EXHIBIT H

DEPARTMENT OF HUMAN SERVICES, MEDICAL SERVICES

SUBJECT: Alternatives for Adults with Physical Disabilities (AAPD) Waiver #4-14

DESCRIPTION: This proposed rule updates the Alternatives for Aduits with Physical
Disabilities (AAPD) Waiver Provider Manual to change the number of hours that an
attendant care service provider is allowed to work. An individual provider may not work
for more than 40 hours per week. An individual provider may work for only one
beneficiary during a single day. Established benefit limits will remain the same for each
beneficiary (up to 56 hours per week, based on the beneficiary’s approved Plan of Care).
This regulation change is necessary to comply with the Department of Labor — Fair Labor
Standards Act (DOL-FLSA) regulation eliminating the companionship services
exemption from minimum wage and overtime.

PUBLIC COMMENT: A public hearing was not held on this rule. The public
comment period expired November 29, 2014. The Department received the following
public comments:

Billy Altom, Executive Director
Association of Prosrams for Rural Independent Living

COMMENT: I am writing to express the Association of Programs for Rural
Independent Living's grave concern about the proposal by the Division of Medical
Services of the Arkansas Department of Human Services to cap hours for personal
assistants in the Alternatives for Adults with Physical Disabilities Waiver (AAPD)
program at no more than 40 hours per week, without exception, in order to avoid the cost

" of overtime compensation, and to limit each worker to providing services to only one
consumer per day .to avoid compensating workers for travel time. This rigid response to
new U.S. Department of Labor (USDOL) regulations under the federal Fair Labor
Standards Act, will harm both consumers and workers. We urge you to reconsider this
approach and instead budget for sufficient funds to pay overtime compensation to
attendants in thls program.

The requirements, which finally grant the same wage and hour protections to home care
aides that the majority of U.S. workers already receive, are essential. Not only does the
new USDOL rule afford workers the respect and wages they deserve, but it also provides
a foundation on which to build a stronger, more stable home care workforce that can meet
Arkansas' ever-growing need for long-term services and supports (L'TSS).

Indeed, today, more than 150,000 Askansans need LTSS. This number will jump by 50
percent by 2030, and 80 percent by 2060. The vast majority of these individuals prefer to
receive LTSS in their homes. Enacting policies, such as the Division of Medical Services'
proposal, to circumvent the USDOL rule is counterproductive to building the workforce
necessary to meet these burgeoning needs.
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As you know, the LTSS provided to approximately 2,200 individuals with disabilities -
through the AAPD program, allows them to live safely at home rather than in more
expensive nursing home settings. The real threat to Arkansas' budget and families is not
the USDOL' s new requirements but rather the Division of Medical Services' proposed
response. Adopting an inflexible cap on hours and limiting workers to assisting only one
consumer per day could make it impossible for some consumers in this program to
continue to live at home. This would be a devastating outcome for the Arkansans who
rely on these services and their families, and it can be avoided if, instead, Arkansas |
budgets for sufficient funds to pay overtime compensation to attendants in this program.

One of the greatest challenges in providing LTSS to individuals in their homes is high
turnover among home care aides. Industry tumover rates are estimated somewhere
between 40 and 60 percent annually. Recruiting and training replacement workers is
expensive (estimated at a direct cost of $2,500 per worker), costing the industry, states,
and taxpayers billions of dollars each year.

Rather than implementing a universal, inflexible cap on overtime and prohibiting
attendants from providing services to more than one consumer per day, Arkansas must
balance the needs of consumers, workers, and taxpayers. In some cases, splitting a high
number of hours between two workers is a good solution. In other cases, the consumer's
disability and/or family situation may require overtime pay. Most importantly, decisions
about how much care a consumer receives and who provides it should be based on a
person-centered assessment of the individual's needs.

Furthermore, the Division of Medical Services' proposal assumes that a sufficient number
of new workers will be willing and available to do this work immediately if overtime is
prohibited and workers are limited to only one consumer per day. Although the extension
of minimum wage and overtime protections to the home care workforce is an essential
first step to stabilizing the workforce and attracting more individuals to the profession,
recruitment and retention remain a challenge--exacerbated by growing demand (demand
for personal care attendants in Arkansas is projected to grow by 28 percent by 2020). It is
possible that the state will be unable to recruit enough additional workers to completely
avoid the payment of overtime and travel time costs. In rural Arkansas, the only available
person to provide care may be the one worker already providing it. The state must take a
more thoughtful approach in order to ensure that consumers don't go without the LTSS
they need, and that its policy decisions do not cause a shortage of home care workers.
Indeed, the United States District Court found that the state is responsible for setting
wage rates and policies that atfract enough home care workers to deliver all of the
services for which the individual qualifies.

As a first step to developing a more reasoned approach, the Division of Medical Services
should calculate and release Arkansas' workforce data - including the extent of overtime
and part-time hours and travel time between consumers for attendants in this program.
The Division should then share this information with stakeholders, including consumers
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and workers, to find solutions that avoid disruption of care and strengthen Arkansas's
system of LTSS.

Moreover, the Division must consider any action in the context of the 1999 U.S. Supreme
Court Olmstead decision, in which it confirmed the right of people with disabilities to
receive services in the least restrictive setting. Specifically, USDOL guidance on the new
regulation refers to the Olmstead decision, saying "If a public entity as a joint employer of
its home care workers puts in place new policies that have the impact of reducing or
otherwise disrupting a consumer's services, the state must ensure that the policy does not
place the affected individuals at serious risk of institutionalization. See id. This could
include making exceptions to the policy or providing alternative services to individuals
who otherwise would be placed at serious risk of institutionalization. /d. (citing October
22, 2012 Letter from DOJ and QCR to Washington State); accord M .R. v. Dreyfus, 663
F.3d 1100 (9th Cir. 2011) {finding that a state violates the ADA and Olmstead when
policies place individuals at serious risk of institutionalization)." Insofar as consumers'
homes and care are disrupted by the Division of Medical Services' proposed overtime ban
and limits on the number of consumers per worker per day, and consumers face otherwise
unnecessary placement in a nursing home, the state will be defying the Olmstead mandate
and violating their civil rights.

RESPONSE: Your letter of November 24, 2014, outlines the many challenges, in terms
of both policy and practicality, posed by the new regulations governing home care
workers as implemented by the U.S. Department of Labor, as well as by DOL’s new
guidance regarding when a state Medicaid program is considered a joint employer for
purposes of the Fair Labor Standards Act. DHS is cognizant of these concerns and
recognizes the difficulties these new federal regulations impose. In considering changes
to the Alternatives for Adults with Physical Disabilities (AAPD) Medicaid policy, DHS
reviewed all options available for compliance with the DOL regulations and determmed
that these policy modifications were the most appropriate remedy.

Please note that the individual client plan of care will not be affected by this change. The
change only impacts clients who consumer direct and receive more than 40 hours of
attendant care service on their plan of care. These clients will need to make other
arrangements for services above 40 hours per week. Many clients currently employ more
than one worker. In addition, clients routinely identify backup providers and will likely
use a backup provider (either a consumer directed provider or an agency provider) for
those instances. DAAS is prepared to address hardships on a case by case basis to ensure
that client health and welfare is not jeopardized and that clients are not placed at risk of
institutionalization.

