DEPARTMENT OF HEALTH

SUBJECT: Arkansas State Board of Massage Therapy

DESCRIPTION: Act 1020 of 2015 requires the State Board of Massage Therapy to
approve a curriculum for post-secondary massage therapy schools. Specifically, post-
secondary schools will be required to enroll only students with a high school diploma or
the equivalent, provide 600 hours of approved curriculum, and adopt a complaint process
equal to the one provided for in the current Board of Massage Therapy Rules.

Schools may obtain dual licensure, if they also enroll students who do not have a high
school diploma or the equivalent, but they must have a process in place to ensure that
only students with a high school diploma or the equivalent are enrolled in the post-

secondary school and receive Title VI funds.

PUBLIC COMMENT: A public hearing was held on August 24, 2015. The public
comment period expired on August 24, 2015. The Department reccived the following

comments and provided the following responses:

Comment

Response

Responses to written comments from Brenda Midkiff received August 18, 2015, and oral

comments from George Hrenchir received August 24, 20135:

1. The proposed changes to the ASBMT Rules & Regulations
for adoption of post-secondary massage school classification
is an unfortunate example of the current massage therapy
board's approach to policy. Rather than examine the
document in full, and compare and contrast approaches to
more readily delineate the document in a legible and concise
mannet, it appears that the editor for the proposed changes
simply used a find and replace word processing function
which increased the overall size of the Rules and Regulations
by three pages without clarifying. Rather than the
unnecessary wording throughout the document, we propose
the following changes:

O Article 1, 12. Massage school as used throughout this document
includes, unless otherwise indicated, both Massage Therapy Schools
and Post-Secondary Massage Therapy Schools.

O Ariicle 1, 13. Massage Therapy School means a registered and
licensed facility that meets and follows the required educational
standards as established by 17-86-306 and all pertinent rules and
regulations.

O Article 1, 14. Post-Secondary Massage Therapy School means
massage therapy school that offers a posi-secondary curriculum
approved by the State Board of Health and whose enrollment is
made up of only students with a high school diploma or its

Will use the word
“school” in Article Seven
to apply to both massage
therapy schools and
postsecondary massage
therapy schools, unless
otherwise indicated.
Other areas will not be
changed because they do
not apply to both types of
schools.

The Definitions as
proposed meet the USDE
requirements, We will
leave them as proposed at
this time.




Comment

Response

equivalent.
With the proposed change in definitions, there is no need to
change Article 2 with the addition of paragraph 9. Article 8
outlines applicants as being considered after completion of a
minimum of 500 hours of education, which does not change.
Completion of 500 hours of education still meets qualification
standards for Arkansas licensure, and completion of a post-
secondary program instead of a minimum requirement program
does not change the licensing process.

2.

With the proposed change in definitions, there is no need to
change Article 2 with the addition of paragraph 9. Article 8
outlines applicants as being considered after completion of a
minimum of 500 hours of education, which does not change.
Completion of 500 hours of education still meets
qualification standards for Arkansas licensure, and
completion of a post-secondary program instcad of a
minimum requirement program does not change the licensing
process.

Federal Government
regulations require the
state licensing agency to
outline a licensing
process that includes
federal requirements.
This is needed to ensure
Title IV funding for
Schools who wish to
receive it.

3.

Additionally, there is no need for the inclusion of
proposed Article 5.5.c.3. The inclusion as written implies
that someone may qualify as a continuing education
provider by completing specialized training, attaining
instructor credentials in a special skill, have two years of
experience, and who graduated from both a 500 hour
massage therapy program and a 600 hour massage therapy
program, This means the person attempting to attain
instructor recognition does not need to hold a current
massage therapy license, bachelor's degree or higher, nor
do they have to present evidence of training to qualify their
expertise There is not a need to add the post-secondary
school definition, as long as Article 5.5.¢.2 is changed to:

O 2. Graduated from a massage school or one which has
a comparable in-classroom hours curriculum;

The Rule Amendment
does not add a new
requirement; it only adds
another option for
fulfilling the requirement
of two of the criteria
listed in (c).

4,

The significant changes to Article 7 are unnecessary save the
addition of paragraph 6 and paragraph 11.

Paragraph 6 should read: Any massage school wishing to
teach both secondary and post-secondary students shall
obtain both a license for a Massage Therapy School and a
Post-Secondary Massage Therapy School. The school shall

Changed the Title of
Article Seven and added
the note referenced
above. This change is not
considered substantive as
it only changes the




Comment

Response

also provide a procedure by which it will ensure that only
students with a high school diploma or the equivalent are
enrolled in the postsecondary school. The inclusion of
defining receipt of Title IV funds is moot, as to receive those
funds the student must be enrolled in a post-secondary
program, which is covered as written above.

Paragraph 11 is adequate as written within the ASBMT
changes.

terminology used, not the
meaning of the Rule.
Otherwise, the language
addressed in this
comment is required by
the Federal Government.

Licensed schools in other
programs administered by
ADH have expressed an
interest in having dual
enrollment for their
programs. It was felt that
Massage Therapy
Schools would also like
that option.

