EXHIBIT I

DEPARTMENT OF HEALTH

SUBJECT: Rules and Regulations for Cosmetology in Arkansas

DESCRIPTION: Revision to the Rules and Regulations for Cosmetology in Arkansas
include updates to antiquated language and reformatting to make the rules easier to read.

The revision also includes new language regarding inspections to allow timing
flexibility by the agency and also addresses processes for those with multiple repeat
violations.

The revision includes new language for change of ownership and name change
processes, standards for cleaning, disinfecting and sterilization, course instruction and
content standards, requirement to protect the privacy of client medical information
received by licensees prior to performing a treatment, scope of treatment allowed by
licensed cosmetologist and aesthetician, and additional clarifications regarding physical
facilities and equipment.

PUBLIC COMMENT: Public hearings were held on September 14, 2015 and
December 10, 2015. The public comment period expired on December 10, 2015. The
Department received the following comments:

COMMENT: Gabriel Black; .

I have reviewed the revisions posted online and would like to comment on the revisions
concerning reciprocity. It has become increasingly difficult to find licensed
cosmetologists in our area. The cost and length of time of the reciprocation process has
all but completely stagnated our results. The majority of the delays are in the time of
release and transfer of records from the Texas Cosmetology Board with the additional
process of scheduling and completing the Arkansas Law Examination. Together these
make the process into not only week-long but in some cases month-long endeavors for
our applicants and are usually enough to deter them from seeking employment with our
salon. I am writing to you in hopes to make you aware of the seriousness of our situation
and how we believe that some change, adjustment, or simplification of the rules and
regulations could not only be beneficial but a necessity to our survival and the
development of cosmetology in this part of the state. Considering Sur unique position
would it be possible to include a streamlining of the process or perhaps a bi-state
consideration to give some relief to the process of attracting cosmetologist to attain an
Arkansas Cosmetology License in Texarkana, AR? Please give us any consideration that
you can it would be greatly appreciated. Are there any steps or requirements on my part
that I can do to help with this also?

RESPONSE: The reciprocity requirements are set forth in the Cosmetology Act, Ark.
Code Ann. § 17-26-315. To change these requirements in the Regulations, there must be
a change in the Statute first.



COMMENT: Tracy Akard,

After reviewing the rules and regs, [ have a concern: Pg 10 Rule 4 section A; The
removal of the sentence. Certified hours mean that tuition has either been paid in full or
the person has signed a promissory note that is acceptable to the school. I understand the
sentence prior to that states that hours must be certified to be eligible for the examination.
However, I was in a court case where a student owed me $6000 at 1200 hours. I have
hours must be paid to certified hours in my contract, in my catalog, etc. BUT the judge
told us after looking up the rules and regs from Arkansas state board of health; we did
apply the law in implementing that regulations at our school. It is very important. I have
enclosed a copy of this case to show the validity of what I as saying. I am going to stand
firm on requesting we don't strike that language!!

RESPONSE: Based on the comments received, this language is being added back into
the Rule. This is not a substantive change, as it only clarifies what a “certified hour” is
under the Regulations.

COMMENT: Carla Jones:

I received an email from Tracy Akard concerning the striking of the language of RULE
NO. 4 EXAMINATIONS. In the Rule (4.1) A. It states that: Certified hours mean that
tuition has either been paid in full or the person has signed a promissory note that is
acceptable to the school. Tracy along with other school owners are concemned because
this language better serves them as a school owner when students do not or will not pay
tuition owed or sign a promissory note and they end up in court. My question is what if
anything, can the school owners do in order to have this language remain in the rules and
regulations? '

RESPONSE: Same as Response to Tracy Akard.

COMMENT: Kevin Vickners:
1. Medical Rules and Regulation 22

2. Change Rule 11 pertaining to aestheticians to be more directly related to the same
rules as Arkansas medical board- if you are an aesthetician and you plan on
touching a laser on someone skin, keep in mind you are practicing medicine you
need a doctors order first, you need to work for a physician, you cannot do it on
your own or there will be consequence’s.