Thank you for your comments.
State of Arkansas:

Disability Rights Arkansas, Ine.
Spa Area Independent Living Services
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Disabih'tv Resource Advocacy Center
Association of Programs for Rural Independent Living
. ADAPT-Arkansas Chapter

-

National Groups:
National Seniox Citizens Law Center

Bazelon Center for Mental Health Law
National Disability Rights Network
National ADAPT

National Council on Independent Living

COMMENT: Thank you for the opportunity to submit comments on Provider Manual
Update Transmittal APDWVR-4-14. Disability Rights Arkansas (ORA) is the federally
authorized and funded nonprofit organization serving as the Protection and Advocacy
System (P&A) and the Client Assistance Program (CAP) for individuals with disabilities
in Arkansas. ORA is authorized to advocate for and protect human, civil and legal rights
of all Arkansans with disabilities consistent with federal law.

Disability Rights Arkansas is writing to express our strong opposition to the Division of
Medical Services proposal to cap hours for personal assistants in the Alternatives for
Adults with Physical Disabilities Waiver program at no more than 40 hours per week,
without exception. We also strongly oppose the proposal to impose the restriction that
only one provider may work for one worker each day and the proposal to set an 8 hour
cap on hours worked per day.

These rigid responses to the U.S. Department of Labor regulations under the federal Fair
Labor Standards Act have the potential to cause severe harm to many of the
approximately 2,200 Arkansans with disabilities who are self-directing in the program.
We urge the Division of Medical Services to convene a panel of stakeholders, including
individuals with disabilities who are currently using Consamer-Directed Atiendant Care
program and workers who provide services, to find creative solutions to implement the
new Department of Labor rules in a way that takes budget considerations into account but
does not cause unintended harm to consumers.

1. Convene a stakeholder panel to identify options for implementing
the new Department of Labor Rule that balances the health and safety
of people with disabilities, workforce issues, and fiscal considerations.

We strongly oppose a hard cap of 40 hours per week without exceptions. While this
policy might bring Arkansas into technical compliance with the new Department of Labor
rules, it will hurt both consumers and workers and may violate other federal laws,
including the Medicaid Act and the Americans with Disabilities Act (ADA). Consumers
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who cannot find additional workers to fill their hours will experience, as a result of this
policy, cuts in services that are critical to their health, safety and ability to live in the
community. The impact on consumers in rural areas, where there is a very limited pool of
workers, will likely be acute. Some consumers with specialized needs, such as complex
medical or behavioral challenges, will suffer harm by having multiple providers work for
them. Workers who now work more than 40 hours may experience a precipitous drop in
income. Paid family members are a critical component of this workforce in Arkansas; for
these workers who have chosen to forego other paid employment in order to provide care,
the reduction in income could undermine the entire family's financial security and even
force some consumers into more costly out-of-home placements.

We ask that the Division work with stakeholders to complete an analysis of overtime and
travel costs before putting in place any restrictive policies that could lead to cuts in
services for consumers. We are aware that Arkansas, like many states, has not historically
collected data by worker hours or tracked travel time, and we urge the Division to work
with home care workers, worker advocates, and Financial Management Services to gather
data to come up with a reasonable estimate of the costs and explore policy options for -
‘addressing overtime and travel costs. ‘ '

In developing a reasonable and balanced policy to implement this new rule, the Division
should consider not only the costs of paying for overtime but also the costs of
implementing restrictions. In order to avoid violating Medicaid law and endangering the
health and well-being of consumers, Arkansas may need to recruit additional workers, set
up backup worker systems, and hire additional staff to explain and enforce the
restrictions. These costs must be balanced with the cost of more generous overtime and
travel policies. As part of this process, we also encourage you to contact the Centers for
Medicare & Medicaid services (CMS) to explore options for using federally-matched
Medicaid funds to help defray the costs of paying for overtime and travel.

2. The Division must have an exceptions process to
any policy that restricts overtime and travel.

If, after engaging in the process described above, the Division determines that there must
be some reasonable limitations on overtime and travel that generally apply to providers in
the Consumer-Directed Attendant Care Program, the Division mus? put an exceptions
process in place. The Division should create a policy or process that allows consumers
who would be particularly harmed by any restrictive policies to be exempted from those
policies or for alternative services to be put in place for those consumers. Consumers who
would be harmed by the cap should be able to quickly apply for, and receive an,
exception.

Such an exceptions policy is required by the ADA and the Supreme Court's Olmstead
decision for consumers who would be at serious risk of institutionalization due to the
policies, including those who are unable to find additional workers (for example, in rural
areas of Arkansas). Itis also needed for consumers who might experience harm from
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having multiple workers due to their specialized needs. Both the Department of Justice
and CMS have urged states to have such policies to prevent harm fo consumers and to
fulfill a state's Olmstead obligations. Failing to put an exceptions process in place could
also undermine the new person-centered planning requirements.

3. Remove the one consumer per day
restriction to allow flexibility for workers
and consumers alike.

It will be very difficult for consumers who need a limited number of service hours each
day to find an attendant if providers canmot work for more than one consumer each day.
For example, some consumers may use as little as two or three hours of assistance per
day. It will be impossible for any provider to make a living working such few hours,
meaning that consumers may be left with no one at all willing to take the job. The same
problem may occur for consumers who need to hire a second worker for hours in excess
of the 8 hour daily limit currently in the regulations - for example, a consumer who
receives 10 hours of services daily may be unable to find a worker who can fill only two
hours. If the Division does adopt the one consumer per day restriction, an exceptions
process must be put in place as discussed above.

4. Remove the 8 hour per day cap on hours worked.

Under the Department of Labor rule, overtime must be paid for hours worked over 40
each week. Arkansas state overtime requirements also generally require overtime only for
hours worked over 40 each week, Whatever limits the Division ultimately places on
providers, it should be implemented on a weekly basis to allow flexibility for consumers
to best have their care needs met.

People with disabilities and seniors have fought long and hard for service models like the
Consumer-Directed Attendant Care program that give us control of our own lives. We
look forward to working with the Division to ensure that the new home care rule can be
implemented in ways that do not harm consumers and the workers that provide these
critical services.

RESPONSE: Your letter of November 25, 2014, outlines the many challenges, in terms
of both policy and practicality, posed by the new regulations governing home care
workers as implemented by the U.S. Department of Labor, as well as by DOL’s new
guidance regarding when a state Medicaid program is considered a joint employer for
purposes of the Fair Labor Standards Act. DHS is cognizant of these concerns and
recognizes the difficulties these new federal regulations impose. In considering changes
to the Alternatives for Adults with Physical Disabilities (AAPD) Medicaid policy, DHS
reviewed all options available for compliance with the DOL regulations and determined
that these policy modifications were the most appropriate remedy.
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Please note that the individual client plan of care will not be affected by this change. The
change only impacts clients who consumer direct and receive more than 40 hours of
attendant care service on their plan of care. These clients will need to make other
arrangements for services above 40 hours per week. Many clients currently employ more
than one worker. In addition, clients routinely identify backup providers and will likely
use a backup provider (either a consumer directed provider or an agency provider) for
those instances. DAAS is prepared to address hardships on a case by case basis to ensure
that client health and welfare is not jeopardized and that clients are not placed atrisk of
institutionalization.

CMS has already advised states that federal Medicaid funds may not be used to pay
overtime expenses incurred because of these new rules.

Thank you for your comments.

Donna Massey, President
Arxkansas Community Organizations

COMMENT: Arkansas Community Organizations is a membership organization of
more than 1,000 low-to moderate- income households in central and southeast Arkansas.
Many members of our organization work as home health care aides. And many of us
have family members who receive home health care services through Medicaid. We
strongly support the Department of Labor ruling that ends the home health care worker
exemption from the federal Fair Labor Standards Act. We strongly oppose the proposal
by the Division of Medical Services of the Arkansas Department of Human Services
(DHS) to cap hours for personal assistants in the Alternatives for Adults with Physical
Disabilities Waiver (AAPD) program at no more than 40 hours per week, without
exception, in order to avoid the cost of overtime compensation, and to limit each worker
to providing services to only one consumer per day to avoid compensating workers for
travel time.

