# MINUTES ARKANSAS ALTERNATIVE ENERGY COMMISSION

# [Established by ACT 1301 of 2009] State Capitol, Room 171, Little Rock, Arkansas Thursday, December 6, 2012

The Arkansas Alternative Energy Commission (AAEC) met Thursday, December 6, 2012, at 10:00 a.m. in Room 171 of the State Capitol in Little Rock, Arkansas.

**Commission members present:** Leo Hauser, Chairman; Jessica DeLoach, Audrey House, and Mikel Lolley.

**Commission members present via conference call:** Rita Potts, Warren Allen, and Mike Pinkett.

**Also attending:** Representative-elect John Hutchison.

Mr. Hauser called the meeting to order and thanked the commissioners for their work on the 2012 Report to the Governor. He explained, today's meeting is for making final additions and minor changes to the report. The commissioners will vote on the report at the next meeting.

Mr. Hauser said the working document of Governor Beebe's State Energy Plan is coming soon.

### REVIEW AND CONSIDERATION TO APPROVE NOVEMBER 15, 2012, MINUTES [EXHIBIT B]

Ms. DeLoach made a motion to approve the November 29, 2012, meeting minutes. Ms. House seconded the motion, and the motion carried.

# DISCUSSION OF 2012 DRAFT ARKANSAS ALTERNATIVE ENERGY COMMISSION REPORT [EXHIBIT C]

Mr. Hauser recognized Mr. Lolley to lead the discussion. He explained the draft is 99.9% complete and suggested proofing the report page by page for final edits.

In the Table of Contents:

- Mr. Lolley said the final report's assembly would reveal accurate page numbers.
- Ms. Potts said:
  - Change the "AAEC Recommendations from Initial Report" date to 11-23-2010.
  - Add the acronym for renewable energy (RE) from Item 2d to the acronym list.
- Mr. Hauser said:
  - Change "AAEC Study Summaries & Appendices" to "AAEC Study Presentations,"
  - Leave "AAEC Study Summaries" and "Appendices" as they are.

## In the Executive Summary:

- Mr. Lolley said, per John Bethel and Commissioner Smith, Arkansas' ranking for the American Council for an Energy-Efficient Economy's State Energy Scorecard should be 48<sup>th</sup> and the date should be 2011.
- Mr. Allen suggested striking compressed natural gas (CNG) from the eighth recommendation and adding it to "Suggestions for Further Study."

Mr. Hauser will sign the "Open Letter from the Chairman."

Ms. Potts suggested adding Mr. Chris Ladner, the Commission's former Chairman, because of his significant contribution to the Initial Report.

#### Ms. House suggested:

- Adding "transition from coal to renewable/alternative energy resources" to "Suggested Areas of Further Study."
- Using acronyms for energy efficiency (EE); renewable energy (RE); Arkansas Economic Development Commission (AEDC); American Reinvestment and Recovery Act (ARRA); Community Development Block Grant (CDBG); Public Utility Regulatory Policies Act (PURPA); in-forest residues (IFR); and billion gallons/year (BGY).
- Replacing MPG with miles per gallon on Page 14.
- Striking MPG from the acronym list.

### Ms. Potts said:

- Add PSC (Public Service Commission) and APSC (Arkansas Public Service Commission) to the acronym list.
- Put parentheses around "see appendices S" on page ten.

- Add Item "S" to the appendices.
- Spell out Home Energy Assistance Loan and include its acronym (HEAL) in the report.
- On Page 14, change "accessed" to "assessed" in the recommendation for Property Assessed Clean Energy (PACE).
- On Page 15, use the acronym (RLF) rather than spelling out Revolving Loan Fund.
- Adjust the last paragraph on page 15 to read more clearly.

Mr. Allen said strike the recommendations for gas-to liquid (GTL), and add it to "Suggested Areas of Future Study."

The commissioners agreed to strike "Natural Gas conversions for aging coal fire generation plants" under recommendations for Natural Gas Utilization.

#### Ms. Potts said:

- Change the first sentence in the second paragraph under "How might Arkansas pursue biorefineries," on Page 33, to: *Developers cannot move forward WITHOUT project financing.*
- Correct spelling for "power plant" on Pages 34, 35.
- Add RFS to the acronym list.

The commissioners agreed to meet at 9:30 a.m. on Thursday, December 13, 2012.

With no further business, the meeting adjourned at 11:15 a.m.