AGENDA

Senate Committee on Public Health, Welfare and Labor House Committee on Public Health, Welfare and Labor Meeting Jointly

Thursday, July 24, 2014 01:00 PM Room A, MAC Little Rock, Arkansas

Sen. Cecile Bledsoe, Chair

Sen. Linda Chesterfield, Vice Chair

Sen. Stephanie Flowers Sen. David Burnett

Sen. Missy Irvin

Sen. Jonathan Dismang

Sen. Ronald Caldwell Sen. John Cooper Rep. John Burris, Chair

Rep. Reginald Murdock, Vice Chair

Rep. James L. Word

Rep. Butch Wilkins

Rep. Mark Perry

Rep. Stephanie Malone

Rep. Henry "Hank" Wilkins, IV

Rep. Greg Leding

Rep. Fredrick J. Love

Rep. Kelley Linck

Rep. Justin T. Harris Rep. Jeff Wardlaw

Rep. Kim Hammer

Rep. David L. Branscum

Rep. David Meeks

Rep. Andy Mayberry

Rep. Betty Overbey

Rep. Chris Richey

Rep. Richard Womack

Rep. Deborah Ferguson

Rep. Nate Steel, Non-Voting

Rep. Mark Biviano, Non-Voting

Rep. Charlie Collins, Non-Voting

Rep. Matthew J. Shepherd, Non-Voting

Rep. Tommy Thompson, Non-Voting

Rep. Charlotte Vining Douglas, Non-Voting

Rep. Sue Scott, Non-Voting

Rep. Mark D. McElroy, Non-Voting

Rep. Stephen Magie, Non-Voting

Rep. John K. Hutchison, Non-Voting

Rep. John Baine, Non-Voting

Rep. Mary Broadaway, Non-Voting

A. Call to Order

- B. Comments by the Chairs
 - 1. Senator Cecile Bledsoe
 - 2. Representative John Burris
- C. Consideration to Approve the Minutes of the June 26 and June 27, 2014 Meetings (EXHIBITS C-1 & C-2)
- D. Implementation of the Private Option: Arkansas Healthcare Independence Act (Act 1498 of 2013 and Act 257 of 2014)
 - 1. John Selig, Director, Department of Human Services (DHS)
 - 2. Dawn Zekis, Interim Director, Division of Medical Services, Department of Human Services
 - 3. Jay Bradford, Commissioner, Arkansas Insurance Department (AID)
 - 4. Cindy Crone, Deputy Commissioner, Arkansas Health Connector Division, Arkansas Insurance Department (**EXHIBIT D-4**)
 - 5. Joe Thompson, M.D., Arkansas Surgeon General and Director, Arkansas Center for Health Improvement
 - 6. Discussion by the Committees

Notice: Silence your cell phones. Keep your personal conversations to a minimum. Observe restrictions designating areas as "Members and Staff Only"

- E. Implementation and Organization of the Office of Medicaid Inspector General (Act 1499 of 2013)
 - 1. Jay Shue, Medicaid Inspector General, Department of Human Services (EXHIBIT E-1)
 - 2. Bart Dickinson, Chief Counsel, Office of Inspector General, Department of Human Services
 - 3. Dawn Zekis, Interim Director, Division of Medical Services, Department of Human Services
 - 4. Marilyn Strickland, Chief Operating Officer, Division of Medical Services, Department of Human Services (EXHIBIT E-4)
 - 5. Discussion by the Committees
- F. Arkansas Tobacco Settlement Commission, Biennial Evaluation Report for 2013-2014 (EXHIBIT F)
 - 1. Faye Shepherd, Executive Director, Arkansas Tobacco Settlement Commission
 - 2. Kendra Versendaal, Researcher, Battelle Memorial Institute
 - 3. Discussion by the Committees
- G. Other Business
- H. Adjournment