There are more than 2,000 people in the state who receive long term services and

supports through the Division of Medical Services. This program allows these people to

live safely at home rather than in expensive nursing homes. The demand and the need for -
this program is much higher than the number of people who receive the program through
DHS. As more of our population ages, the need will only increase. We need to think

about ways to expand the program rather making inflexible rules that will harm both the
workers and those in need.

The work that home health care aides do is important to many families in our
organization. They perform a service that improves the quality of life for thousands of
Arkansas. Home health care workers are entitled to the same worker protections as other
workers. The low pay that these workers receive and the demands of the jobs lead to high
turnover in the industry. The real threat to Arkansas's budget and families is not
compliance with wage and overtime requirements, but rather the Division of Medical
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Services' proposed response. Adopting an inflexible cap on hours and limiting workers o
assisting only one consumer per day could make it impossible for some consumers in this
program to coltinue to live at home. This would be a devastating outcome fot those
Arkansans who rely on these services and their families, It can be avoided if Arkansas
budgets for sufficient funds to pay overtime compensation and travel time to the
attendants in this program, ' )

Providing services to the elderly and disabled in their homes is a good program and a
needed alternative to nursing homes. We need to expand long term support and services
to the disabled. In order to do so, we need to develop a strong workforce that can provide
these needed services. We will not be able to develop the workforce we need if we do not
pay people fairly, budget for the overtime that a patient may require and allow workers to
take on more than one client per day.

We hope you will take these remarks under consideration.

RESPONSE: We have reviewed your comments and understand your concerns
related to Home Health aides. The proposed changes do not affect home health aides
in general. Instead, the proposed changes apply only to one specific Medicaid waiver
program, known as Alternatives to Adults with Physical Disabilities (AAPD). This
program provides for consumer directed providers and not home health aides such as
those you reference in your comment. In considering changes to AAPD Medicaid

- policy, DHS reviewed all options available for compliance with the DOL regulations
and determined that these policy modifications were the most appropriate remedy.

Thank you for your comments.

Jodi M. Sturgeon, President
PHI

COMMENT: I am writing to express PHI's concern with the proposal by the Division of
Medical Services of the Arkansas Department of Human Services to cap hours for
personal assistants in the Alternatives for Adults with Physical Disabilities Waiver
(AAPD) program at no more than 40 hours per week and to limit each worker to
providing services to only one consumer per day. The proposal seeks to avoid
compensating workers for overtime and travel in a rigid response to new U.S. Department
of Labor (USDOL) regulations under the federal Fair Labor Standards Act. If enacted,
such limitations on personal assistants will harm both consumers and workers. We urge
you to reconsider this approach and instead budget sufficient funds for overtime
compensation to personal assistants in this program..

PHI (formerly the Paraprofessional Healthcare Institute) is a national organization that
works to improve the lives of people who need home or residential care -and improve the
lives of the direct- care workers who provide that care. Our work is grounded in the
philosophy that quality jobs for direct-care workers contribute to quality care for long-

8



EXHIBIT H

term care consumers. We strongly support the extension of minimum wage and overtime
protections to home care workers, and we promote thoughtful implementation of these
protections by states in ways that benefit both workers and consumers.

The USDOL requirements, which finally grant the same wage and hour protections to
home care aides that virtually all other U.S. workers already receive, are essential. Not
only does the new USDOL rule afford workers the respect and wages they deserve, but it
also provides a foundation on which to build a stronger, more stable home care workforce
that can meet Arkansas's ever-growing need for long-term services and supports (LTSS).

Today, more than 150,000 Arkansans need LTSS. This number will increase 50 percent
by 2030, and 80 percent by 2060. The vast majority of these individuals prefer to receive
LTSS in their homes. Enacting policies to circumvent the USDOL rule, such as the
Division of Medical Services' proposal, is counterproductive to building the workforce
necessary to meet these burgeoning needs.

As you know, the LTSS provided to approximately 2,200 individuals with disabilities
through the AAPD program allow Arkansans to live safely at home rather than in more
expensive nursing home settings. The real threat to the state's budget and to families is
not the USDOL' s new requirements but rather the Division of Medical Services'
proposed response. Adopting an inflexible cap on hours and limiting workers to assisting
only one consumer per day could make it impossible for some consumers in this program
to continue to live at home, a devastating outcome for the Arkansans who rely on these
services and for their families. But this outcome can be avoided if Arkansas budgets
sufficient funds to pay overtime compensation to attendants in this program.

Arkansas must balance the needs of consumers, workers, and taxpayers as it implements
the new USDOL regulations. In some cases, splitting a high number of hours between
two workers is a good solution. In other cases, the consumer's disability and/or family
situation may require overtime pay. Most importantly, decisions about how much care a
consumer receives and who provides it should be based on a person-centered assessment
of the individual's needs.

Furthermore, the Division of Medical Services' proposal assumes that a sufficient number
of new workers will be willing and available to do this work immediately if overtime is
prohibited and workers are limited to only one consumer per day. Although the extension
of minimum wage and overtime protections to the home care workforce is an essential
first step to stabilizing the workforce and aftracting more individuals to the profession,
recruitment and retention remain a challenge. Industry turnover rates are estimated
somewhere between 40 and 60 percent annually. Recruiting and training replacement
workers is expensive (estimated at a direct cost of $2,500 per worker), costing the
industry, states, and taxpayers billions of dollars each year.

At the same time, demand for personal care assistants in Arkansas is projected to grow by
28 percent by 2020. It is possible that the state will be unable to recruit enough additional
9
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workers to meet this demand while completely avoiding the payment of overtime and
travel time costs, particularly in rural areas. The United States District Court found that
the state is responsible for seiting wage rates and policies that attract enough home care
workers to deliver all of the services for which the individual qualifies. In order to do so,
Arkansas must take a more thoughtful approach in order to ensure that consumers don't
go without the LTSS they need and that its policy decisions do not cause a shortage of
home care workers. '

As a first step to developing a more reasoned approach, the Division of Medical Services
should calculate and release state workforce data, including the extent of overtime, part-
time hours, and travel time captured for attendants in this program. The Division should
then share this information with stakeholders, including consumers and workers, to find
solutions that avoid disruption of care and strengthen Arkansas's system of LTSS.

Moreover, the Division must consider any action it takes in the context of the 1999 U.S.
Supreme Court Olmstead decision, which confirmed the right of people with disabilities
to receive services in the least restrictive setting. Specifically, LSDOL guidance on the
new regulation refers to the Olmstead decision, saying "If a public entify as a joint
employer of its home care workers puts in place new policies that have the impact of
reducing or otherwise disrupting a consumer's services, the state must ensure that the
policy does not place the affected individuals at serious risk of institutionalization. See id.
This could include making exceptions to the policy or providing alternative services to
individuals who otherwise would be placed at serious risk of institutionalization. Id.
(citing October 22, 2012 Letter from DOJ and OCR to Washington State); accord M .R. .
v. Dreyfus, 663 F.3d 1100 (9th Cir. 2011) (finding that a state violates the ADA and
Olmstead when policies place individuals at serious risk of institutionalization)."

Consumers' homes and the quality of care they receive will be disrupted by the Division
of Medical Services's proposed overtime ban and limits on the number of consumers per
worker per day. PHI strongly urges the State to consider a more sustainable approach to
its provision of LTSS-one that improves quality of life, rather than reduces it, for LTSS
recipients and the hardworking personal attendants who care for them.

