### AGENDA Senate Committee on City, County and Local Affairs House Committee on City, County and Local Affairs Meeting Jointly

# Thursday, June 21, 2012 10:45 AM Hot Springs Convention Center - 134 Convention Boulevard Hot Springs, Arkansas

Sen. Jerry Taylor, Chair Sen. David Burnett, Vice Chair Sen. Michael Lamoureux Sen. Jonathan Dismang Sen. Bill Sample Sen. Mike Fletcher Sen. Steve Harrelson Sen. Eddie Joe Williams Rep. Charolette Wagner, Chair Rep. Jane English, Vice Chair Rep. Toni Bradford Rep. Tommy Lee Baker Rep. Kathy Webb Rep. Davy Carter Rep. Tracy Steele Rep. Denny Altes Rep. Linda Collins-Smith Rep. Jon S. Eubanks Rep. David L. Branscum Rep. Sheilla E. Lampkin Rep. Jeremy Gillam Rep. Andy Mayberry Rep. Betty Overbey Rep. Josh Johnston Rep. David Fielding Rep. Nate Bell Rep. Tommy Thompson Rep. Leslee Milam Post Rep. Tim Summers, Non-Voting Rep. Darrin Williams, Non-Voting Rep. Mary L. Slinkard, Non-Voting Rep. Kim Hammer, Non-Voting Rep. John W. Walker, Non-Voting

# A. Call to Order

# 10:45 a.m. – 12:00 p.m. Horner Hall Ballroom, Hot Springs Convention Center

B. Discussion of economic and Infrastructure challenges for funding highway, street, and road improvements, including the two constitutional amendments (SJR 5 and HJR 1001) referred by the 88<sup>th</sup> General Assembly, and other 2012 ballot issues.

Panelists:

- 1. Overview of STAR bonds (SJR 5), panelist TBA
- 2. Craig Douglas, Spokesperson, Move Arkansas Forward
- 3. Sheffield Nelson, Chairman, The Committee for a Fair Severance Tax
- 4. Question and Answer Session
- C. 12:00 p.m.-Adjournment

Members may also wish to attend the Opening General Session:

#### 9:00 a.m. – 10:15 a.m. Horner Hall Ballroom, Hot Springs Convention Center

Guest Speakers will be:

- 1. Governor Mike Beebe
- 2. Mayor Ted Ellis of Bluffton, Indiana, President of the National League of Cities

Notice: Silence your cell phones. Keep your personal conversations to a minimum. Observe restrictions designating areas as "*Members and Staff Only*"