
 
 
 
 
 

Summary of Proposed Rule Regarding DROP Provisions for Members 
 

ASPRS  Rule 11  
 
 

PURPOSE:   The Arkansas State Police Retirement System (ASPRS) seeks to amend 
ASPRS Rule 11, the Deferred Retirement Option Plan (DROP) Rule, to comply with Act 415 of 
2021, which decreases the number of years from 30 to 28 for a member of ASPRS Tier I or Tier 
Two to be eligible to enter the DROP.  
 

SUBSTANTIVE CHANGES:  To comply with Act 415 of 2021, which decreases the number 
of years from 30 to 28 for a member of ASPRS Tier I or Tier Two to be eligible to enter the 
DROP.  In addition, to align the Rule with current law to provide that interest on the DROP 
account is applied as allowed by law.  The proposed amendments to Rule 11 are consistent with 
Act 415 of 2021 and no other substantive change in DROP provisions has been made.  
 
 NON-SUBSTANTIVE CHANGES:  Relocating the historical Acts within the document and 
one grammatical correction that was previously promulgated in the rule.   
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RULE  11 - Amended  August  1997 - DEFERRED  RETIREMENT OPTION PLAN 

In accordance with Act 967 of 1995, a A member who has 30 28 years of credited service and 
who is otherwise eligible for a service retirement pension, full or reduced, may elect to participate 

in the Deferred Option Plan. The member's application must be submitted on the proper form 
and received by the administrative office of the Arkansas State Police Retirement System prior 

to effective date of participation. The effective date of participation must be the first day of a 
month. Upon approval by the Board of Trustees, the monthly benefit that would have been 

payable had the member retired shall be paid into the Arkansas State Police Officers' Deferred 
Option Plan account. If Board approval occurs after the effective date requested, payment shall 

be retroactive. This account shall earn interest in accordance with the provisions of Act 967 

Interest on the account is applied as allowed by law. Interest shall be credited to each individual 
account at the end of each fiscal year. 

 

The member must terminate his/her employment from Arkansas State Police and start receiving 

a retirement benefit within five seven years of the date participation begins. The amount in the 

Deferred Option Plan account may be taken in one of the following methods: 

 

• A lump sum 

• A lifetime annuity 

• A 5, 10, 15, or 20-year annuity 

• A partial lump sum and the balance in a lifetime annuity or a 5, 10, 15, or 

20- year annuity. 

 

The monthly payment amount for an annuity will be determine determined by the System's 

actuary. 

 

The monthly retirement benefit, exclusive of the Deferred Option Plan account, payable to the 
participant upon termination of employment with the department, shall be the monthly benefit 

payable at the date participation began in the Deferred Option Plan adjusted for any increases 

granted to retirees during the period of participation. A member participating in the Deferred 
Option Plan must make application for regular retirement in the method required for all members 

of the System. 
 

Amended  August  1997, Act 967 of 1995 
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RULE  11 - DEFERRED  RETIREMENT OPTION PLAN 

A member who has 28 years of credited service and who is otherwise eligible for a service 
retirement pension, full or reduced, may elect to participate in the Deferred Option Plan. The 

member's application must be submitted on the proper form and received by the administrative 
office of the Arkansas State Police Retirement System prior to effective date of participation. 

The effective date of participation must be the first day of a month. Upon approval by the Board 
of Trustees, the monthly benefit that would have been payable had the member retired shall be 

paid into the Arkansas State Police Officers' Deferred Option Plan account. If Board approval 
occurs after the effective date requested, payment shall be retroactive. Interest on the account is 

applied as allowed by law.  Interest shall be credited to each individual account at the end of each 

fiscal year. 
 

The member must terminate his/her employment from Arkansas State Police and start receiving 

a retirement benefit within seven years of the date participation begins. The amount in the 

Deferred Option Plan account may be taken in one of the following methods: 

 

• A lump sum 

• A lifetime annuity 

• A 5, 10, 15, or 20-year annuity 

• A partial lump sum and the balance in a lifetime annuity or a 5, 10, 15, or 

20- year annuity. 

