AGENDA

Senate Committee on Agriculture, Forestry, and Economic Development House Committee on Agriculture, Forestry, and Economic Development Meeting Jointly

Thursday, October 02, 2014 11:00 AM UAPB Campus-S.J.P. Extension Complex. 2195 L.A. Prexy Davis Drive Pine Bluff, Arkansas

Sen. Bruce Holland, Chair Sen. Bruce Maloch, Vice Chair Sen. David Wyatt Sen. Stephanie Flowers Sen. Jonathan Dismang Sen. Ronald Caldwell Sen. Alan Clark Sen. David J. Sanders Rep. Matthew J. Shepherd, Chair Rep. Nate Steel, Vice Chair Rep. Walls McCrary Rep. John Charles Edwards Rep. Stephen Meeks Rep. Greg Leding Rep. Lane Jean Rep. Homer Lenderman Rep. Kelley Linck Rep. Jon S. Eubanks Rep. David L. Branscum Rep. Sheilla E. Lampkin Rep. Jeremy Gillam Rep. Jeremy Gillam Rep. Charlotte Vining Douglas Rep. Stephen Magie Rep. Joe Jett Rep. Bob Ballinger Rep. Dan M. Douglas Rep. Marshall Wright, Non-Voting Rep. John T. Vines, Non-Voting Rep. Tommy Wren, Non-Voting Rep. John Catlett, Non-Voting Rep. Gary Deffenbaugh, Non-Voting Rep. Betty Overbey, Non-Voting Rep. Scott Baltz, Non-Voting Rep. Eddie L. Armstrong, Non-Voting Rep. Josh Miller, Non-Voting Rep. Andy Davis, Non-Voting Rep. David Whitaker, Non-Voting

A. Call to Order

- B. Opening Remarks and Welcome
 - Dr. Laurence B Alexander, Chancellor, University of Arkansas at Pine Bluff
 - Senator Stephanie Flowers
- C. Consideration to Approve Minutes from the August 22 and September 18, 2014, Meetings
- D. Update on Turner Grain Merchandising Inc.
 - Cynthia Edwards, Deputy Secretary of Agriculture, Arkansas Department of Agriculture
 - Darryl Little, Director, Arkansas State Plant Board
- E. New Farm Bill and Arkansas Agriculture Update
 Stanley Hill, Vice President of Public Policy, Arkansas Farm Bureau
- F. 1890 Research and Extension Programs
 Dr. Ed Buckner, Associate Dean for Research and Extension, University of Arkansas at Pine Bluff
- G. Arkansas Sweetpotato Foundation Seed Program
 Dr. Obadiah Njue, Agriculture Department Head, University of Arkansas at Pine Bluff

Notice: Silence your cell phones. Keep your personal conversations to a minimum. Observe restrictions designating areas as "*Members and Staff Only*"

- H. Remarks on Sweet Potato Farming - Harvey Williams, Sweet Potato Farmer
- I. UAPB Biotechnology
 Dr. Muthusamy Manoharan, Regulatory Science Center Director, University of Arkansas at Pine Bluff
- J. Update on the 1890 State Match/School of Agriculture, Fisheries and Human Sciences - Dr. James O. Garner, Dean, University of Arkansas at Pine Bluff
- K. Closing Remarks
 Dr. Jacquelyn W. McCray, Vice Chancellor for Academic Affairs, University of Arkansas at Pine Bluff
- L. Other Business
- M. Adjourn

Upon adjournment, legislators will tour the University of Arkansas at Pine Bluff campus and agricultural fields.

NOTE: All exhibits for this meeting are available electronically at the General Assembly's website at <u>www.arkleg.state.ar.us</u> Click on the Paperclip icon next to the meeting date to open and print exhibits.