3. No fine listed for using lasers, a fine should be added to the scheduled fee.

4. Add language to Rule 1.3 stating inspections can be made
anywhere aestheticians are employed.

RESPONSE:



1. Does not apply to Rule Revision, as this regards the Rules of the State Medical
Board

2. The Rules and Regulations for Cosmetology are rules and regulations of the State
Board of Health. Pursuant to Ark, Code Ann, § 20-7-109, the Board of Health is
prohibited from regulated the practice of medicine. We cannot regulate
aestheticians working under physicians.

3, There are statutory fines set forth for the violation of any rule and regulation, they
are up to $1000 per violation per day. These provisions can be relied on if there
are no more specific fines listed in the regulation.

4, There are already provisions requiring aestheticians who are not working under an
exemption provision to work in a licensed salon. These salons must be inspected.
However, as stated above, we cannot regulate the practice of medicine inside a
physician’s office or medical spa.

COMMENT: Drusella Johnson:
I would like something implemented in the manicurist about preforming aesthetic work.

RESPONSE: The Rules and Statute already prevent a manicurist from working outside
the scope of his or her license, which would include performing aesthetics work.

COMMENT: Jamie Hopson and Melissa Horton:

1. Stronger Laws for medical spas -Strengthen the aesthetic industry both with the
knowledge and reputation to where people aren’t doing things they are not
supposed to be doing, help with “medi-spas” using a doctors license when a
doctor is not on the premises, help with accreditation process like LPN and RN or
nurse practitioner, some sort of accreditation for years of service other than
someone right out of school.

2. Levels of Accreditation(Medical /Master Esthetician)

3. No mandatory CEU in the aesthetic industry, nowhere to go trainin  Arkansas.

4. Hours for Cosmo and esthetics- 100 hours in esthetic training for cosmetology
program is not adequate to be properly treating clients. And the Esthetics

curriculum 150 hours of skincare is insufficient,

5. Does permanent cosmetic go under Cosmetology, is it kind of like the medical
rules and regulations.

RESPONSE:
1. Please see responses above.



5.

This would require a statutory change to create a new licensure level.

This would require a statutory change to make CEU’s a requirement for renewal.
At this time, the curriculum is felt to be adequate and consistent with national
standards. However, we are constantly reevaluating the curriculum and will take

these comments under advisement.

Permanent cosmetics are regulated with Body Art.

COMMENT: Debbie McClure:

1. Why is it 50% for Post-secondary Schools of Cosmetology

2. On the inspector why is the 5 years’ experience being taken out
3. Rule 5 (4) Does valid license mean they have to have an instructor license.
RESPONSE:

1.

This is a typo. The previous rule change defined a post-secondary school as a
school that “offers a postsecondary curriculum approved by the Department of
Health and whose enrollment is made up of only students that have a high school
diploma or the equivalent.” The language will be changed to reflect that rule
revision.

This was discussed during Rule Committee meetings, and was omitted at industry
request.

This question does not apply to Rule Revision. Please contact the Cosmetology
Section for clarification of any Rules and Regulations.

COMMENT: Eugene Phillips:
I wanted to know but lifetime license and 50 doliar fee?

RESPONSE: This question does not apply to rule revision. Please contact the
Cosmetology Section for clarification of any Rules and Regulations.

Proposed effective date is March 1, 2016.

CONTROVERSY: This is not expected to be controversial.

FINANCIAL IMPACT: There is no financial impact.

LEGAL AUTHORIZATION:




Arkansas Code Annotated § 17-26-205 authorizes the Department of Health to implement
the State Board of Health'’s rules in governing the practice of cosmetology. Ark. Code
Ann. § 20-7-109 authorizes the State Board of Health to makes all necessary rules and
regulations regarding the protection of the public health and safety.

Ark. Code. Ann. § 17-26-209 authorizes the State Board of Health to create a fee
schedule and collect fees.






