembly are to make, amend, and pass laws.



The Arkansas General Assembly meets on the second Monday in January of odd number years for regular session, and on the second Monday in February on even number years for fiscal session. A regular session lasts for 60 days and a fiscal session lasts for up to 30 days, unless the legislature votes to extend either session. The Governor of Arkansas can issue a "call" for a special session during the interims between regular sessions. The Arkansas General Assembly meets at the Arkansas State Capitol in Little Rock.

To be a member of the General Assembly one must. . .

- be at least 25 years old.
- be a resident of Arkansas for at least 2 years.
- be a resident of his/her district for at least 1 year.
- serve a 4 year term.

- be at least 21 years old.
- be a resident of Arkansas for at least 2 years.
- be a resident of his/her district for at least 1 year.
- serve a 2 year term.