# AGENDA (Revised 9/15/2015) HEALTH REFORM LEGISLATIVE TASK FORCE

# Wednesday, September 16, 2015 10:00 AM Room A, MAC Little Rock, Arkansas

#### Legislative Members

Sen. Cecile Bledsoe, Chair Sen. Linda Chesterfield Sen. Jason Rapert Sen. Keith Ingram Sen. David J. Sanders Sen. Bart Hester Sen. John Cooper Sen. Terry Rice Rep. Charlie Collins, Chair Rep. Reginald Murdock, Vice-Chair Rep. Kim Hammer Rep. David Meeks Rep. Joe Farrer Rep. Deborah Ferguson Rep. Michelle Gray Rep. Justin Boyd

**Non-Legislative Members** 

AR Surgeon General Gregory Bledsoe, Non-Voting

#### A. Call to Order

- B. Comments by the Chairs
  - 1. Representative Charlie Collins
  - 2. Senator Cecile Bledsoe
- C. Consideration to Approve the Minutes from the August 19, & 20, 2015 Meeting (EXHIBITS C-1 & C-2)
- D. Update from The Stephen Group (TSG) and Putting Today's Topics in Perspective (HANDOUT #1)
  - 1. John Stephen, Managing Partner, The Stephen Group
  - 2. Richard Kellogg, Senior Consultant, The Stephen Group
  - 3. Stephen Palmer, Senior Consultant, The Stephen Group
  - 4. Discussion by the Task Force
- E. Update on Behavioral Health Issues and Special Populations

### 1. Mental Health Council of Arkansas

- a. Doug Stadter, CEO, Centers for Youth & Families & Board Member of the Arkansas Mental Health Council
- b. Jannie Cotton, CEO, Professional Counseling Associates & Board Member of the Arkansas Mental Health Council
- 2. Private Rehab Services for Persons with Mental Illness (RSPMI) Providers
  - a. Carol Moore, LCSW, Vice President, Rehab Services for Persons with Mental Illness (RSPMI) Providers
  - b. Max A. Baker, M.D.
- 3. Alliance for Health Improvement
  - a. Robin Raveendran, Executive Director, Alliance for Health Improvement
- 4. DHS—Division of Behavioral Health Services
  - a. Charlie Green, PhD, Director, Division of Behavioral Health Services, Department of Human Services (DHS)
  - b. Julie Meyer, Director of Policy, Division of Behavioral Health Services, Department of Human Services
- 5. Discussion by the Task Force

- F. Update on Developmental Disabilities Issues and Special Populations
  - 1. Developmental Disabilities Provider Association (DDPA)
    - a. David Ivers, Attorney, Mitchell, Blackstock, Ivers, Sneddon & Marshall, PLLC (EXHIBIT F-1)
    - b. Sara Israel, Executive Director, DDPA
    - c. Mike McCreight, Chair, Governmental Affairs, DDPA
  - 2. Child Health Management Services (CHMS) Providers Association of Arkansas a. Amy Denton, President, CHMS
  - **3.** Parents of Human Development Center Residents a. Jan Fortney, and Carole Sherman
  - **4. DHS**—**Developmental Disabilities Services** a. James Brader, Director, Division of Developmental Disabilities Services, Department of Human Services
  - 5. Discussion by the Task Force
- G. Discussion of the Community First Choice Option Plan (CFCO)
  - 1. John Selig, Director, Department of Human Services (DHS) (EXHIBIT G-1)
  - 2. James Brader, Director, Division of Developmental Disabilities Services (DDDS), DHS
  - 3. Craig Cloud, Director, Division of Aging & Adult Services (DAAS), DHS
  - 4. Discussion by the Task Force

## H. Groups or Associations Supportive of the Community First Choice Option

- 1. Doug Stadter, CEO, Centers for Youth & Families & Board Member of the Arkansas Mental Health Council
- 2. Jannie Cotton, CEO, Professional Counseling Associates & Board Member of the Arkansas Mental Health Council
- 3. Reverend William Robinson, Better Community Development Inc., Hoover Treatment Center
- 4. Deborah Bell, Better Community Development Inc., Hoover Treatment Center
- 5. Keith Vire, Ph.D., CEO, Arkansas Support Network
- 6. David Deere, Director, Partners for Inclusive Communities
- 7. Di Vardy, Parent of Child with Disability
- 8. Tom Masseau, Executive Director, Disability Rights Arkansas
- 9. Nancy Shaw, Parent with a Child on the Waiting List
- 10. Ruth Eyres, Parent with a Child on the Waiting List
- 11. Sara Israel, Executive Director, Developmental Disabilities Provider Association
- 12. Discussion by the Task Force

## I. Groups or Associations with No Position on the Community First Choice Option

- 1. Darrell Pickney, Family & Friends of Care Facility Residents
- 2. Discussion by the Task Force

### J. Groups or Associations Opposed to the Community First Choice Option

- 1. Rachel Bunch Davis, Executive Director, Arkansas Health Care Association
- 2. Jim Cooper, President, Arkansas Health Care Association
- 3. Discussion by the Task Force
- K. Follow-up from August Meeting Discussion, and the Status & Format of the Final Report
  - 1. John Stephen, Managing Partner, The Stephen Group
  - 2. Richard Kellogg, Senior Consultant, The Stephen Group
  - 3. Stephen Palmer, Senior Consultant, The Stephen Group
  - 4. Discussion by the Task Force
- L. Other Business
- M. Adjournment