QUESTIONNAIRE FOR FILING PROPOSED RULES AND REGULATIONS
WITH THE ARKANSAS LEGISLATIVE COUNCIL, AND JOINT INTERIM COMMITTEE

DEPARTMENT/AGENCY _Arkansas Department of Health

DIVISION Health Systems Licensing and Regulation
DIVISION DIRECTOR Connie Melton

CONTACT PERSON Kelli Kersey

ADDRESS 4815 West Markham, Slot 8, Little ROEI(, AR 72205

PHONE NO. 501-682-2171 FAXNO, 501-682-5640 MAIL kellikersey@arkansas. g0V

NAME OF PRESENTER AT COMMITTEF.
MEETING Robert Brech

PRESENTER E-MAIL _robert.berch@arkansas.gov

INSTRUCTIONS

Please make copies of this form for future use.

Please answer each question completely using layman terms. You may use additional sheets, if
necessary.

If you have a method of indexing your rules, please give the proposed citation after “Short Title of
this Rule” below. -

Submit two (2) copies of this questionnaire and financial impact statement attached to the front of
two (2) copies of the proposed rule and required documents. Mail or deliver to:

¢ 0 wp

Donna K. Davis

Administrative Rules Review Section

Arkansas Legislative Council

Bureau of Legislative Research

One Capitol Mall, 5* Floor

Little Rock, AR 72201
*********************=!=***********************************************************

1. What is the short title of this
rule? Rules and Regulations for Cosmetology in Arkansas

2. What is the subject of the proposed Complete Rule Revision updating the Rules to industry
rule? practice.

3. Is this rule required to comply with a federal statute, rule, or regulation? Yes [ ] No [X]
If yes, please provide the federal rule, regulation, and/or statute citation.

4. Was this rule filed under the emergency provisions of the Administrative

Procedure Act? Yes[] -~ No
If yes, what is the effective date of the emergency
rule?

When does the emergency rule
expire? "




Will this emergency rule be promulgated under the permanent provisions
of the Administrative Procedure Act? Yes[ | No []

5. Isthis a new rule? Yes[ ] No
If yes, please provide a brief summary explaining the regulation.

Does this repeal an existing rule?  Yes[ | No

If yes, a copy of the repealed rule is to be included with your completed questionnaire. Ifit is being
replaced with a new rule, please provide a summary of the rule giving an explanation of what the rule
does.

Is this an amendment to an existing

rule? Yes No []
If yes, please attach a mark-up showing the changes in the existing rule and a summary of the
substantive changes. Note: The summary should explain what the amendment does, and the
mark-up copy should be clearly labeled “mark-up.”

6. Cite the state law that grants the authority for this proposed rule? If codified, please give the Arkansas
Code citation. Ark. Code Ann. §17-26-101 et seq.

7. What is the purpose of this proposed rule? Why is it necessary? Better clarification and understanding
of existing Rules and Regulations: update Rules to industry standards and practices. .

8. Please provide the address where this rule is publicly accessible in electronic form via the Internet as

required by Arkansas Code § 25-19-108(b). www.healthy arkansas.gov “ Rules and Regs” link:

www.sos.arkansas.sov “Administrative Rules” link

9. Will a public hearing be held on this proposed rule? Yes No []
If yes, please complete the following:
Pate: December 10, 2015

Time: 10:00 a.m.
Arkansas Department of Health, 4815
W. Markham St., Room 2512, Little
Place: Rock, AR 72205

10. When does the public comment period expire for permanent promulgation? (Must provide a date.)
- December 10, 2015

11. What is the proposed effective date of this proposed rule? (Must provide a date.)
March I, 2015

12. Do you expect this rule to be controversial?  Yes [ ] No X
If yes, please
explain.



13. Please give the names of persons, groups, or organizations that you expect to comment on these rules?
Please provide their position (for or against) if known.

Practitioners, Salon Owner and School Owners affected by the revision-in favor




FINANCIAL IMPACT STATEMENT
PLEASE ANSWER ALL QUESTIONS COMPLETELY

DEPARTMENT Arkansas Department of Health

DIVISION Health Systems Licesning and Regulation

PERSON COMPLETING THIS STATEMENT Kelli Kersey

TELEPHONE NO. 501-682-2171 FAX NO. 501-682-5640 EMAIL: kelli.kersey@arkansas.gov

To comply with Ark. Code Ann. § 25-15-204(e), please complete the following Financial Impact
Statement and file two copies with the questionnaire and proposed rules.

