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Alabama If a district chooses to offer kindergarten, "children from 5- to 8-years-of-age
may be admitted to kindergarten.on such terms and conditions which county
boards of education may prescribe.” (Ala. Code § 16-8-41)

Alaska Not specified In statute

Arizona . "« - .
The state board of education may "exclude from grades 1-8 children under six
years of age.” (Ariz. Rev, Stat. § 15-342)

Arkansas Any parent or guardian "may elect for the child not to attend kindergarten if
the child will not be age 6 on September 15 of that particular school year."
(Ark. Code Ann. § 6-18-201)

California The kindergarten readiness pilot program allows selécted districts to raise the
kindergarten entrance cut-off date to September 1. Children who would have
been eligible for kindergarten under the December 2 deadline will be given the
opportunity to attend public pre-kindergarten classes instead. (Cal. Educ. Code
§ 48005)

Colorado .

Connecticut "The parent or person having control of a child 6 years of age shall have the
option of not sending the child to school until the child is 7 years of age...by
personally appearing at the school district office and signing an option form."
(Conn. Gen. Stat. § 10-184)

Delaware Not specified in statute

District of Columbia Not applicable

Florida Not specified in statute
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Georgia Not specified in statute

Hawaii Not specified in statute

Idaho Not specified in statute

Hlinois Districts may offer kindergarten to children age 4 to 6. (105 Ill. Comp. Stat.
5/10-22.18)
However, only 1 year of kindergarten attendance will be paid for by the state
"except in case of children who entered the kindergarten in their 5th year
whose educational development requires a second year of kindergarten as
determined under the rules and regulations of the State Board of Education.”
(105 Ill. Comp. Stat, 5/18-8.05)

Indiana Not specified in statute

Towa "The board may exclude from school children under the age of 6 years when in
its judgment such children are not sufficiently mature to be benefited by
regular instruction, or any child who is found to be physically or mentally
unable to attend school under section 299.5, or whose presence in school has
been found to be injuricus to the health of other pupils, or is efficiently taught
for the scholastic year at a state institution. However, the board shall provide
special education programs and services...for all children requiring special
education.” (Iowa Code § 282.3)

Kansas Not specified in statute

Kentucky A child "who is less than 7 years old and is enrolled and in regular attendance
in a private kindergarten—nursery_ school” shall be exempted from compulsory
attendance requirements. (Ky. Rev. Stat. Ann, § 159.030)

Louisiana Not specified in statute

Maine Under the "Early Childhood Educational Plans for Children Ages 4 to 9," local
units may elect to develop "two-year kindergartens. . .to address the needs of
4-year-old children." (Me. Rev, Stat. tit. 20-A § 4252)

Maryland Maryland raised the entrance age over the years as follows:
2003-04: November 30
2004-05: October 31
2005-06: September 30
2006-07: September 1
{Md. Code Ann., Educ. § 7-301)

Massachusetts Not specified in statute
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Michigan Not specified in statute
Minnesota Not specified in statute
Mississippi Not specified in statute
Missouri Not specified in statute
Montana Not specified in statute
Nebraska Not specified in statute
Nevada Not specified In st.atute

New Hampshire Not specified in statute

New Jersey No child under the age of 5 years shall be admitted to any public school,

except such as may be provided pursuant to law for children of his age. No
board of education shall be required to accept by transfer from public or private
school any pupil who was not eligible by reason of age for admission on
October 1 of that school year, but the board may in its discretion admit any
such pupil if he or she meets such entrance requirements as may be
established by rules or regulations of the board. (N.J. Stat. Ann. § 18A:38-5)

New Mexico Not specified in statute

New York Kindergarten “'shall be free to resident children between the ages of 4 and 6

years, provided, however (each local school board) may fix a higher minimum
age for admission to such kindergartens." (N.Y. Educ.§ 1712)

North Carolina None found

North Dakota Not specified in statute

Ohlo In school districts granting admittance during a term other than one beginning
in September or August, a child must be 5 on or before the first day of that
term In order to attend kindergarten. (Oh. Rev. Code Ann. § 3321.01)
Oklahoma

Compulsory school attendance for a child from the age at which the child is
eligible to attend kindergarten is a condition of participation in the Temporary
Assistance for Needy Families (TANF) program (Okla Stat., Ann. tit. 56
§230,66)
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Oregon Not specified in statute

Pennsylvania "The board of school directors in any school district may establish and maintain

kindergartens for children between the ages of 4 and 6 years." (Pa. Cons. Stat.
Ann. 24 P.S. § 5-503)

Each district may refuse to accept or retain ist graders who "have not attained
a mental age of 5 years, as determined by the supervisor of special education
or a properly certificated public school psychologist." (Pa. Cons. Stat. Ann. 24
P.S. §13-304)

Puerto Rico Not applicable

Rhode Island Not specified in statute

South Carolina Districts may choose to admit children to kindergarten or 1ist grade before the

state entrance age, however the district is not entitled to receive any state aid
for students admitted early. (S.C. Code Ann. § 59-63-20)

South Dakota Not specified in statute

Tennessee A local board may "provide a procedure for determining the competency of
students who have attended kindergarten o advance directly to 2nd grade.”
(Tenn. Code Ann. § 49-6-3106)

Texas None

Utah Not specified in statute

Vermont

Not specified in statute

Virgin Islands Not applicable

virginia A 5-year-old child is compliant with compulsory laws if he is enrolled in any
public educational pre-kindergarten program, including a Head Start program,
or in a private, denominational or parochial educational pre-kindergarten
program. (Va. Code Ann. § 22.1-199)

Washington Not specified in statute

West Virginia

The state board must establish guidelines for enrollment prior to a child's
reaching compulsory school age (6) in districts where school entry and grade
promotion is allowed at the semester mark. In such schools, students turning 6
between July 1 and December 31 may enter 1st grade during the first
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semester, and those turning 6 between January 1 and June 30 may enter
during the second semester, (W. Va. Code Ann. § 18-5-400)

Wisconsin Kindergarten attendance is not mandatory in this state.

Wyoming Not specified in statute
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