AGENDA

Senate Committee on State Agencies and Governmental Affairs, House Committee on State Agencies and Governmental Affairs, Joint Performance Review Committee, Senate Committee on Education, House Committee on Education, Joint Committee on Public Retirement & Social Security Programs Meeting Jointly

Tuesday, November 10, 2009 09:00 AM Ouachita River Unit, Department of Correction, Walco Lane Malvern, Arkansas

Sen. Jimmy Jeffress, Chair Sen. Steve Faris. Chair Sen. Denny Altes, Chair Sen. Gene Jeffress, Chair Sen. Gilbert Baker, Vice Chair Sen. Steve Bryles, Vice Chair Sen. Jack Crumbly, Vice Chair Sen. Johnny Key, Vice Chair Sen. Terry Smith Sen. Ed Wilkinson Sen. Barbara Horn Sen. Bob Johnson Sen. Kim Hendren Sen. Shane Broadway Sen. Jim Luker Sen. Mary Anne Salmon Sen. Randy Laverty Sen. John Paul Capps Sen. Bobby Glover Sen. Bill Pritchard Sen. Paul Bookout Sen. David Johnson Sen. Cecile Bledsoe Sen. David Wyatt Sen. Joyce Elliott

Rep. Bill Abernathy, Chair Rep. George Overbey, Chair Rep. Rick Saunders, Chair Rep. Lindsley Smith, Chair Rep. Nancy Duffy Blount, Vice Chair Rep. Eddie Cheatham, Vice Chair Rep. Dan Greenberg, Vice Chair Rep. Mark Perry, Vice Chair Rep. Mark Martin Rep. David Rainey Rep. Beverly Pyle Rep. Dawn Creekmore Rep. Bill Sample Rep. Ray Kidd Rep. David Cook Rep. Steve Harrelson Rep. Billy Gaskill Rep. Toni Bradford Rep. David "Bubba" Powers Rep. Buddy Lovell Rep. Gene Shelby Rep. Ed Garner Rep. Johnnie Roebuck Rep. Bryan King Rep. Clark Hall Rep. Donna Hutchinson Rep. Larry Cowling Rep. Jerry Brown Rep. Tracy Pennartz Rep. Charolette Wagner Rep. Steven Breedlove

Rep. Duncan Baird Rep. Tim Summers Rep. Debra Hobbs Rep. James Word Rep. Andrea Lea Rep. Jonathan Dismang Rep. Les "Skip" Carnine Rep. Butch Wilkins Rep. Uvalde Lindsey Rep. Linda Tyler Rep. Robert Dale Rep. Monty Betts Rep. Karen Hopper Rep. Davy Carter Rep. Tiffany Rogers Rep. Jody Dickinson Rep. John Edwards Rep. Mary Slinkard Rep. Fred Allen, Non-Voting Rep. Robert Moore, Non-Voting Rep. Tommy Lee Baker, Non-Voting Rep. Darrin Williams, Non-Voting Rep. Steve Cole, Non-Voting Rep. Ann Clemmer, Non-Voting Rep. Jim Nickels, Non-Voting Rep. James McLean, Non-Voting Rep. Jane English, Non-Voting Rep. Eddie Cooper. Alternate Rep. J. R. Rogers, Alternate Rep. David Dunn, Alternate Rep. Allen Kerr, Alternate

9:00 a.m. – Breakfast at the AR Dept. of Correction's Ouachita River Unit at Malvern

Notice: Silence your cell phones. Keep your personal conversations to a minimum. Observe restrictions designating areas as "*Members and Staff Only*"

- A. Call to Order at 9:45 a.m.
- B. Welcome by County Judge Bill Scrimshire, Hot Spring County. Judge Scrimshire is a former member of the Arkansas House of Representatives.
- C. Opening remarks by Senator Steve Faris and Representative Rick Saunders, Chairs, Senate and House Interim Committees on State Agencies and Governmental Affairs.
- D. Overview and highlights of the new, state-of-the-art addition to the Ouachita River Unit. The facility, when finished, will house a Special Needs Unit, which will use cutting-edge technology. It is a LEED Green Building. It will have a hospital and a Hospice program. It is being built with inmate labor and when completed will be seven acres under one roof.
 - 1. Comments by Mr. Larry Norris, Director, Arkansas Department of Correction
 - 2. Questions by Committee Members
- E. Tour of the ADC Ouachita River Unit
- F. Adjournment

The ADC Board of Corrections will join the members for breakfast, the committee meeting, and the tour. The Board will then hold their regular meeting after the legislators leave for home.

<u>Security Restrictions at the Prison</u>: Banned items: NO cell phones, cigarettes, pocket knives of any size, or weapons may be brought into the Unit. Members must leave banned items in their cars for the duration of the visit. If you forget, items will be confiscated and returned after leaving the facility. No shorts for men or women. No tight skirts, no plunging necklines for women.