AGENDA

Joint Committee on Energy Senate Committee on Agriculture, Forestry and Economic Development House Committee on Agriculture, Forestry and Economic Development Meeting Jointly

Friday, August 03, 2012 09:00 AM

Phillips Community College of the U of A - Campus Seminar Room - 2807 Highway 165 South Stuttgart, Arkansas

Sen. Linda Chesterfield, Chair Sen. Bruce Holland, Chair Sen. Missy Irvin, Vice Chair Sen. Bruce Maloch, Vice Chair Sen. Paul Bookout Sen. David Wyatt Sen. Stephanie Flowers Sen. Jonathan Dismang Sen. Eddie Joe Williams Sen. Ronald Caldwell Sen. Alan Clark Sen. Bobby J. Pierce Sen. Jim Hendren Sen. Gary Stubblefield

Sen. David J. Sanders

Rep. Matthew J. Shepherd, Chair Rep. David L. Branscum, Chair Rep. Nate Steel, Vice Chair Rep. Denny Altes, Vice Chair Rep. James L. Word Rep. Walls McCrary Rep. John Charles Edwards Rep. Stephen Meeks Rep. Greg Leding Rep. Lane Jean Rep. Homer Lenderman Rep. Kelley Linck Rep. Jeff Wardlaw Rep. Jon S. Eubanks Rep. Sheilla E. Lampkin Rep. James Ratliff Rep. Jeremy Gillam Rep. Betty Overbey Rep. David Fielding Rep. Nate Bell Rep. Tommy Thompson Rep. Bruce Cozart Rep. Charlotte Vining Douglas Rep. Stephen Magie

Rep. Joe Jett Rep. Ken Bragg Rep. Bob Ballinger Rep. John Baine Rep. Micah S. Neal Rep. Joe Farrer Rep. Dan M. Douglas Rep. Marshall Wright, Non-Voting Rep. John T. Vines, Non-Voting Rep. Tommy Wren, Non-Voting Rep. John Catlett, Non-Voting Rep. Gary Deffenbaugh, Non-Voting Rep. Scott Baltz, Non-Voting Rep. Eddie L. Armstrong, Non-Voting Rep. Josh Miller, Non-Voting Rep. Andy Davis, Non-Voting Rep. David Whitaker, Non-Voting Rep. Andrea Lea. Alternate Rep. John Burris, Alternate Rep. Sue Scott, Alternate Rep. Mark D. McElroy, Alternate Rep. George B. McGill, Alternate Rep. John K. Hutchison, Alternate Rep. John Payton, Alternate

A. Call to Order/Welcome

- 1. Representative Jerry Brown, Chairman, House Interim Committee on Agriculture, Forestry and Economic Development
- 2. Representative Tiffany Rogers, Co-Chairman, Joint Interim Committee on Energy
- 3. Senator Kim Hendren, Co-Chairman, Joint Interim Committee on Energy
- 4. Senator Gene Jeffress, Chairman, Senate Interim Committee on Agriculture, Forestry and Economic Development
- B. Roll Call
- C. Consideration to Approve Minutes
 - Joint Interim Committee on Energy, June 14, 2012

[EXHIBIT C]

- D. Rule for Review
 - Arkansas Oil and Gas Commission, Rule B-1; Application to Drill a Production Well [EXHIBIT D]
 - 1. Lawrence Bengal, Director, Arkansas Oil and Gas Commission
 - 2. Testimony From Interested Parties
 - 3. Discussion and Action by the Committees

Notice: Silence your cell phones. Keep your personal conversations to a minimum. Observe restrictions designating areas as "Members and Staff Only"

E. Panel Presentation "The State of Arkansas Agriculture's Energy Usage and Challenges" – Moderator, Dr. Tony Windham, Associate Vice President and Director for Agriculture Extension, University of Arkansas, Division of Agriculture, Cooperative Extension Service

[Time allotment for each testimony is 5 minutes and additional 5 minutes for committees' questions and answers.]

- 1. Dr. Michael Popp, Agriculture Economist, University of Arkansas, Division of Agriculture
- 2. Representatives from the Cattle Industry
 - a. Marcus Creasy, President, Arkansas Cattlemen's Association
 - b. Adam McClung, Executive Vice President, Arkansas Cattlemen's Association
- 3. Representative from the Poultry Industry Kevin McDaniel, Production Manager, OK Foods
- 4. Representative from the Aquaculture Industry Margie Saul, Harry Saul Minnow Farm Inc., DeValls Bluff, AR
- 5. Representative from the Row Crop Industry Dow Brantley, Chairman, Arkansas Rice Producers Group
- 6. Representative from the Forestry Industry John McAlpine, Manager & Secretary/Treasurer Monticello Office, Kingwood Forestry Services, Inc.
- F. Other Business
- G. Adjournment