## **AGENDA**

## Senate Committee on Public Health, Welfare and Labor House Committee on Public Health, Welfare and Labor **Meeting Jointly**

Monday, September 22, 2008 01:30 PM Room 130, State Capitol Little Rock, Arkansas

Sen. Jack Critcher, Chair Sen. Tracy Steele, Vice Chair

Sen. Percy Malone

Sen. Henry "Hank" Wilkins, IV

Sen. Barbara Horn Sen. Randy Laverty Sen. Bill Pritchard Sen. Jack Crumbly

Rep. Eddie Cooper, Chair Rep. Johnny Key, Vice Chair

Rep. Stan Berry Rep. Susan Schulte Rep. Sandra Prater Rep. Denny Sumpter Rep. Daryl Pace Rep. Jim Medley Rep. Marilyn Edwards Rep. Roy Ragland

Rep. Rick Green Rep. Willie Hardy

Rep. Pam Adcock Rep. Stephanie Flowers Rep. Gregg Reep Rep. Dawn Creekmore

Rep. Mike Burris Rep. Sharon Dobbins Rep. Billy Gaskill

Rep. Eddie Hawkins

Rep. George Overbey, Non-Voting Rep. Lindsley Smith, Non-Voting Rep. David Cook, Non-Voting Rep. Fred Allen, Non-Voting Rep. Johnny Hoyt, Non-Voting Rep. Toni Bradford, Non-Voting Rep. Lance Reynolds, Non-Voting Rep. Kathy Webb, Non-Voting

Rep. David "Bubba" Powers, Non-Voting

Rep. Gene Shelby, Non-Voting Rep. Clark Hall, Non-Voting Rep. Tracy Pennartz, Non-Voting

A. Call to Order

- B. Review of the Minutes from the September 8 & 9, 2008 Meetings
- C. Review of Corrective Legislation as Recommended by the Code Revision Commission
  - 1. Senator Sue Madison, Chair, Code Revision Commission
  - 2. Vince Henderson, Code Reviser
  - 3. Discussion by the Committees
- D. Consideration of Interim Study Proposals
  - 1. ISP2007-229 "An Act to Allow Blood Donations by Sixteen (16) Year Olds with Parental Permission; and for Other Purposes."
    - a. Representative Johnny Key, Sponsor
    - b. David Montgomery, Senior Director of Donor Recruitment & Information Technology, Community Blood Centers of the Ozarks
    - c. Alan Gibson, Communications Manager, Blood Services, American Red Cross
    - d. Discussion by the Committees

Notice: Silence your cell phones. Keep your personal conversations to a minimum. Observe restrictions designating areas as "Members and Staff Only"

- E. Presentation on Mental Health Centers Data Collection on Increased Indigent Care
  - 1. Jay Bradford, Director, Division of Behavioral Health, DHS
  - 2. Pam Christie, Executive Director, Mental Health Council of Arkansas
  - 3. Steve Newsome, President, Mental Health Council of Arkansas
  - 4. Roland Irwin, Immediate Past President, Mental Health Council of Arkansas
  - 5. Discussion by the Committees
- F. Review of the Medicaid Report for the Quarter January 1, 2008 through March 31, 2008 and for the Quarter April 1, 2008 through June 30, 2008 (As Required by A.C.A., Section 20-77-111)
  - 1. Kyleen Hawkins, CFO, Division of Medical Services, DHS
  - 2. Discussion and Action by the Committees
- G. Report on Antipsychotic Drug Use of Children
  - 1. Laurence H. Miller, M.D., Medical Director, Division of Behavioral Health Services and Professor of Psychiatry, UAMS
  - 2. Steven Domon, M.D., Section Chief, Adolescent Units, Arkansas State Hospital and Assistant Clinical Professor of Psychiatry, UAMS
  - 3. William Golden, M.D., Medical Director, Health Policy, Medicaid and Professor of Medicine and Public Health, UAMS
  - 4. Discussion by the Committees
- H. Other Business
- I. Adjournment