MINUTES JOINT COMMITTEE ON ENERGY

Wednesday, June 18, 2025 3:00 PM Room B, MAC Little Rock, Arkansas

Committee members present: Senators Mark Johnson, Co-Chair, Matt McKee, Vice-Chair, Bryan King, and Clint Penzo; Representatives Rick Beck, Justin Gonzales, Steve Hollowell, Jack Ladyman, Richard McGrew, Randy Torres, Steve Unger, and David Whitaker

Other members present: Representatives Lincoln Barnett, Howard Beaty, Jr., Matthew Brown, Paul Childress, Denise Garner, Wayne Long, Rick McClure, Jason Nazarenko, Joy Springer, and Steven Walker

Senator M. Johnson called the meeting to order.

Consideration of a Motion to Authorize Co-Chairs to Approve Special Expenses Incurred by the Committee

Sen. McKee made a motion to authorize Co-Chairs to approve special expenses incurred by the committee, seconded by Rep. Beck. The motion carried.

Consideration to Approve the Minutes from the October 22, 2024, Meeting [Exhibit C]

Sen. McKee made a motion to approve the minutes from the October 22, 2024, meeting, seconded by Rep. Beck. The motion carried.

Discussion of Act 707 of 2025 – To Create a Technical Feasibility Study on New Nuclear Energy Generation [Exhibit D] [Handout 1-5]

Rep. Ladyman led a discussion on Act 707 of 2025, to create a technical feasibility study on new nuclear energy generation.

Rep. Ladyman made a motion to authorize the Bureau of Legislative Research to move forward with negotiating a contract with Excel Services Corporation for purposes of conducting a technical feasibility study that meets the requirements of Act 707 of 2025 for the use and study of the Joint Energy Committee, and that the draft contract be brought back to this committee for review, seconded by Rep. McGrew. The motion carried.

Discussion of Disposition of the White Bluff and Independence Generating Stations

John Bethel, Director of Public Affairs, Entergy Arkansas LLC; Kurt Castleberry, Director, Resource Planning and Market Operations, Entergy Arkansas LLC; Buddy Hasten, President & CEO, Arkansas Electric Cooperatives; Brett Carroll, Chief Executive Officer, Conway Corporation; Jake Rice, General Manager, City Water & Light Plant of the City of Jonesboro; and Bob Atkins, General Manager, West Memphis Utilities; led a discussion on the disposition of the White Bluff and Independence generating stations.

Discussion of House Concurrent Resolution HCR1009 – To Advance the Study of Nuclear Fuel Recycling [Handout 6]

Rep. Ladyman and Sen. Penzo led a discussion on House Concurrent Resolution HCR1009, to advance the study of nuclear fuel recycling.

Rep. Ladyman made a motion that the Joint Energy Chairs write a letter to the Secretary of the Department of Energy to request a meeting to discuss HCR1009 and how it can be used to implement President Donald Trump's Executive Order issued on May 23, 2025, titled Reinvigorating the Nuclear Industrial Base, seconded by Rep. Beck. The motion carried.

With no further business, the meeting adjourned at 5:10 pm.