RESPONSE: Your letter of November 24, 2014, outlines the many challenges, in terms
of both policy and practicality, posed by the new regulations governing home care
workers as implemented by the U.S. Department of Labor, as well as by DOL’s new
guidance regarding when a state Medicaid program is considered a joint employer for
purposes of the Fair Labor Standards Act. DHS is cognizant of these concerns and
recognizes the difficulties these new federal regulations impose. In considering changes
to the Alternatives for Adults with Physical Disabilities (AAPD) Medicaid policy, DHS
reviewed all options available for compliance with the DOL regulations and determined
that these policy modifications were the most appropriate remedy.

Please note that the-individual client plan of care will not be affected by this change. The
change only impacts clients who consumer direct and receive more than 40 hours of
10
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attendant care service on their Plan of Care. These clients will need to make other
arrangements for services above 40 hours per week. Many clients currently employ more
than one worker. In addition, clients routinely identify backup providers and will likely
use a backup provider (either a consumer directed provider or an agency provider) for
those instances. DAAS is prepared to address hardships on a case by case basis to ensure
that client health and welfare is not jeopardized and that clients are not placed at risk of
institutionalization.

CMS has already advised states that federal Medicaid funds may not be used to pay
overtime expenses incurred because of these new rules.

Mahlon Tolleson

COMMENT: This is to comment on the proposed rule to limit home health aides as
discussed in the Arkansas Democrat Gazette of November 28, 2014.

My wife has needed the services of Home Health several times after a surgical
hospitalization. They were lifesavers for us. This latest go-round, the hospital sent my
wife home after 24 hours in the hospital with a broken arm. That might not be a big
problem for most people, but since she is dependent on a walker, she was completely
helpless. We couldn't even get her in the house, we had to call the local ambulance
company to assist.

With the help of trained, educated, experienced, licensed nurses and therapists, who came
to our home, as she could NOT leave, she is almost back to "normal." This would have
been impossible without their help. I can't imagine that any of them would be willing to
work for minimum wage or visit only 1 client a day.

Ms Kate Luck was quoted in the article as finding it impossible to verify travel distance
and time. Could you kindly provide her with a computer and explain the use of Google
Maps or Mapquest? Companies such as FedX and UPS have no problem doing making
these calculations.

I know this economy is difficult for many agencies, but there has to be another way. We
CANNOT do without home health aides. These proposed changes will ELIMINATE
home health, because NO ONE would work under those restrictions.

RESPONSE: We have reviewed your comments and understand your concerns related
to Home Health aides. Contrary to the newspaper article, the proposed changes do not
affect home health aides in general. Instead, the proposed changes apply only to consumer
directed mmwiders and not home health aides such as those you reference in your
comment. In considering changes to AAPD Medicaid policy, DHS reviewed all options
available for compliance with the DOL regulations and determined that these policy
modifications were the most appropriate remedy.

11
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Thank you for your comments.
Mahlona Bowdon

COMMENT: Iwould like to comment on the proposed rule to limit home health aides
as discussed in the Arkansas Democrat Gazette of November 28, 2014. Iam a Christian
and an ordained minister, so I will try to be nice, but it will be a REAL struggle because
this is the stupidest thing I have ever heard of. It reminds me of a sign recently saw which
said, "I'm sorry hurt your feelings when I called you stupid. Ithought you already knew."

My mother lives in AR and she has needed the services of Home Health several times
after a surgical hospitalization. They have been lifesavers! Most recently, the hospital sent
mom home after just one day in the hospital. She had fallen and broken her arm. That
might not be a big problem for most people, but because of botched hip surgery, she is .
dependent on a walker to take even ONE step, so she was sent home completely helpless.
We could not even get her out of the car and into the house, we had to call the local
ambulance company to hoist her in.

Because of the help we received from trained, educated, experienced, licensed nurses and
therapists, who came to Mom's house, since she could NOT leave, she is almost back to
"normal." This would have been impossible without their help. I don't think any of them
are willing to work for minimum wage or visit only 1client a day.

I am still laughing about Ms. Kate Luck saying in the article that it is impossible to verify
travel distance and time. Ever heard of Google Maps, TomTom or Mapquest???
Somebody please get this lady a computer and explain it to her!

In this economy, I'm sure many agencies, are finding things difficult, but we CANNOT
do without home health aides. These proposed changes will ELIMINATE home health,
because NO ONE would work under those restrictions. :

RESPONSE: We have reviewed your comments and understand your concerns related
to Home Health aides. Contrary to the newspaper article, the proposed changes do not
affect home health aides in general. Instead, the proposed changes apply only to consumer
directed providers and not home health aides such as those you referénce in your
comment. In considering changes to- AAPD Medicaid policy, DHS reviewed all options
available for compliance with the DOL regulations and determined that these policy
modifications were the most appropriate remedy.

Thank you for your comments.

Rey Hernandez :
NWA Workers’ Justice Cente
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COMMENT: I am writing to express the Northwest Arkansas Worker Justice Center's
grave concern about the proposal by the Division of Medical Services of the Arkansas
Department of Human Services to cap hours for personal assistants in the Alternatives for
Adults with Physical Disabilities Waiver (AAPD) program at no more than 40 hours per
week, without exception, in order to avoid the cost of overtime compensation, and to
limit each worker to providing services to only one consumer per day to avoid
compensating workers for travel time. This rigid response to new U.S. Department of
Labor (USDOL) regulations under the federal Fair Labor Standards Act, will harm both
consumers and workers. We urge you to reconsider this approach and instead budget for
sufficient funds to pay overtime compensation to attendants in this program.

The requirements, which finally grant the same wage and hour protections to home care
aides that the majority of U.S. workers already receive, are essential. Not only does the
new USDOL rule afford workers the respect and wages they deserve, but it also provides
a foundation on which to build a stronger, more stable home care workforce that can meet
Arkansas' ever-growing need for long-term services and supports (LTSS).

Indeed, today, more than 150,000 Arkansans need LTSS. This number will jump by 50
percent by 2030, and 80 percent by 2060. The vast majority of these individuals prefer to

- receive LTSS in their homes. Enacting policies, such as the Division of Medical Services'
proposal, to circumvent the USDOL rule is counterproductive to building the workforce
necessary to meet these burgeoning needs.

As you know, the LTSS provided to approximately 2,200 individuals with disabilities
through the AAPD program, allows them to live safely at home rather than in more
expensive nursing home settings. The real threat to Arkansas' budget and families is not
the USDOL's new requirements but rather the Division of Medical Services' proposed
response. Adopting an inflexible cap on hours and limiting workers to assisting only one
consumer per day could make it impossible for some consumers in this program to
continue to live at home. This would be a devastating outcome for the Arkansans who
rely on these services and their families, and it can be avoided if, instead, Arkansas
budgets for sufficient funds to pay overtime compensation to attendants in this program.

One of the greatest challenges in providing LTSS to individuals in their homes is high
turnover among home care aides. Industry turnover rates are estimated somewhere
between 40 and 60 percent annually. Recruiting and training replacement workers is
expensive (estimated at a direct cost of $2,500 per worker), costing the industry, states,
and taxpayers billions of dollars each year.

Rather than implementing a universal, inflexible cap on overtime and prohibiting
attendants from providing services to more than one consumer per day, Arkansas must
balance the needs of consumers, workers, and taxpayers. In some cases, splitting a high
number of hours between two workers is a good solution. In other cases, the consumer's
disability and/or family situation may require overtime pay. Most importantly, decisions
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about how much care a consumer receives and who provides it should be based on a
person-centered assessment of the individual's needs.

