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Alabama Kindergarten attendance is not mandatory in this state.

Alaska Kindergarten attendance is not mandatory in this state.

Arizona Kindergarten attendance is not required in this state.

Arkansas A child who will be 6 on or before October 1 who has not completed a state-
accredited kindergarten pregram "shall be evaluated by the district and may be
placed in the 1st grade if the results of the evaluation justify placement in the
1st grade and the child's parent agrees with placement in the 1st grade.
Otherwise, the child shall be placed in kindergarten." (Ark. Code Ann. §
6-18-201)

California Kindergarten attendance is not mandatory in this state.

Colorado

Kindergarten attendance is not required in this state.

Connecticut

"The parent or person having control of a child 5 years of age shall have the
option of not sending the child to school until the child is 6 years of age...by
personally appearing at the school district office and signing an option form.”
(Conn. Gen. Stat. § 10-184)

Delaware

Parents may request an evaluation of a child's readiness for kindergarten
attendance "and may request a delay of one year in that attendance.”
However, admission to 1st grade will depend on an evaluation of the child's
readiness for attendance. (Del. Code Ann. tit. 14 § 2702)

District of Columbia

Not specified in statute

Florida

Not specified in statute

Georgia

Kindergarten attendance is not required in this state.
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Hawail Kindergarten attendance is not mandatory in this state.

Idaho Kindergarten attendance is not mandatory in this state.

Ilinois Kindergarten attendance is not mandatory in this state.

Indiana Kindergarten attendance is not mandatory in this state.

Towa Kindergarten attendance is not mandatory in this state.

Kansas Kindergarten is not mandatory in this state.

Kentucky Kindergarten attendance is not required in this state.

Louisiana Children must attend kindergarten before attending 1st grade unless they have
satisfactorily passed an academic screening administered by the city or parish
school system. (La. Rev. Stat. Ann. § 17:151.3)

Maine Kindergarten attendance is not mandatory in this state,

Maryland A child who is 5 years old may be exempted from mandatory school attendance
for one year if the child's parent or guardian files a written request with the
local school systemn asking that the child's attendance be delayed due to the
child's level of maturity. A child may be exempted from attending kindergarten
if a parent or guardian of the child files a written request with the local school
system and verifies that the child is enrolled full-time in a licensed child care
center; full-time in a registered family child care home; or part-time in a Head
Start five-year-old program. (Md. Code Ann., Educ. § 7-301(a)(2), (f))

A child may be exempted from attending a public or nonpublic kindergarten
program if "the child is enrolled in an alternative program as specified in [state
regulations] or is receiving home instruction as provided in [state regulations]."
{Md. Regs. Code tif. 13A., § 08.01.01)

Massachusetts Kindergarten attendance is not mandatory in this state.

Michigan Kindergarten attendance is not required in this state.

Minnesota Kindergarten attendance is not mandatory in this state,

Mississippi Kindergarten attendance is not required in this state.

Missouri Kindergarten attendance is not required in this state.
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Montana Kindergarten attendance is not required in this state.
Nebraska Kindergarten attendance is not mandatory in this state.
Nevada

The parents of a 6-year-old child may elect for the child not to attend
kindergarten or 1st grade during that year if they file a waiver with the board
of trustees of the appropriate school district, If parents choose this option, the
child must pass a developmental assessment before being admitted to 1st
grade the following year. (Nev. Rev. Stat. § 392.040)

New Hampshire Not specified in statute

New Jersey Kindergarten attendance is not required in this state.

New Mexico With consent of the parent, a child may be excused from compulsory
attendance by the superintendent of schools of the school district in which the
child is a resident and the child is under B8 years of age. (N.M. Stat. Ann. §
22-12-2)

New York

Kindergarten attendance is not mandatory in this state

North Carolina Kindergarten attendance is not mandatory in this state.

North Dakota Kindergarten attendance is not mandatory in this state,

Ohio Students must complete kindergarten in order to attend 1st grade. This

requirament may be waived upon request of a parent in the case of a child who
is at least 6-years-old by September 30 and who demonstrates the social,
emotional and cognitive skills necessary for ist grade. (Oh. Rev. Code Ann. §
3321.012 [C] and[D])

Okiahoma A child who is 5 years cld may be excused from kindergarten attendance for

one year if a parent or guardian notifies the superintendent of the district by
certified mail prior to enrollment (Okla Stat. Ann. tit.. 70 § 10-105)

Oregon Kindergarten attendance is not required in this state.

Pennsylvania Kindergarten attendance is not mandatory in this state.

Puerto Rico Not specified in statute

Rhode Island Not specified in statute
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South Carolina A parent may elect for their child not to attend kindergarten if the parent "signs

a written document making the election with the governing body of the school
district.” (S.C. Code Ann. § 59-65-10)

South Dakota Kindergarten attendance is not mandatory in this state,

Tennessee "No child shal! be eligible to enter 1st grade...without having attended an
approved kindergarten program." {Tenn. Code Ann. § 49-6-201)

Texas . . . . -
Kindergarten attendance is not required in this state. {Tex. Educ. Code Ann. §
42.003)

Uiah Kindergarten attendance is not required in this state.

Vermont

Not specified in statute

Virgin Islands Not specified in statute

Virginia Any child who will not have reached his 6th birthday on or before September
30 whose parent notifies the appropriate school board that he does not wish
the child to attend school until the following year because the child "in the
opinion of the parent or guardian, is not mentally, physically or emotionally
prepared to attend school, may delay the child's attendance for one year". (Va.
Code Ann. § 22.1-254)

Washington Kindergarten attendance is not mandatory in this state.

West Virginia "Prior to entrance into the 1st grade...each child must have either (1)

successfully completed such publicly or privately supported, state-approved
kindergarten program or Montessori kindergarten program, or {2) successfully
completed an entrance test of basic readiness skills approved by the county in
which the school is located: provided, that such test be administered in lieu of
kindergarten attendance only under extraordinary circumstances to be
determined by the board." (W.Va. Code Ann. § 18-8-1a)

Wisconsin Kindergarten attendance is not mandatory in this state.

Wyoming Kindergarten attendance is not mandatory in this state,
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