# AGENDA Arkansas Blue Ribbon Committee on Highway Finance

## Wednesday, August 18, 2010 10:00 AM Room 207, State Capitol Little Rock, Arkansas

#### Legislative Members

Sen. John Paul Capps, Chair Sen. Paul Miller Sen. Gilbert Baker

**Non-Legislative Members** 

Madison Murphy Judge Wes Fowler Mayor Tab Townsell David Malone Charles Dains Bill Lynch Mark Lamberth Jim McKenzie Mike Wilson Mark McBryde Bill Fletcher

Rep. Bruce Maloch

Rep. Bill Sample Rep. John Lowery

Rep. Allen Maxwell, Vice Chair

### A. Call to order

## B. Comments from Chairman and Vice Chairman

- Senator John Paul Capps
- Representative Allen Maxwell
- C. Consideration to approve Minutes of June 23, 2010
- D. Review of requested research issues
  - 1. Motor Vehicle License Fees
    - a. State Motor Vehicle Registration, 2007 aamva.org. (American Association of Motor Vehicle Administrators)
    - b. Vehicle Titles and Registration Fee Study: A Rationale for Changes, 2008 prepared for Texas Department of Transportation by Cambridge Systematics, Inc.
  - 2. Streamlined Sales Tax projections 2010-2025 Mary Cameron, Legislative Attorney
  - 3. County Aid Road Program Dan Flowers, Director, Arkansas Highway and Transportation Department
  - 4. Legal brief on Sales Tax and/or bond issue Janelle Evyan, Legislative Attorney
  - 5. Summary Information on Regional Mobility Authorities Janelle Evyan, Legislative Attorney
  - 6. Current County Government Tax Levies
  - 7. County Sales and Use Tax
  - 8. Counties and/or cities that have special language defining the distribution formula for county road funds
  - 9. Indexing the Gas and Diesel Fuel Tax New Revenue Subcommittee recommendation
  - 10. New Excise Tax on the wholesale price of motor fuels New Revenue Subcommittee recommendation
- E. Confirm next meeting date of October 13, 2010
- F. Other business
- G. Adjournment

Notice: Silence your cell phones. Keep your personal conversations to a minimum. Observe restrictions designating areas as "*Members and Staff Only*"