

MINUTES

SENATE AND HOUSE COMMITTEES ON INSURANCE AND COMMERCE

Meeting Jointly Tuesday, June 21, 2022 9:00 AM Room A, MAC Little Rock, Arkansas

Committee members present: Senators Mathew Pitsch, Chair; Larry Teague, Vice-Chair; Jonathan Dismang, Joyce Elliott, Kim Hammer, Keith Ingram, and Missy Irvin; Representatives Mark Lowery, Chair; John Maddox, Vice-Chair; Fred Allen, Karilyn Brown, Brian Evans, Kenneth Ferguson, David Fielding, Vivian Flowers, Jimmy Gazaway, Clint Penzo, Aaron Pilkington, David Ray, Jay Richardson, and Jim Wooten

Other members present: Senator Trent Garner; Representatives Jim Dotson, Justin Gonzales, Mike Holcomb, Jack Ladyman, Tippi McCullough, Austin McCollum, Stephen Meeks, Johnny Rye, Keith Slape, Brandt Smith, and Dwight Tosh

Representative Lowery called the meeting to order.

Consideration to Approve the September 21, 2021, Meeting Minutes [Exhibit B]

Senator Elliott made a motion to approve the minutes, seconded by Representative Wooten, and the motion carried.

Arkansas Insurance Department (AID), Review of Rule [Exhibit C]

Booth Rand, Managing Counsel, AID, stated Rule 118 regulates the activity of Pharmacy Benefit Managers (PBM). The amendment specifically adopts protections available to pharmacies from PBMs and eliminates unnecessary language.

Adoption and Discussion of Interim Study Proposal (ISP) 2021-124 [Exhibit D]

Senator Elliott made a motion to adopt ISP 2021-124, seconded by Senator Dismang, and the motion carried.

Adoption and Discussion of ISP 2021-125 [Exhibit E]

Senator Elliott made a motion to adopt ISP 2021-125, seconded by Senator Dismang, and the motion carried.

Adoption and Discussion of ISP 2021-126 [Exhibit F]

Senator Irvin made a motion to adopt ISP 2021-126, seconded by Representative Ferguson, and the motion carried.

Adoption and Discussion of ISP 2021-110 by [Exhibit G]

Representative Wooten explained that the ISP will study the relationship of pharmacists and their clientele throughout the state particularly pharmacies not owned by residents of Arkansas. Representative Wooten made a motion to adopt ISP 2021-110, seconded by Representative Brown, and the motion carried.

With no further business, the meeting adjourned at 9:30 a.m.