Response to a written comment from Jean Robinson received August 1

9, 2015:

1.

Concern of definition of Postsecondary Massage Therapy
School, concern for setting standards for two different types
of schools “massage therapy schools” and “postsecondary
massage therapy schools”, concerns for 600 hour requirement
by postsecondary schools.

The new language is
required by the Federal
Government and Act
1020 of 2015.

Responses to verbal comments from Audra Findley received August 24, 2015:

1.

What is the purpose of dual license?

It Allow schools to offer
dual enrollment of
students (those with
Federal Funding and
those without).

2.

Definition of massage therapy school and postsecondary
massage therapy school:

The new language is
required by the Federal
Government and Act
1020 of 2015.




Comment

Response

Responses to written comments from Sybil Davis received August 24, 2015:

1. Article Three 1. Complaint Committee make-up, 4
and 5 misuse, neglected and abused.

Does not apply to this
Rule Revision; will be
addressed by later rule
amendments.

2, Article Four — state funding needed for testing instead of
nonprofit organization

Does not apply to this
Rule Revision; will be
addressed by later rule
amendments.

3. Article Five Continuing Education- should be anything
related to health and additional information with health and

Does not apply to this
Rule Revision; will be

wellness. addressed by later rule
amendments.
4. Article 7- 24: 75 % pass/fail rate not believable and not Does not apply to this

reliable and 38. a. guest instructors rule should be null and
void.

Rule Revision; will be
addressed by later rule
amendments.

The proposed effective date is pending legislative approval.

CONTROVERSY: This is not expected to be controversial.

FINANCIAL IMPACT: There is no financial impact.

LEGAL AUTHORIZATION:

THIS RULE ENACTS ACT 1020 OF 2015. The Act establishes the minimum standards

for postsecondary education in Schools of Massage. Additionally, the Act transfers all
the authority previously conferred to the State Board of Massage Therapy to the
Department of Health. Specifically, the Act gives the Department the authority to

promulgate and enforce reasonable rules regarding secondary and postsecondary massage

therapy schools.




QUESTIONNAIRE FOR FILING PROPOSED RULES AND REGULATIONS
WITH THE ARKANSAS LEGISLATIVE COUNCIL AND JOINT INTERIM COMMITTEE

DEPARTMENT/AGENCY Arkansas Department of Health

DIVISION Health Systems Licensing and Regulation
DIVISION DIRECTOR Renee Mallory

CONTACT PERSON Renee Mallory

ADDRESS 4815 West Markham, Little Rock, ARE72205

PHONE NO. 501-661-2518 FAXNO. 501-661-2055 MAIL  renee.mallory@arkansas.gov

NAME OF PRESENTER AT COMMITTEE
MEETING Robert Brech

PRESENTER E-MAIL. robert.brech@arkansas.gov

INSTRUCTIONS

Please make copies of this form for future use.

Please answer each question completely using layman terms. You may use additional sheets, if
necessary.

If you have a method of indexing your rules, please give the proposed citation after “Short Title of
this Rule” below.

Submit two (2) copies of this questionnaire and financial impact statement attached to the front of
two (2) copies of the proposed rule and required documents. Mail or deliver to:

= P

*

e

Donna K. Davis

Administrative Rules Review Section
Arkansas Legislative Council
Bureau of Legislative Research

One Capitol Mall, 5™ Floor

Little Rock, AR 72201
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1. What is the short title of this Rules and Regulations of the Arkansas State Board of Massage
rule? Therapy

2. What is the subject of the proposed To establish minimum standards for postsecondary education in
rule? Massage Therapy Schools.

3. Is this rule required to comply with a federal statute, rule, or regulation? Yes [X] No []
If yes, please provide the federal rule, regulation, and/or statute citation. 34 C.F.R. 600.9

4. Was this rule filed under the emergency provisions of the Administrative

Procedure Act? Yes No []
If yes, what is the effective date of the emergency
rule? June 29, 2015 (federal deadline of July 1, 2015)

When does the emergency rule
expire? October 27, 2015




Will this emergency rule be promulgated under the permanent
provisions of the Administrative Procedure Act? Yes [X] No ]

5. Is this a new rule? Yes[] No
If yes, please provide a brief summary explaining the regulation.

Does this repeal an existing rule? Yes[ ] No

If yes, a copy of the repealed rule is to be included with your completed questionnaire. If it is being
replaced with a new rule, please provide a summary of the rule giving an explanation of what the rule
does.

Is this an amendment to an existing

rule? Yes Nol |
If yes, please attach a mark-up showing the changes in the existing rule and a summary of the substantive
changes. Note: The summary should explain what the amendment does, and the mark-up copy
should be clearly labeled “mark-up.”

6. Cite the state law that grants the authority for this proposed rule? If codified, please give the Arkansas
Code citation. Act 1020 of 2015, § 18, codified at A.C.A. § 17-86-306

7. What is the purpose of this proposed rule? Why is it necessary? To establish minimum standards for
postsecondary education in Schools of Massage.