SHORT TITLE OF THIS RULE Rules and Regulations for Cosmetology in Arkansas

1. Does this proposed, amended, or repeaied rule have a financial impact? Yes [] No X
2. Isthe rule based on the best reasonably obtainable scientific, technical,

economic, or other evidence and information available concerning the

need for, consequences of, and alternatives to the rule? Yes X No []

3. In consideration of the alternatives to this rule, was this rule determined by
the agency to be the least costly rule considered? Yes No []

If an agency is proposing a more costly rule, please state the following:

(a) How the additional benefits of the more costly rule justify its additional cost;

(b) The reason for adoption of the more costly rule;

(¢) Whether the more costly rule is based on the interests of public health, safety, or welfare, and
if so, please explain; and;

(d) Whether the reason is within the scope of the agency’s statutory authority; and if so, please
explain,

4. If the purpose of this rule is to implement a federal rule or regulation, please state the following:

(a) What is the cost to implement the federal rule or regulation?

Current Fiscal Year Next Fiscal Year
General Revenue General Revenue
Federal Funds ‘ Federal Funds
Cash Funds Cash Funds
Special Revenue Special Revenue

Other (Identify) Other (Identify)




Total Total

(b) What is the additional cost of the state rule?

Current Fiscal Year Next Fiscal Year
General Revenue General Revenue
Federal Funds Federal Funds
Cash Funds Cash Funds
Special Revenue Special Revenue
Other (Identify) Other (Identify)
Total Total

5. What is the total estimated cost by fiscal year to any private' individual, entity and business subject to
the proposed, amended, or repealed rule? Identify the entity(ies) subject to the proposed rule and
_explain how they are affected.

Current Fiscal Year ‘ Next Fiscal Year

$ $

6. What is the total estimated cost by fiscal year to state, county, and municipal government to
implement this rule? Is this the cost of the program or grant? Please explain how the government is
affected.

Current Fiscal Year Next Fiscal Year

$ $

7. With respect to the agency’s answers to Questions #5 and #6 above, is there a new or increased cost
or obligation of at least one hundred thousand dollars ($100,000) per year to a private individual,
private entity, private business, state government, county government, municipal government, or to
two (2) or more of those entities combined?

Yes [ ] No[]

If YES, the agency is required by Ark. Code Ann. § 25-15-204(e)}(4) to file written findings at the
time of filing the financial impact statement. The written findings shall be filed simultaneously
with the financial impact statement and shall include, without limitation, the following:

(1) a statement of the rule’s basis and purpose;

(2) the problem the agency seeks to address with the proposed rule, including a statement of whether
a rule is required by statute;

(3) a description of the factual evidence that:
(a) justifies the agency’s need for the proposed rule; and



(b) describes how the benefits of the rule meet the relevant statutory objectives and justify
the rule’s costs;

(4) a list of less costly alternatives to the proposed rule and the reasons why the alternatives do not
adequately address the problem to be solved by the proposed rule;

(5) a list of alternatives to the proposed rule that were suggested as a result of public comment and
the reasons why the alternatives do not adequately address the problem to be solved by the
proposed rule;

(6) a statement of whether existing rules have created or contributed to the problem the agency secks
to address with the proposed rule and, if existing rules have created or contributed to the
problem, an explanation of why amendment or repeal of the rule creating or contributing to the
problem is not a sufficient response; and

(7) an agency plan for review of the rule no less than every ten (10) years to determine whether,
based upon the evidence, there remains a need for the rule including, without limitation,
whether: ‘

(a) the rule is achieving the statutory objectives;

(b) the benefits of the rule continue to justify its costs; and

(¢} the rule can be amended or repealed to reduce costs while continuing to achieve the
statutory objectives.