Furthermore, the Division of Medical Services' proposal assumes that a sufficient number
of new workers will be willing and available to do this work immediately if overtime is
prohibited and workers are limited to only one consumer per day. Although the extension
of minimum wage and overtime protections to the home care workforce is an essential
first step to stabilizing the workforce and attracting more individuals to the profession,
recruitment and retention remain a challenge - exacerbated by growing demand (demand
for personal care attendants in Arkansas is projected to grow by 28 percent by 2020). It is
possible that the state will be unable to recruit enough additional workers to completely
avoid the payment of overtime and travel time costs. In rural Arkansas, the only available
person to provide care may be the one worker already providing it. The state must take a
more thoughtful approach in order to ensure that consumers don't go without the LTSS
they need, and that its policy decisions do not cause a shortage of home care workers.
Indeed, the United States District Court found that the state is responsible for setting
" wage rates and policies that attract enough home care workers to deliver all of the
services for which the individual qualifies.

As a first step to developing a more reasoned approach, the Division of Medical Services
should calculate and release Arkansas' workforce data--including the extent of overtime
and part-time hours and travel time between consumers for attendants in this program.
The Division should then share this information with stakeholders, including consumers
and workers, to find solutions that avoid disruption of care and strengthen Arkansas's
system of LTSS.

Moreover, the Division must consider any action in the context of the 1999 U.S. Supreme
Court Olmstead decision, in which it confirmed the right of people with disabilities to
receive services in the least restrictive setting. Specifically, USDOL guidance on the new
regulation refers to the Olmstead decision, saying "If a public entity as a joint employer of
its home care workers puts in place new policies that have the impact of reducing or
otherwise disrupting a consumer's services, the state must ensure that the policy does not
place the affected individuals at serious risk of institutionalization. See id. This could
include making exceptions to the policy or providing alternative services to individuals
who otherwise would be placed at serious risk of institutionalization. Id. (citing October
22, 2012 letter from DOJ and OCR to Washington State); accord M R. v. Dreyfas, 663

.F.3d 1100 (9th Cir. 2011) (finding that a state v101ates the ADA and Olmstead when
policies place individuals at serious risk of 1nst1tut10nahzat10n) " Insofar as consumers'
homes and care are disrupted by the Division of Medical Services' proposed overtime ban
and limits on the number of consumers per worker per day, and consumers face otherwise
unnecessary placement in a nursing home, the state will be defying the Olmstead mandate
and violating their civil rights.

RESPONSE: Your letter of November 25, 2014, outlines the many challenges, in terms
of both policy and practicality, posed by the new regulations governing home care
14



EXHIBIT H

workers as implemented by the U.S. Department of Labor, as well as by DOL’s new
.guidance regarding when a state Medicaid program is considered a joint employer for
purposes of the Fair Labor Standards Act. DHS is cognizant of these concerns and
recognizes the difficulties these new federal regulations impose. In considering changes
to the Alternatives for Adults with Physical Disabilities (AAPD) Medicaid policy, DHS
reviewed all options available for compliance with the DOL regulations and determined
that these policy modifications were the most appropriate remedy.

Please note that the individual client plan of care will not be affected by this change. The
change only impacts clients who consumer direct and receive more than 40 hours of
attendant care service on their Plan of Care. These clients will need to make other
arrangements for services above 40 hours per week. Many clients currently employ more
than one worker. In addition, clients routinely identify backup providers and will likely
use a backup provider (either a consumer directed provider or an agency provider) for
those instances. DAAS is prepared to address hardships on a case by case basis to ensure
that client health and welfare is not jeopardized and that clients are not placed at risk of
institutionalization.

CMS has already advised states that federal Medicaid funds may not be used to pay
overtime expenses incurred because of these new rules.

Rich Huddleston, Executive Director
Arkansas Advocates for Children and Families

COMMENT: Arkansas Advocates for Children and Families would like to express our
concern about the proposal from the Arkansas Department of Human Services Division
of Medical Services to cap hours for individuals providing attendant care services in the
Alternatives for Adults with Physical Disabilities Waiver (AAPD) program at no more
than 40 hours per week, without exception, and to limit each worker to providing services
to only one consumer per day to in order to avoid the cost of overtime compensation and
compensating workers for travel time. This rigid response to new

U.S. Department of Labor (USDOL) regulations under the federal Fair Labor Standards
Act, will harm both consumers and workers. We urge you to reconsider this approach and
instead budget for sufficient funds to pay overtime compensation to attendants in this
program.

The réquirements, which finally grant the same wage and hour protections to home care
aides that the majority of U.S. workers already receive, are essential. Not only does the
new USDOL rule afford workers the respect and wages they deserve, but it also provides
a foundation on which to build a stronger, more stable home care workforce that can meet
Arkansas' ever-growing need for long-term services and supports (LTSS).

Today, more than 150,000 Arkansans need LTSS. This number will jump by 50 percent
by 2030, and 80 percent by 2060. Many of these individuals prefer to receive LTSS in
their homes. Enacting policies, such as the Division of Medical Services' proposal, to
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circumvent the USDOL rule is counterproductive to building the workforce necessary to
meet these burgeoning needs.

As you know, the LTSS provided to approximately 2,200 individuals with disabilities
through the AAPD program, allows them to live safely at home rather than in more
expensive nursing home settings. The real threat to Arkansas' budget and families is not
the USDOL's new requirements but rather the Division of Medical Services' proposed
response. Adopting an inflexible cap on hours and limiting workers fo assisting only one
consumer per day could make it impossible for some consumers in this program to
continue to live at home. This would be a devastating outcome for the Arkansans who
rely on these services and their families, and it can be avoided if, instead, Arkansas
budgets for sufficient funds to pay overtime compensation to attendants in this program.

One of the greatest challenges in providing LTSS to individuals in their homes is high
turnover among home care aides. Industry turnover rates are estimated somewhere
between 40 and 60 percent annually. Recruiting and training replacement workers is
expensive (estimated at a direct cost of $2,500 per worker), costing the industry, states,
and taxpayers billions of dollars each year.

Home care aides are often low wage workers and parents that rely on their eamings to
meet the families’ basic needs. Artificially limiting their work hours can create financial
hardships for them. Additionally, many families rely on having consistent access to
attendant care services, in order to provide much needed support for a family member
requiring long term care. Any disruption in services resulting from reduced work hours or
increased turnover could be critical to the health and well-being of individuals on the
AAPD waiver. The family may also have to make adjustments to their own work
schedules to provide care and supervision, which may negatively impact their ability to
remain consistently, employed and results in an additional cost burden for the family.

Rather than implementing a universal, inflexible cap on overtime and prohibiting
attendants from providing services to more than one consumer per day, Arkansas must
balance the needs of consumers, workers, and taxpayers. In some cases, splitting a high
number of hours between two workers is a good solution. In other cases, the consumer's
disability and/or family situation may require overtime pay. Most importantly, decisions
about how much care a consumer receives and who provides it should be based on a
person-centered assessment of the individual's needs.

Furthermore, the Division of Medical Services' proposal assumes that a sufficient number
of new workers will be willing and available to do this work immediately if overtime is
- prohibited and workers are limited to only one consumer per day. Although the extension
of minimum wage and overtime protections to the home care workforce is an essential
first step to stabilizing the workforce and attracting more individuals to the profession,
recruitment and retention remain a challenge--exacerbated by growing demand (demand
for personal care attendants in Arkansas is projected to grow by 28 percent by 2020). It is
possible that the state will be unable to recruit enough additional workers to completely
16
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avoid the payment of overtime and travel time costs. In rural Arkansas, the only available
person to provide care may be the one worker already providing it. The state must take a
more thoughtful approach in order to ensure that consumers don't go without the LTSS
they need, and that its policy decisions do not cause a shortage of home care workers.
Indeed, the United States District Court found that the state is responsible for setting
wage rates and policies that aftract enough home care workers to deliver all of the
services for which the individual qualifies.

