# **EXHIBIT B**

#### ELECTRONIC RECORDING COMMISSION

Draft Minutes – October 13, 2015 Room 207, State Capitol Little Rock, Arkansas 2:00 p.m.

### **Members**

Rhonda Wharton, Vice Chair Sharon Blount-Baker Brenda Deshields, Chair \*Absent Mayme Brown, Secretary Cheryl Cochran-Wilson Alicia Nowotny Andrea Billingsly Adam Davis\* Martha Smith\*

Ms. Deshields called the meeting to order at 2:02 p.m.

## Approval of Minutes [EXHIBIT B]

Ms. Rhonda Wharton made a motion to approve the September 9, 2015, meeting minutes. Ms. Sharon Blount-Baker seconded the motion, and without objection, the minutes were approved.

## Presentation of the Process and Practices of Standard Notary and Electronic Notary

Ms. Danielle Fusco, Special Projects Coordinator, Arkansas Secretary of State's Office, gave a presentation to inform the Commission the difference between traditional notary and an electronic notary. She also gave information on the new processes, rules, and regulations.

## **Status of Electronic Recording**

- A total of 17 Arkansas counties are currently e-recording.
- Ms. Andrea Billingsly stated Little River County is now e-recording at three percent and another provider has started the application process.
- Ms. Mayme Brown stated Hot Springs County is e-recording at two percent.
- Ms. Cheryl Cochran-Wilson stated Union county e-recording status still remains at 20 percent. She also reiterated her previous suggestion of the Commission holding mini-seminars to bring more awareness to e-recording.
- Ms. Brenda Deshields stated there is not a standard Memorandum of Understanding form currently being used by clerks for e-recording vendors. Each clerk or vendor has to create their own Memorandum of Understanding to use and have signed by each e-recording vendor. She suggests creating a standard Memorandum of Understanding form for each county clerk to use for consistency throughout the state. She also requested to receive an update at the next meeting from Department of Finance and Administration on the status of eliminating the use of tax stamps.

#### **Motion**

Ms. Andrea Billingsly made a motion to proceed with developing a standard Memorandum of Understanding/E-Recording Agreement. Ms. Rhonda Wharton, Vice-Chair, seconded the motion and without objection, the motion carried.

#### **Other Business**

• The Commissioners discussed the contents in which they would like to see on the website, which would include documents/handouts on the Arkansas State website that refers to Arkansas' e-recording information.

## **Establish Date and Time of Next Meeting**

• The next quarterly meeting is scheduled for Tuesday, December 8, 2015, at 10:30 a.m. in Room 207 of the State Capitol.

The meeting adjourned at 3:40 p.m.