# **EXHIBIT B**

#### MINUTES SENATE COMMITTEE ON TRANSPORTATION, TECHNOLOGY, AND LEGISLATIVE AFFAIRS HOUSE COMMITTEE ON PUBLIC TRANSPORTATION

#### Wednesday, December 6, 2023 1:30 PM Room A, MAC Little Rock, Arkansas

Committee members present: Senators Mark Johnson, Chair; Alan Clark; Representatives Mike Holcomb, Chair; Wade Andrews, Mark Berry, Harlan Breaux, Matt Brown, Denise Jones-Ennett, RJ Hawk, Deanna Hodges, Tara Shephard, Joy Springer, Trey Steimel, and Dwight Tosh

Other members present: Senators Joshua Bryant, Blake Johnson, and Frederick Love; Representatives Andrew Collins, Cameron Cooper, Bruce Cozart, Kenneth Ferguson, Stetson Painter, David Ray, Jay Richardson, Johnny Rye, and Jamie Scott

Senator Johnson called the meeting to order.

## **Motion to Authorize Chairs to Approve Special Expenses Incurred by the Committees** Representative Breaux made a motion to approve the Special Expenses Authorization, seconded

by Representative Steimel and the motion carried.

## Approval of Meeting Minutes [Exhibit C]

Representative Tosh made a motion to approve the minutes, seconded by Representative Andrews and the motion carried.

## Discussion of Arkansans Driving with Expired Temporary Tags [Exhibit D]

Charlie Collins, Commissioner of Revenue, Department of Finance & Administration; Paul Gehring, Assistant Commissioner of Revenue, Department of Finance & Administration; Christy Earnhart, Assistant Administrator, Motor Vehicle, Department of Finance & Administration gave an overview of the process of sales tax collection, debt collection, and compliance enforcement.

#### Discussion of Driving in the Left Lanes of Highways

Jeff Holmes, Chief of Arkansas Highway Police and Captain Brad Lann, Highway Patrol Division, Arkansas State Police, discussed the implementation of left lane policies and addressed the challenges of enforcement of citations and methods to educate the public on the current law.

# Discussion Relating to Act 779 of 2023, Which Prohibits Pedestrians on a Controlled Access Highway

# [Exhibits F1-F2]

Lorie Tudor, Director, Department of Transportation and Michelle Davenport, Chief Legal Counsel, Department of Transportation, and Captain Brad Lann, Highway Patrol Division, Arkansas State Police, gave an overview of Act 779 enforcement practices and discussed the presence of pedestrians on Arkansas Highways.

Adoption and Discussion of ISP 2023-049 by Representative DeAnna Hodges – To Require that a Driver of a Vehicle Yield the Right-of-Way to a Public Transit Bus [Exhibit G] Representative DeAnna Hodges and Joel Gardner, Executive Director, Ozark Regional Transit Authority, gave an overview of ISP 2023-049. Representative Steimel made a motion to adopt ISP 2023-049, seconded by Representative Ennett and the motion carried.

With no further business, the meeting adjourned at 3:30 p.m.