As a first step to developing a more reasoned approach, the Division of Medical Services
should calculate and release Arkansas' workforce data--including the extent of overtime
and part-time hours and travel time between consumers for attendants in this program.
The Division should then share this information with stakeholders, including consumers
and workers, to find solutions that avoid disruption of care and strengthen Arkansas's
system of LTSS.

Moreover, the Division must consider any action in the context of the 1999 U.S. Supreme
Court Olmstead decision, in which it confirmed the right of people with disabilities to
receive services in the least restrictive setting. Specifically, USDOL guidance on the new
regulation refers to the Olmstead decision, saying "If a public entity as a joint employer of
its home care workers puts in place new policies that have the impact of reducing or
otherwise disrupting a consumer's services, the state must ensure that the policy does not
place the affected individuals at serious risk of institutionalization. See id. This could
include making exceptions to the policy or providing alternative services to individuals
who otherwise would be placed at serious risk of institutionalization. Id. {citing October
22, 2012 Letter from DOJ and OCR to Washington State); accord M.R. v. Dreyfis, 663
F.3d 1100 (9th Cir. 2011) (finding that a state violates the ADA and Olmstead when
policies place individuals at serious risk of institutionalization)." Insofar as consumers'
homes and care are disrupted by the Division of Medical Services' proposed overtime ban
and limits on the number of consumers per worker per day, and consumers face otherwise
unnecessary placement in a nursing home, the state will be defying the Olmstead mandate
and violating their civil rights.

Thank you for the opportunity to submit comments on the changes to the AAPD waiver.
Please contact us at Arkansas Advocates for Children and Families for more information.

RESPONSE: Your letter of November 24, 2014, outlines the many challenges, in terms
of both policy and practicality, posed by the new régulations governing home care
workers as implemented by the U.S. Department of Labor, as well as by DOL’s new
guidance regarding when a state Medicaid program is considered a joint employer for
purposes of the Fair Labor Standards Act. DHS is cognizant of these concerns and
recognizes the difficulties these new federal regulations impose. In considering changes
to the Alternatives for Adults with Physical Disabilities (AAPD) Medicaid policy, DHS
reviewed all options available for compliance with the DOL regulations and determined
that these policy modifications were the most appropriate remedy.
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Please note that the individual client plan of care will not be affected by this change. The
change only impacts clients who consumer direct and receive more than 40 hours of
attendant care service on their Plan of Care. These clients will need to make other
arrangements for services above 40 hours per week. Many clients currently employ more
than one worker. In addition, clients routinely identify backup providers and will likely
use a backup provider (either a consumer directed provider or an agency provider) for
those instances. DAAS is prepared to address hardships on a case by case basis to ensure
that client health and welfare is not jeopardized and that clients are not placed af risk of
institutionalizatior.

CMS has already advised states that federal Medicaid funds may not be used to pay
overtime expenses incurred because of these new rules.

Stephen Copley, Chair
Arkansas Interfaith Committee for Worker Justice

COMMENT: Iam writing to express the Arkansas Interfaith Committee for Worker
Justice's concern about the proposal by the Division of Medical Services of the Arkansas
Department of Human Services to cap hours for personal assistants in the Alternatives for
Adults with Physical Disabilities Waiver (AAPD) program at no more than 40 hours per
week, without exception, in order to avoid the cost of overtime compensation, and to
limit each worker to providing services to only one consumer per day to avoid
compensating workers for travel time.

As people of faith, we are concerned about this response to new U.S. Department of
Labor regulations under the federal Fair Labor Standards Act. We believe this action will
harm both consumers and workers. It is essential that home care aides be granted the
same wage and hour protections that the majority of U.S. workers already receive.

In addition to maintaining the wages of home care aides, it is a necessary service to
consumers. But, without adequate pay, there may not be the number of home care aides
needed to care for those who need long-term services and supports (LTSS). Today, more
than 150,000 Arkansans need LTSS. This number will jump by 50 percent by 2030 and
80 percent by 2060. The vast maj onty of these individuals prefer to receive LTSS in their
homes.

The Interfaith Committee for Worker Justice would ask you to reconsider the approach
being considered and instead budget for sufficient funds to pay overtime compensation to
attendants in this program : e

RESPONSE Your letter of November 26, 2014, outhnes the many challenges, in terms
of both policy and practicality, posed by the new regulations goveming home care
workers as implemented by the U.S. Department of Labor, as well as by DOL’s new
guidance regarding when a state Medicaid program is considered a joint employer for
purposes of the Fair Labor Standards Act. DHS is cognizant of these concerns and
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recognizes the difficulties these new federal regulations impose. In considering changes
to the Alternatives for Adults with Physical Disabilities (AAPD) Medicaid policy, DHS
reviewed all options available for compliance with the DOL regulations and determined
that these policy modifications were the most appropriate remedy.

Please note that the individual client plan of care will not be affected by this change. The
change only impacts clients who consumer direct and receive more than 40 hours of
attendant care service on their Plan of Care. These clients will need to make other
arrangements for services above 40 hours per week. Many clients currently employ more
than one worker. In addition, clients routinely identify backup providers and will likely
use a backup provider (either a consumer directed provider or an agency provider) for
those instances. DAAS is prepared to address hardships on a case by case basis to ensure
that client health and welfare is not jeopardized and that clients are not placed at risk of
institutionalization.

CMS has already advised states that federal Medicaid funds may not be used to pay
overtime expenses incurred because of these new rules.

Svlvia Tolleson

COMMENT: I am writing to comment on the proposed rule to limit home health aides
as discussed in the Arkansas Democrat Gazette of November 28, 2014.

As a senior citizen who has needed the services of Home Health several times after a
surgical hospitalization, I can't say enough about what a lifesaver they have been. It would
have been impossible to make it without them. They deserve FAR more than minimum
wage. There were trained, licensed nurses and therapists that came to help me get back on
my feet.

As to your Ms. Kate Luck who seems to be unable to verify travel - ever heard of a map,
or Google Maps or Mapquest??? That is the most ridiculous part of the article. There are
MANY ways of calculating mileage and travel times. FedX and UPS seem to have no
problem doing that -but then, they are not run by the government, they have to actually

~ turn a profit.-

I'm sure the present economy is proving difficult for many agencies, but there has to be
another way to solve this. We CANNOT do without home health aides, and THAT is
what will happen if this proposed rule change goes through.

RESPONSE: We have reviewed your comments and understand your concerns related
to Home Health aides. Contrary to the newspaper article, the proposed changes do not
affect home health aides in general. Instead, the proposed changes apply only to consumer
directed providers and not home health aides such as those you reference in your
comment. In considering changes to AAPD Medicaid policy, DHS reviewed all options
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available for compliance with the DOL regulations and determined that these policy
modifications were the most appropriate remedy. '

The effective date for the final rule was J anuary 1, 2015.

CONTROVERSY: This rule is expected to be controversial. This change will impact
attendant care service providers who have been working up to 56 hours per week and/or
with more than one beneficiary per day. Some beneficiaries may now need to receive
services from more than one provider. '

FINANCIAL IMPACT: These rule changes have no financial impact because the rule
is updating the provider manual to set the new maximum amount of workable hours for
Consumer Directed Providers. These changes do not affect beneficiary benefit limits.

LEGAL AUTHORIZATION: Ark. Code Ann. § 20-76-201 authorizes the Department
of Human Services to administer programs for the indigent and to "make rules and
regulations" pertaining to the administration of those programs. Ark. Code Ann. § 20-77-
107 specifically authorizes the Department to "establish and maintain an indigent medical
care program.”