 

The monthly payment amount for an annuity will be determined by the System's actuary. 

 

The monthly retirement benefit, exclusive of the Deferred Option Plan account, payable to the 

participant upon termination of employment with the department, shall be the monthly benefit 
payable at the date participation began in the Deferred Option Plan adjusted for any increases 

granted to retirees during the period of participation. A member participating in the Deferred 

Option Plan must make application for regular retirement in the method required for all members 
of the System. 

 

Amended  August  1997, Act 967 of 1995 
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State of Arkansas As Engrossed:  H3/16/21  1 

93rd General Assembly A Bill      2 

Regular Session, 2021  HOUSE BILL 1343 3 

 4 

By: Representative Warren 5 

By: Senator Rapert 6 

  7 

For An Act To Be Entitled 8 

AN ACT CONCERNING VOLUNTARY RETIREMENT, DEFERRED 9 

RETIREMENT, EMPLOYER CONTRIBUTIONS, THE BENEFIT 10 

MULTIPLIER, THE ELECTION TO PARTICIPATE, THE BOARD OF 11 

TRUSTEES OF THE STATE POLICE RETIREMENT SYSTEM, AND 12 

SYSTEM COSTS; AND FOR OTHER PURPOSES.  13 

 14 

 15 

Subtitle 16 

CONCERNING VOLUNTARY RETIREMENT, DEFERRED 17 

RETIREMENT, EMPLOYER CONTRIBUTIONS, THE 18 

BENEFIT MULTIPLIER, THE ELECTION TO 19 

PARTICIPATE, THE BOARD OF TRUSTEES OF THE 20 

STATE POLICE RETIREMENT SYSTEM, AND 21 

SYSTEM COSTS. 22 

 23 

 24 

BE IT ENACTED BY THE GENERAL ASSEMBLY OF THE STATE OF ARKANSAS: 25 

 26 

 SECTION 1.  Arkansas Code § 24-6-204(a)(2)(A)(i), concerning the Board 27 

of Trustees of the State Police Retirement System, is amended to read as 28 

follows: 29 

    (i)  One (1) active or retired member enrolled in the 30 

Tier I benefits program; 31 

 32 

 SECTION 2.  Arkansas Code § 24-6-209(a), concerning employer 33 

contributions under the State Police Retirement System, is amended to read as 34 

follows: 35 

 (a)  The Division of Arkansas State Police, as employer, shall make 36 
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contributions to the State Police Retirement System of twenty-two percent 1 

