Key Elements of Arkansas Work

1.Encourage employer-based insurance (ESI)

Mandatory ESI Premium Assistance

- Population required to enroll in coverage through Arkansas Works ESI premium assistance: Individuals ages 21 and older with access to cost-effective ESI will be required to enroll in coverage through ESI premium assistance. Individuals who are 19- or 20-years old will not be eligible for ESI premium assistance coverage.
- Employers interested in participating in the ESI premium assistance program will inform the state and demonstrate that their plans meet all the necessary criteria.
- As an incentive for small employers to provide and continue providing ESI coverage, the State will seek approval from the Center for Medicaid Services (CMS) for Medicaid funds to be used to pay a portion of small employers' ESI premiums.

2. Incentivize Work (Work Opportunities for Arkansans)

Work Referrals and Work Training Referrals

- The State intends to mandate referrals of all able-bodied individuals with no income (except students and full-time caregivers) to job training and job search programs.
- Arkansas, through the Department of Workforce Services, will develop specific assistance plans to incentivize and increase work and work training opportunities.
- Secretary Burwell has committed to working with the U.S. Department of Labor to identify additional incentives for individuals who are referred to DWS by DHS.

3. Personal Responsibility

Premiums and Cost Sharing

- **Cost sharing:** Individuals with incomes above 100% FPL will to be subject to co-pays.
- Premium amount: Arkansas Works enrollees with incomes above 100% FPL will be subject to premiums of \$19 per month, which is equal to approximately 2% of income for an individual with an income of 100% FPL.
- Penalties for non-payment of premiums: Individuals who do not pay their premiums in a timely manner (within a 90-day grace period) will incur a debt to the State.
- **Premium collection:** Carriers will be responsible for collecting premiums from Arkansas Works enrollees.

4. Program Integrity

Eliminating 90-Day Retroactive Eligibility

 Arkansas will seek to eliminate 90-day retroactive eligibility. This will transition Medicaid to a more typical arrangement, where coverage starts once someone is enrolled.

Expeditious Timeframe for Terminating the Waiver

• The State will have the ability to terminate the demonstration with 30 days' notice.