Ark. Code Ann. § 25-10-129 directs the Department to promulgate rules to conform to
federal law that affects “programs administered or funded by or through the department”
as necessary to receive available federal funds.

29 CFR § 552 contains the federal regulatory structure for the application of the federal
Fair Labor Standards Act (FLSA) as it relates to domestic service. In 78 FR 60454, the
federal regulations were amended to narrow the definition of “companionship services”,
which are exempt from the FLSA’s minimum wage and overtime provisions, so that more
domestic service workers are protected under the FLSA.
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QUESTIONNAIRE FOR FILING PROPOSED RULES AND REGULATIONS
WITH THE ARKANSAS LEGISLATIVE COUNCIL AND JOINT INTERIM COMMITTEE

DEPARTMENT/AGENC
Y Department of Human Services
DIVISION Division of Medical Services
DIVISION DPIRECTOR Dawn Stehle
CONTACT PERSON Camille Johnson
" . PO Box 1437, Slot S295, Little
.ADDRESS Rock, AR 72203

Camille.Johnson@
PHONE NO. 501-320-6466 FAXNO. 501-404-4619 E-MAIL dhs.arkansas.gov

NAM_E OF PRESENTER AT COMMITTEE MEETING _ Krista Hughes

PRESENTER E-MAIL _Krista. Hughes@dhs.arkansas.gov

INSTRUCTIONS

Please make copies of this form for future use,

Please answer each question completely using layman terms. You may use additional sheets, if
necessary.

If you have a method of indexing your rules, please give the proposed citation after “Short Title of
this Rule” below.

Submit two (2) copies of this questionnaire and financial impact statement attached to the front of
two (2) copies of the proposed rule and required documents. Mail or deliver to:

T 0 Ry

Donna K. Davis

Administrative Rules Review Section
Arkansas Legislative Council
Bureau of Legislative Research

One Capitol Mall, 5 Floor

Little Rock, AR 72201

*********************************************************************************

1. What is the short title of this  Altematives for Adults with Physical Disabilities (AAPD) Waiver #4-
rule? 14

2. What is the subject of the proposed

rule? Provider attendant care services benefit limit
3. Is this rule required to comply with a federal statute, rule, or regulation? Yes No []

If yes, please provide the federal rule, regulation, and/or statute citation. 78 FR 60454

4. Was this rule filed under the emergency provisions of the Administrative . -
Procedure Act? . _ Yes ] No X
If yes, what is the effective date of the emergency
rule?

When does the emergency rule




expire?

—

Will this emergency rule be promulgated under the permanent provisions
of the Administrative Procedure Act? Yes[ ] No []

5. Is this a new rule? Yes[ | No
If ves, please provide a brief summary explaining the regulation.

Does this repeal an existing rule? Yes [ | No X '
If yes, a copy of the repealed rule is to be included W1th your completed questionnaire. Ifitis bemg

- replaced with a new rule, please provide a summary of the rule giving an explanation of what the rule
does.

Is this an amendment'to an existing

rule? "~ Yes No []
If yes, please attach a mark-up showing the changes in the existing rule and a summary of the
substantive changes. Note: The summary should explain what the amendment does, and the
mark-up copy should be clearly labeled “mark-up.”

6. Cite the state law that grants the authority for this proposed rule? If codified, please give the Arkansas
Code citation. Arkansas Statute 20-76-201 _

7. What is the purpose of this proposed rule? Why is it necessary? Effective January 1, 2015, Arkansas
Medicaid proposes to update the Alfernatives for Adults with Physical Disabilities (AAPD) Waiver
Provider Manual to change the number of hours that an attendant care service provider is allowed to
work. An individual provider may not work for more than 40 hours per week. An individual provider may

work for only one beneficiary during a single day. Established benefit limits will remain the same for each
beneficiary (up to 56 honrs per week, based on the beneficiary’s approved Plan of Care). This regulation
change is necessary to comply with the Department of Labor-Fair Labor Standards Act (DOL-FL.SA)
regulation eliminating the companionship services exemption from minimum wage and overtime.

8. Please provide the address where this rule is publicly accessible in electronic form via the Internet as
required by Arkansas Code § 25-19-108(b).
hitps://www.medicaid.state.ar.us/InternetSolution/general/comment/comment.aspx

9. Willa public hearing be held on this proposed

rule? . Yes [] No
If yes, please complete the following: '
Date: ' |
Time:
Place:' ‘

10. When does the public éommenjc period expire for permanent promulgation? (Must provide a date.)
November 29, 2014

11. What is the proposed effective date of this proposed rule? (Must provide a date.)



January 1, 2015

12. Do you expect this rule to be controversial? Yes No[ ] -
This change will impact attendant care service providers who have been working up
If yes, please to 536 hours per week and/or with more than one beneficiary per day. Some
explain. beneficiaries may now need fo receive services from more than one provider.

13. Please give the names of persons,,groups, or organizations that you expect to comment on these rules?
Please provide their position (for or against) if known.
Attendant care service providers, beneficiaries and advocacy organizations. Their positions for or against

this change is not known at this time.




FINANCIAL IMPACT STATEMENT

PLEASE ANSWER ALL QUESTIONS COMPLETELY

DEPARTMENT Department of Human Services
DIVISION Division of Medical Services
PERSON COMPLETING THIS STATEMENT Lynn Burton

TELEPHONE NO. 682-1857 . FAXNO. 404-4619 EMAIL: Lynn.burton@dhs.arkansas.gov

To comply with Ark. Code Ann. § 25-15-204(e), please complete the following Financial Impact
Statement and file two copies with the questionnaire and proposed rules.

'SHORT TITLE OF THIS Alternatives for Adults with Physmal Disabilities (AAPD)
RULE Waiver #4-14
1. Does this proposed, amended, or repealed rule have a financial impact?  Yes || No X

2. Isthe rule based on the best reasonably obtainable scientific, technical,
economic, or other evidence and information available concerning the
need for, consequences of, and alternatives to the rule? Yes No[ ]

3. In consideration of the alternatives to this rule, was this rule determined
by the agency to be the least costly rule considered? Yes No [}

If an agency is proposing a more costly rule, please state the following:

(a) How the additional benefits of the more costly rule justify its additional cost;

(b) The reason for adoption of the more costly rule;

(c) Whether the more costly rule is based on the interests of public health, safety, or welfare, and
if so, please explain; and;

(d) Whether the reason is within the scope of the agency’s statutory authority; and if so, please
explain. )

4. Ifthe purpose of this rule is to implement a federal rule or regulation, please state the following:

() What is the cost to implement the federal rule or regulation?

Current Fiscal Year .Next Fiscal Year
General General Revenue
Revenue

- Federal Funds Federal Funds
Cash Funds Cash Funds
Special Revenue : Special Revenue

Other (Identify) s Other (Identify)




Total ' ' Total

(b) What is the additional cost of the state rule?

Current Fisecal Year - Next Fiscal Year
General Revenue General Revenue
Federal Funds Federal Funds
Cash Funds Cash Funds
Special Revenue Special Revenue -
Other (Identify) _ Other (Identify)
Total . Total

5. 'What is the total estimated cost by fiscal year to any private individual, entity and business subject to the
- proposed, amended, or repealed rule? Identify the entity(ies) subject to the proposed rule and explain how
they are affected.

Current _Fiscal Yt';ar Next Fiscal Year

$ $

6. What is the total estimated cost by fiscal year to state, county, and municipal government to implement this
rule? Is this the cost of the program or grant? Please explain how the government is affected.

