EXHIBIT C

MINUTES SENATE AND HOUSE COMMITTEES ON JUDICIARY Meeting Jointly Thursday, August 1, 2024 10:00 AM Room 151, State Capitol Little Rock, Arkansas

Committee members present: Senators Gary Stubblefield, Chair; Stephanie Flowers, Vice-Chair; Alan Clark, Ben Gilmore, Matt McKee, and Clarke Tucker; Representatives Carol Dalby, Chair; Stan Berry, Vice-Chair; Nicole Clowney, Andrew Collins, Cameron Cooper, Matt Duffield, Jimmy Gazaway, Ashley Hudson, Tippi McCullough, Jon Milligan, Milton Nicks, Jr., Shad Pearce, Jay Richardson, Marcus E. Richmond, Kendon Underwood, Steve Unger, and Danny Watson

Other members present: Senators Joshua Bryant, Jim Dotson, Missy Irvin, Mark Johnson, and Fredrick Love; Representatives Howard Beaty, Jr., Harlan Breaux, Kenneth Ferguson, Vivian Flowers, Grant Hodges, Steve Hollowell, Austin McCollum, Chad Puryear, Johnny Rye, Joy Springer, DeAnn Vaught, and Jeremy Wooldridge

Senator Stubblefield called the meeting to order.

Consideration to Approve the June 6, 2024, Meeting Minutes [Exhibit B]

Representative Watson made a motion to approve the minutes, seconded by Senator Flowers, and the motion carried.

Department of Corrections (DOC), Arkansas Sentencing Commission, Review of Rule, Eligibility for Transfer to Post-Release Supervision [Exhibit C]

Tawnie Rowell, Chief Legal Counsel, DOC, provided an explanation of the proposed rule. Senator Gilmore made a motion to review the rule, and without objection, the rule was reviewed.

Presentation of Special Report by Arkansas Legislative Audit (ALA) [Exhibits D1-D2]

Heather Lamkin, CPA, Senior Auditor, ALA; Charlie Camp, CPA, Special Projects Managers, ALA; and Tom Bullington, CPA, Deputy Legislative Auditor, State Agencies, ALA; presented a comprehensive overview of the Information Regarding Arkansas District Courts Special Report which included information about the structure and history of district courts in the state, caseload information, the allocation and expenditure of funds for district courts in the state, and a list of revenue sources by district.

Sam Kauffman, Finance and Administration Director, Administrative Office of the Courts (AOC), and Tim Holthoff, Court Information Systems Director, AOC, provided insight into the allocation of state funds to district courts.

Kay Palmer, Executive Director, Arkansas District Judges Council (ADJC), provided clarification on the suggestion survey sent by the ADJC which asked for ideas from district judges in Arkansas on final recommendations for the Act 38 of 2023 legislative study.

With no other business, the meeting adjourned at 11:30 a.m.