1	INTERIM RESOLUTION 2011-008
2	
3	REQUESTING THAT THE INTERIM JOINT COMMITTEE ON ENERGY URGE QUICK
4	CONGRESSIONAL ACTION ON THE RECOMMENDATIONS OF THE BLUE RIBBON
5	COMMISSION ON AMERICA'S NUCLEAR FUTURE.
6	
7	WHEREAS, nuclear utility ratepayers throughout the United States have
8	contributed more than \$30 billion in fees and interest, as required under the
9	Nuclear Waste Policy Act (NWPA) of 1982, for the sole purpose of removing
10	used nuclear fuel from commercial reactor sites and defense-related high-
11	level radioactive waste from Department of Defense facilities; and
12	
13	WHEREAS, the federal government failed to satisfy the statutory
14	requirements of the NWPA to begin accepting used fuel for disposal starting
15	in 1998 and has continued to fail to meet the terms of its contracts with
16	United States nuclear plant operators; and
17	
18	WHEREAS, the 104 operating United States commercial reactors have
19	accumulated some 77,000 metric tons of used nuclear fuel; and
20	
21	WHEREAS, the federal administration has terminated and Congress has
22	ceased funding of all activities related to the license review or further
23	development of a permanent central disposal repository at the Yucca Mountain
24	site in Nevada, which has been the federal government's only intended
25	destination for used fuel and defense-related waste; and
26	
27	WHEREAS, the states of South Carolina and Washington, various
28	communities, and other parties remain involved in lawsuits attempting to
29	compel the federal government to meet its obligations under the NWPA; and
30	
31	WHEREAS, in January 2010, the President of the United States appointed
32	a Blue Ribbon Commission on America's Nuclear Future composed of
33	distinguished American scientists and nuclear policymakers to review various
34	alternative options and make recommendations for future safe management of
35	used United States commercial nuclear fuel and defense waste; and

36

1 WHEREAS, The Blue Ribbon Commission on America's Nuclear Future has 2 recommended an integrated nuclear fuel management program incorporating the 3 following: (1) Development of one (1) or more Nuclear Regulatory Commission-4 licensed private or government-owned centralized interim storage facilities 5 in communities in states that would willingly host such facilities; (2) 6 Continued public and private sector research, development, and deployment of 7 used fuel and nuclear waste recycling technologies to close the nuclear fuel 8 cycle in a safe, environmentally responsible, proliferation-resistant, and 9 economically viable process; and (3) Assured access by the nuclear waste 10 program to revenues generated by consumers' continued payments and to

11 12

13 NOW THEREFORE,

BE IT RESOLVED BY THE INTERIM JOINT COMMITTEE ON ENERGY OF THE EIGHTY-EIGHTH
GENERAL ASSEMBLY OF THE STATE OF ARKANSAS:

existing balances in the Nuclear Waste Fund,

16

19

20

21

22

23

24

25

26

27

28

29

17 THAT the Interim Joint Committee on Energy urges the Administration and 18 the United States Congress to:

- (a) Adopt legislation enabling the construction of one (1) or more centralized interim fuel storage facilities through directives to the United States Department of Energy and through incentives to interested communities funded through access to the accumulated Nuclear Waste Fund;
- (b) Recognize there are willing host communities and states that are ready to voluntarily accept used fuel and defense waste shipments;
- (c) Assure access by the nuclear waste management program to the revenues generated by consumers' continuing fee payments and to the significant balance in the Nuclear Waste Fund; and
- (d) Enable one (1) or more Nuclear Regulatory Commission-licensed private interim storage facilities to meet this long-ignored public policy need.

30 31

34

35

36

- BE IT FURTHER RESOLVED that upon adoption of this resolution, a copy of this resolution shall be transmitted to the following:
 - (a) The President of the United States;
 - (b) The President Pro Tempore of the United States Senate;
 - (c) The Speaker of the United States House of Representatives; and

```
(d) Each member of the Arkansas congressional delegation.
 1
 2
     Respectfully submitted,
 3
 4
 5
 6
 7
     Representative John Burris
 8
     District 85
 9
10
     Respectfully submitted,
11
12
13
     Representative Andrea Lea
14
15
     District 68
16
17
18
19
20
     By: JLL/JLL
21
22
23
24
25
26
27
28
29
30
31
32
33
34
35
36
```