REVISED AGENDA

Senate Committee on State Agencies and Governmental Affairs House Committee on Aging, Children and Youth, Legislative and Military Affairs Meeting Jointly

Tuesday, June 8, 2021 10:00 AM Room A, MAC Little Rock, Arkansas

Sen. Jason Rapert, Chair Sen. Trent Garner, Vice-Chair Sen. Cecile Bledsoe Sen. Jane English Sen. Bart Hester Sen. Breanne Davis Sen. Bob Ballinger Sen. Clarke Tucker Rep. Charlene Fite, Chair Rep. Sonia Eubanks Barker, Vice-Chair Rep. Mary Bentley Rep. Danny Watson Rep. Julie Mayberry Rep. Marsh Davis Rep. Cindy Crawford Rep. Craig Christiansen Rep. Denise Garner Rep. Gayla H. McKenzie

Rep. Joe Cloud Rep. Stu Smith Rep. Joy Springer Rep. Mark D. McElroy Rep. Rick McClure Rep. Ashley Hudson Rep. Jon Milligan Rep. Keith Brooks Rep. Mark H. Berry Rep. Tony Furman

A. Call to Order

- B. Comments by the Chairs: Senator Jason Rapert and Representative Sonia Eubanks Barker
- C. Redistricting Update
 - 1. Ms. Michelle Davenport, Legislative Attorney, Legal Division, Bureau of Legislative Research
- D. Report on Arkansas Department of Health Food Expenditures during COVID-19 Pandemic [Exhibit D]
 - 1. Mr. Greg Brown, Director, Office of Preparedness and Emergency Response Systems, Arkansas Department of Health (ADH)
 - 2. Ms. Jo Thompson, Chief Financial Officer, ADH
 - 3. Dr. William Greenfield, Medical Director, Family Health, ADH
- E. Discussion of Recommendations Regarding Removal of Statue and Names from University of Arkansas Campus [Exhibit E]
 - 1. Dr. Donald Bobbitt, President, University of Arkansas System
 - 2. Dr. Joseph Steinmetz, Chancellor, University of Arkansas
- F. Discussion of University of Arkansas Land Agreement [Exhibit F]
 - 1. Dr. Donald Bobbitt, President, University of Arkansas System
 - 2. Dr. Mark Cochran, Vice President, Division of Agriculture, University of Arkansas
- Note: All exhibits for this meeting are available by electronic means and are accessible on the General Assembly's website at <u>www.arkleg.state.ar.us</u>
- Notice: Silence your cell phones. Keep your personal conversations to a minimum. Observe restrictions designating areas as 'Members and Staff Only'.

G. Discussion of VA Hospital Cases [Exhibits G1, G2]

- 1. Mr. Alan Lane, Attorney, Odom Law Firm
- 2. Mr. Matt Lindsay, Attorney, Odom Law Firm
- 3. Ms. Judith Velosky
- H. Property Tax Exemptions for Veterans [Exhibit H]
 - 1. Mr. Austin Booth, Chief of Staff, Arkansas Department of Veterans Affairs (ADVA)
 - 2. Ms. Gina Chandler, Assistant Director, Veterans Service Division, ADVA
 - 3. Mr. Josh Curtis, Governmental Affairs Director, Association of Arkansas Counties
 - 4. Ms. Teresa Smith, County Collector, Baxter County
 - 5. Ms. Rebecca Talbert, County Tax Collector, Garland County
 - 6. Ms. Debra Buckner, County Treasurer and Collector, Pulaski County
 - 7. Mr. Mikel Brooks, Founder and President, We Are The 22
 - 8. Ms. Sandra Cawyer, Administrator, Assessment Coordination Division, Department of Finance and Administration (DFA)
 - 9. Mr. Charlie Collins, Deputy Director and Commissioner of Revenue, DFA
 - 10. Mr. Paul Gehring, Assistant Commissioner of Revenue, DFA
- I. Other Business
- J. Adjournment