## **EXHIBIT B.1**

# REPORT OF THE LEGISLATIVE CRIMINAL JUSTICE OVERSIGHT TASK FORCE

June 17, 2015

The Legislative Criminal Justice Oversight Task Force met at 10:00 a.m. on Wednesday, June 17, 2015, in Room B-MAC, Little Rock, Arkansas.

Task Force members present: Senators Jeremy Hutchinson, Co-Chair; Joyce Elliott; and Representative Dwight Tosh; Drew Baker, Ken Cassidy, John Felts, John Wesley Hall, Tim Helder, Wendy Kelley, Benny Magness, Steve Newsome, and Sheila Sharp.

Senator Hutchinson called the meeting to order.

#### **Action/Requests**

Without objection, the Minutes of the May 27, 2015, meeting were adopted as written.

Rick Ferguson, Billy McConnell, Rodney Cooper, and Clay McConnell, presented an overview of the programs and services offered by LaSalle Corrections. The company has expressed an interest in developing solutions to prison overcrowding in Arkansas and spoke on the available locations/number of prison beds logistically compatible to the state. (Exhibit C)

Wendy Ware, Vice President of JFA Associates, LLC, presented a report on the 2015 Arkansas Prison Projections and Historical Corrections Trends. Ms. Ware stated that in 2013, Arkansas had the fastest growing prison population (17.7%) in the country (seven times the national average) with a substantial increase in parolees being returned--the prison population grew by 3.7% in 2014. The number of parole violators returned to prison:

- 2012: 1,633
- 2013: 3,671
- 2014: 4,139
- 2015: 815 (estimate of 5,500 by end of year)

(see Exhibit D for full report)

Senator Hutchinson said in order to function properly, the Task Force should organize into working groups. The following groups were assigned:

## **Sentencing**

Chair: Judge Gary Arnold

Mr. Ken Casady Mr. Benny Magness

Senator Jeremy Hutchinson

Mr. John Hall

#### **Re-Entry/Programs/ Services**

Chair: Senator Joyce Elliott

Ms. Sheila Sharp Mr. Drew Baker Ms. Wendy Kelley

## **Specialty Courts**

Chair: Judge Cristi Beaumont

Judge Gary Arnold

Mr. Steve Newsome

Ms. Shelia Sharp

Ms. Tjuana Byrd

## **State Parole Revocation Policy**

Chair: Mr. John Felts

Mr. Tim Helder

Mr. Benny Magness

Mr. John Hall

Ms. Shelia Sharp

### **Efficiencies Systems/ Process**

Chair: Mr. Robin Raveendran

Ms. Wendy Kelley

Mr. John Felts

#### **Mental Health Treatment**

Chair: Mr. Steve Newsome

Mr. Robin Raveendran

Ms. Tjuana Byrd

Mr. Drew Baker

Representative Matthew Shepherd

#### Resources

Chair: Representative Dwight Tosh

Mr. Tim Helder

Ms. Wendy Kelley

Mr. Drew Baker

Senator Jeremy Hutchinson

Representative Matthew Shepherd

#### **Warrantless Searches**

Chair: Mr. Kenton Buckner

Mr. John Hall

Mr. Ken Casady

Senator Joyce Elliott

### **Clemency Guidelines/ Release Policy**

Chair: Mr. John Hall

Ms. Wendy Kelley

Mr. John Felts

Mr. Ken Casady

Mr. Benny Magness

Senator Joyce Elliott

The next task force meeting is scheduled for July 13, 2015, at 10:00 a.m., and with no further business, the meeting adjourned at 12:30 p.m.