(22%) twenty-six percent (26%) of active member payroll. 2 

 3 

 SECTION 3.  Arkansas Code § 24-6-226(a), concerning eligibility for 4 

benefits and voluntary retirement for noncontributory members of Tier I of 5 

the State Police Retirement System, is amended to read as follows: 6 

 (a)(1)  Any member who has acquired five (5) years but less than thirty 7 

(30) twenty-eight (28) years of actual service and has attained age sixty-8 

five (65) may retire upon written application filed with the Board of 9 

Trustees of the State Police Retirement System. 10 

   (2)  Any member who has acquired five (5) or more years of actual 11 

service and has attained age fifty-two (52) may retire upon written 12 

application filed with the State Police Retirement System. 13 

   (3)  Any member who acquired thirty (30) twenty-eight (28) or 14 

more years of actual service may retire at any age upon written application 15 

filed with the board. 16 

   (4)  For those members with less than thirty (30) twenty-eight 17 

(28) actual years of service, the age sixty-five (65) requirement shall be 18 

reduced by one (1) month for every two (2) months of public safety credit, 19 

but in no event to an age younger than fifty-two (52). 20 

 21 

 SECTION 4.  Arkansas Code § 24-6-227(a)(1), concerning benefits for 22 

Tier I noncontributory members of the State Police Retirement System, is 23 

amended to read as follows: 24 

 (a)(1)  Upon retirement as provided in this subchapter, a member shall 25 

receive a straight life pension equal to one and fifty-five-hundredths 26 

percent (1.55%) one and sixty-six-hundredths percent (1.66%) of his or her 27 

final average compensation multiplied by the number of years and any fraction 28 

of a year of his or her credited service. 29 

 30 

 SECTION 5.  Arkansas Code § 24-6-301 is amended to read as follows: 31 

 24-6-301. Election to participate. 32 

 In lieu of terminating employment and accepting a service retirement 33 

pension, any state police officer who is a member of Tier I of the State 34 

Police Retirement System who has not less than thirty (30) twenty-eight (28) 35 

years of credited service and who is eligible to receive a service retirement 36 
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pension may elect to participate in the Arkansas State Police Officers 1 

Deferred Option Plan and defer the receipt of benefits in accordance with the 2 

provisions of this subchapter, provided the Board of Trustees of the State 3 

Police Retirement System approves the participation in the plan. 4 

 5 

 SECTION 6.  Arkansas Code § 24-6-404(a), concerning voluntary 6 

retirement and eligibility for benefits under the Tier Two Benefit Plan of 7 

the State Police Retirement System, is amended to read as follows: 8 

 (a)(1)  Any member who has acquired five (5) years but less than thirty 9 

(30) twenty-eight (28) years of credited service and has attained age sixty-10 

five (65) may retire upon his or her written application filed with the Board 11 

of Trustees of the State Police Retirement System. 12 

   (2)  Any member who has acquired thirty (30) twenty-eight (28) or 13 

more years of credited service may retire at any age upon his or her written 14 

application filed with the board. 15 

   (3)  For those members with less than thirty (30) twenty-eight 16 

(28) credited years of service, the age sixty-five requirement shall be 17 

reduced by seventy-five hundredths (0.75) of a month for each credited month 18 

of service, but in no event to an age younger than fifty-five (55). 19 

 20 

 SECTION 7.  Arkansas Code § 24-6-406(a)(1), concerning benefits under 21 

the Tier Two Benefit Plan for the State Police Retirement System, is amended 22 

to read as follows: 23 

 (a)(1)  Upon retirement as provided in this subchapter, a member shall 24 

receive a straight life pension equal to two and four hundred seventy-five 25 

thousandths percent (2.475%) two and sixty-five-hundredths percent (2.65%) of 26 

the member's final average compensation multiplied by the number of years and 27 

any fraction of a year of his or her service. 28 

 29 

 SECTION 8.  Arkansas Code § 24-6-502 is amended to read as follows: 30 

 24-6-502.  Election to participate in Arkansas State Police Officers' 31 

Tier Two Deferred Retirement Option Plan. 32 

 In lieu of terminating employment and accepting a service retirement 33 

pension, a state police officer may elect to participate in the Arkansas 34 

State Police Officers' Tier Two Deferred Retirement Option Plan and defer the 35 

receipt of benefits in accordance with this subchapter if: 36 
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  (1)  The state police officer: 1 

   (A)  Is a member of the State Police Retirement System's 2 

Tier Two Benefit Plan under § 24-6-401 et seq.; 3 

   (B)  Has at least thirty (30) twenty-eight (28) years of 4 

actual service as a member of the State Police Retirement System's Tier Two 5 

Benefit Plan under § 24-6-401 et seq., including service credit a member 6 

earns after April 3, 1997, as a member of the plan under § 24-6-401 et seq. 7 

and the member's service credit from a reciprocal retirement system under § 8 

24-2-401; and 9 

   (C)  Is eligible to receive a service retirement pension; 10 

and 11 

  (2)  The Board of Trustees of the State Police Retirement System 12 

approves the participation in the Arkansas State Police Officers' Tier Two 13 

Deferred Retirement Option Plan. 14 

   15 

 16 

/s/Warren 17 

 18 

 19 

 20 

 21 

 22 

 23 

 24 

 25 

 26 

 27 

 28 

 29 

 30 

 31 

 32 

 33 

 34 

 35 

 36 
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