8. Please provide the address where this rule is publicly accessible in electronic form via the Internet as
required by Arkansas Code § 25-19-108(b). www.healthy.arkansas.cov &

www.arkansasmassagetherap y.com

9. Will a public hearing be held on this proposed rule? Yes No [_]
If yes, please complete the following:
Date: August 24, 2015

Time: 10:00 a.m.
5800 West 10" Street, Room 801,
Place: Little Rock, Arkansas

10. When does the public comment period expire for permanent promulgation? (Must provide a date.)
August 24, 2015, at 4:30 p.m.

11. What is the proposed effective date of this proposed rule? (Must provide a date.)
October 15, 2015

12. Do you expect this rule to be controversial?  Yes[ ] No [X]
If yes, please
explain.



FINANCIAL IMPACT STATEMENT

PLEASE ANSWER ALL QUESTIONS COMPLETELY

DEPARTMENT Arkansas Department of Health

DIVISION Health Systems Licensing and Regulation

PERSON COMPLETING THIS STATEMENT Renec Mallory

TELEPHONE NO. 501-661-2518 FAX NO. 501-661-2055 EMAIL: rence.mallory@arkansas.gov

To comply with Ark. Code Ann. § 25-15-204(e), please complete the following Financial Impact
Statement and file two copies with the questionnaire and proposed rules.

SHORT TITLE OF THIS RULE Rules and Regulations of the State Board of Massage Therapy

1. Does this proposed, amended, or repealed rule have a financial impact? Yes ] No
2. Is the rule based on the best reasonably obtainable scientific, technical,

economic, or other evidence and information available concerning the

need for, consequences of, and alternatives to the rule? Yes [X] No [ ]

3. In consideration of the alternatives to this rule, was this rule determined by
the agency to be the least costly rule considered? Yes No []

If an agency is proposing a more costly rule, please state the following:

(a) How the additional benefits of the more costly rule justify its additional cost;

(b) The reason for adoption of the more costly rule;

(c) Whether the more costly rule is based on the interests of public health, safety, or welfare, and
if so, please explain; and;

(d) Whether the reason is within the scope of the agency’s statutory authority; and if so, please
explain.

4. 1f the purpose of this rule is to implement a federal rule or regulation, please state the following;:

(a) What is the cost to implement the federal rule or regulation?

Current Fiscal Year Next Fiscal Year

General Revenue 0 General Revenue 0
Federal Funds 0 Federal Funds 0
Cash Funds 0 Cash Funds 0
Special Revenue 0 Special Revenue = 0
Other (Identify) 0 Other (Identity) 0




Total 0 Total 0

(b) What is the additional cost of the state rule?

Current Fiscal Year Next Fiscal Year

General Revenue General Revenue 0
Federal Funds 0 Federal Funds 0
Cash Funds 0 Cash Funds 0
Special Revenue 0 Special Revenue 0
Other (Identify) 0 Other (Identify) 0
Total 0 Total 0

5. What is the total estimated cost by fiscal year to any private individual, entity and business subject to
the proposed, amended, or repealed rule? Identify the entity(ies) subject to the proposed rule and
explain how they are affected.

Current Fiscal Year Next Fiscal Year

$ 0 $ 0

6. What is the total estimated cost by fiscal year to state, county, and municipal government to
implement this rule? Is this the cost of the program or grant? Please explain how the government is

affected.
Current Fiscal Year Next Fiscal Year
$ 0 $ 0

7. With respect to the agency’s answers to Questions #5 and #6 above, is there a new or increased cost
or obligation of at least one hundred thousand dollars ($100,000) per year to a private individual,
private entity, private business, state government, county government, municipal government, or to
two (2) or more of those entities combined?

Yes [] No [X]

If YES, the agency is required by Ark. Code Ann. § 25-15-204(e)(4) to file written findings at the
time of filing the financial impact statement. The written findings shail be filed simultaneously
with the financial impact statement and shall include, without limitation, the following:

(1) a statement of the rule’s basis and purpose;

(2) the problem the agency seeks to address with the proposed rule, including a statement of whether
arule is required by statute;

(3) a description of the factual evidence that:
(a) justifies the agency’s need for the proposed rule; and



(b) describes how the benefits of the rule meet the relevant statutory objectives and justify
the rule’s costs;

(4) a list of less costly alternatives to the proposed rule and the reasons why the alternatives do not
adequately address the problem to be solved by the proposed rule;

(5) alist of alternatives to the proposed rule that were suggested as a result of public comment and
the reasons why the alternatives do not adequately address the problem to be solved by the
proposed rule;

(6) a statement of whether existing rules have created or contributed to the problem the agency seeks
to address with the proposed rule and, if existing rules have created or contributed to the
problem, an explanation of why amendment or repeal of the rule creating or contributing to the
problem 1is not a sufficient response; and

(7) an agency plan for review of the rule no less than every ten (10) years to determine whether,
based upon the evidence, there remains a need for the rule including, without limitation,
whether:

(a) the rule is achieving the statutory objectives;

(b) the benefits of the rule continue to justify its costs; and

(c) the rule can be amended or repealed to reduce costs while continuing to achieve the
statutory objectives.