Current Fiscal Year ) Next Fiseal Year

$ 0 $ 0
This rule changes has no financial impact because the rule is updating the provider manual to set the new
maximum amount of workable hours for Consumer Directed Providers. This change does not affect beneficiary

benefit limits.

7. With respect to the agency’s answers to Questions #5 and #6 above, is there a new or increased cost
or obligation of at least one hundred thousand dollars ($100,000) per year to a private individual,
private entity, private business, state government, county government, municipal government, or to
two (2) or more of those entities combined?

Yes{ ] - No[X

If YES, the agency is required by Ark. Code Ann. § 25-15-204(e)(4) to file written findings at the
time of filing the financial impact statement. The written findings shall be filed simultaneously.
with the financial impact statement and shall include, without limitation, the following:

(1) a statement of the rule’s basis and purpose;

(2) the problem the agency seeks to address with the proposed rule, including a statement of whether
artule is required by statute; '



(3) a description of the factual evidence that:
(a) justifies the agency’s need for the proposed rule; and
(b) describes how the benefits of the rule meet the relevant statutory objectives and justify
the rule’s costs;

(4) a list of less costly alternatives to the proposed rule and the reasons why the alternatives do not
adequately address the problem to be solved by the proposed rule;

(5) alist of alternatives to the proposed rule that were suggested as a result of public comment and
the reasons why the alternatives do not adequately address the problem to be solved by the
proposed rule;

(6) a statement of whether existing rules have created or contributed to the problem the agency seeks
to address with the proposed rule and, if existing rules have created or contributed to the
problem, an explanation of why amendment or repeal of the rule creating or contributing to the
problem is not a sufficient response; and

(7) an agency plan for review of the rule no less than every ten (10) years to determine whether,
based upon the evidence, there remains a need for the rule including, without limitation,
whether:

(a) the rule is achieving the statutory objectives;
~(b) the benefits of the rule continue to justify its costs; and
(c) the rule can be amended or repealed to reduce costs while continuing to achieve the
statutory objectives.



Marl AP

Alternatives for Adults with Physical Disabilities Waiver - Section It
TOC not required
213.220 Benefit Limit Consumer-Directed Attendant Care 1-1-153

One unit of consumer-directed attendant 'caré‘service equals a full 15 minutes. The established
benefit limit for Alternatives Attendant Care Service is 11,648 units per state fiscal year.
Services are reimbursable when provided according fo the beneficiary's approved Plan of Care.

A maximum of 8 hours per day, 7 days per week is allowed, except thai an individual provider
may not work for more than 40 hours per week. An individual provider may work for only one
beneficiary during a single day. The number of hours included on a beneficiary’s Plan of Care is
based on a medical assessment, the individual's needs and other support systems in place.

242210  Billing Instructions for Agency and Consumer-Directed Attendant 1-1-153
Care Providers

The foilowing instructions must be read and carefully followed so that HP Enterprise Services
can efficiently process claims. Accuracy, completeness and clarity are important. Claims cannot
be processed if applicable information is not supplied or is'illegible. Claims should be typed
whenever possible.

Regardless of the date that Aftendant Care services begin for an Alternatives beneficiary,
Medicaid reimbursement is not allowed prior to the effective date of the Medicaid Provider
ldentification Number (PIN) as issued by the Medicaid fiscal agent, HP Enterprise Services.

NOTE: It is very important to submit a completed provider certification packet
immediately. Each packet must include all of the required documents, tax
forms and copies of identification as required for the individual service.
Packets received and processed will establish a provider’s eligibility as stated
in this manual. Provider eligibility will not begin prior to the first day of the
month that a correctly completed DAAS certification/Medicaid Attendant Care
provider enroliment packet is received by DAAS. Therefore, packets must not
he held and mailed in for processing at a later date.

For example, the waiver eligibility effective date for the Alternatives beneficiary
is 1-15-07. The Attendant Care provider and the Alternatives beneficiary
signed the Alternatives Attendant Care Service Agreement (AAS-9512) on 1-20-
07. A correctly completed DAAS certification/Medicaid Attendant Care
provider enroliment packet was received by DAAS on 2-10-07. Sérvices
provided on or after 2-1-07 will be eligible for reimbursement. v

» The Attendant Care Service Agreement (AAS-9512) cannot be back dated.

+ Once signed and dated by the provider and the waiver beneficiary, the Attendant Care
Service Agreement (AAS-8512) must be postmarked within 14 calendar days of the
signatures on the agreement. .

s Prior to providing attendant care services, the provider must be certified by DAAS,
possess an active Medicaid PIN issued on behalf of the Arkansas Medicaid Program and
have a copy of the employer/beneficiary’s current Plan of Care provided by the DAAS
Rehab Counselor or RN. ' '

Medicaid may be billed only for the amount of services authorized in the Alternatives Plan of
Care and only for what the Attendant Care provider has actually provided. MEDICAID CANNOT
BE BILLED FOR FUTURE DATES OF SERVICE. Anindividual provider may not work for more
than 40 hours per week. An individual provider may work for only one beneficiary during a single
day. '

Following is the address and telephone number for the HP Enterprise Services Provider
Enroliment Unit in the event there are questions about a PIN number:




Alternatives for Adults with Physical Disabilities Waiver Section ll

HP Enterprise Services

Provider Enroliment Unit

PO Box 8105

Litfle Rock, AR 72203-8105

(501} 376-2211 or 1-800-457-4454

Following is the address and telephone number for the HP Enterprise Services Provider
Assistance Center in the event there are questions about a claim:

HP Enterprise Services

Provider Assistance Center

PO Box 8036

Little Rock, AR 72203-8036

(501) 376-2211 or 1-800-457-4454

If an Attendant Care provider quits working for an Alternatives beneficiary, the DAAS
RN/Counselor must be notified immediately in writing, citing the last day of employment.

242.311 Consumer-Directed Attendant Care Services 1-1-153

When filing paper claims for Consumer-Directed Attendant Care, Form AAS-9559 must be used.
Billing will be monitored to ensure compliance with the waiver Plan of Care. All billing will be
reviewed based on the number of units authorized per week, Sunday through Saturday. When
computing units, the provider must bilt no more than the number of units authorized per week
beginning on Sunday._The Consumer Directed Provider is limited to 40 hours of work per week.
All reviews are conducted based on the number of units billed Sunday through Saturday each
week. Units billed outside this timeframe and over the number of authorized units are subject to
recoupment. -

Regardless of the number of waiver beneficiaries for whom an Attendant Care provider works,
no more than 42-hours-perday-40 hours per week are eligible for reimbursement consideration
by the Arkansas Medicaid program. in addition, if an Attendant Care provider is employed by
another waiver beneficiary OR another employer, all hours of employment will be considered
when authorizing Attendant Care services for a waiver beneficiary. No more than a total of 42

hours/day4Q hours per week including ALL employment, will be allowed for an Attendant Care
provider.

Regardless of the number of providers a waiver beneficiary hires, no more hours than authorized
on the waiver Plan of Care are eligible for, reimbursement consideration by the Arkansas
Medicaid ‘Program._The Consumer Directed Provider is limited to provision of services to ohe
client per day.




Summary
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Effective January 1, 2015, Arkansas Medicaid proposes to update the Alternatives for Adults with
Physical Disabilities (AAPD) Waiver Provider Manual to change the number of hours that an
attendant care service provider is allowed to work. An individual provider may not work for more
than 40 hours per week. An individual provider may work for only one beneficiary during a single
day. Established benefit limits will remain the same for each beneficiary (up to 56 hours per week,
based on the beneficiary’s approved Plan of Care). This regulation change is necessary to comply
with the Department of Labor-Fair Labor Standards Act (DOL-FLSA) regulation eliminating the
companionship services exemption from minimum wage and overtime.






