## **AGENDA**

## Senate Committee on Public Health, Welfare and Labor House Committee on Public Health, Welfare and Labor Meeting Jointly

Tuesday, May 06, 2008 10:00 AM Room 130, State Capitol Little Rock, Arkansas

Sen. Jack Critcher, Chair Sen. Tracy Steele, Vice Chair

Sen. Percy Malone

Sen. Henry "Hank" Wilkins, IV

Sen. Barbara Horn Sen. Randy Laverty Sen. Bill Pritchard Sen. Jack Crumbly Rep. Eddie Cooper, Chair Rep. Johnny Key, Vice Chair

Rep. Stan Berry
Rep. Susan Schulte
Rep. Sandra Prater
Rep. Denny Sumpter
Rep. Daryl Pace
Rep. Jim Medley
Rep. Marilyn Edwards
Rep. Roy Ragland

Rep. Rick Green Rep. Willie Hardy Rep. Pam Adcock Rep. Stephanie Flowers

Rep. Gregg Reep Rep. Dawn Creekmore Rep. Mike Burris Rep. Sharon Dobbins Rep. Billy Gaskill

Rep. Eddie Hawkins

Rep. George Overbey, Non-Voting Rep. Lindsley Smith, Non-Voting Rep. David Cook, Non-Voting Rep. Fred Allen, Non-Voting Rep. Johnny Hoyt, Non-Voting Rep. Toni Bradford, Non-Voting Rep. Lance Reynolds, Non-Voting Rep. Kathy Webb, Non-Voting

Rep. David "Bubba" Powers, Non-Voting

Rep. Gene Shelby, Non-Voting Rep. Clark Hall, Non-Voting Rep. Tracy Pennartz, Non-Voting

## A. Call to Order

- B. Review of the Minutes from the April 7, 2008 Meeting
- C. Consideration of Interim Study Proposal
  - 1. ISP2007 200 "Requesting the Arkansas Legislative Council Refer to the House Interim Committee on Public Health, Welfare and Labor a Study of Healthcare Workforce needs in Arkansas."
    - a. Representative Gene Shelby, Sponsor
    - b. Michal Cohen, Program Associate, Association of Academic Health Centers
    - c. Elaine Rubin, Vice President for Policy and Program, Association of Academic Health Centers
    - d. Debra H. Fiser, MD, Dean, College of Medicine
    - e. Claudia P. Barone, EdD, RN, LNC, CPC, APRN-BC, CCNS, Dean, College of Nursing
    - Bo Ryall, Executive Vice President, Arkansas Hospital Association
    - g. Discussion by the Committees

Notice: Silence your cell phones. Keep your personal conversations to a minimum. Observe restrictions designating areas as "Members and Staff Only"

- D. Report by the Arkansas Commission on Eye and Vision Care of School Age Children (Act 1438 of 2005)
  - 1. Dee Cox, Coordinator of Special Programs, Arkansas Department of Education
  - 2. Discussion by the Committees
- E. Other Business
- F. Adjournment