MINUTES ARKANSAS ALTERNATIVE ENERGY COMMISSION [Established by ACT 1301 of 2009] State Capitol, Room 171, Little Rock, Arkansas Thursday, November 19, 2015

The Arkansas Alternative Energy Commission (AAEC) met Thursday, November 19, 2015, at 10:00 a.m. in Room 171 of the State Capitol in Little Rock, Arkansas.

Commission members in attendance: Warren Allen, Chair; Jay Caspary, Don Crabbe, David Dodge, Audrey House, Rod Krug, Andrew Lachowsky, Paul Love, John Nabholz, and Gregory Perkins.

Commission member using conference call: Rita Potts.

Mr. Allen called the meeting to order.

INTRODUCTIONS

Mr. Crabbe, the most recent appointee, introduced himself noting he is President and CEO of First Electric Cooperative.

REVIEW AND APPROVAL OF OCTOBER 22, 2015, MEETING MINUTES [EXHIBIT C]

The October 22, 2015, meeting minutes were approved as written.

Attorney General, Leslie Rutledge, was recognized and stated she appreciates the commission's efforts to expand alternative energy sources in the state.

She noted the Consumer Utilities Rate Advocacy Division advocates for consumers in rate increases, approval for sales or mergers, requesting permission to purchase or construct power, customer service rules, and other policies that affect ratepayers.

She has held roundtable discussions in 67 of the 75 counties talking to business leaders and local government. These discussions reiterate government should allow businesses to make decisions based on data and not politics.

The Attorney General's Office has filed comments and testified on issues involving the Clean Power Plan (CPP), Ozone Standards, and Waters of the U.S. Rule. The office has urged the Environmental Protection Agency to withdraw the Section 111(d) rule because it would increase energy costs for Arkansans. They have also joined 23 other states in a lawsuit challenging the CPP.

The primary goal is to keep energy cost affordable for the average consumer. The state's bio-mass industry has gotten a boost with two investor groups announcing multi-million dollar projects to produce commercially viable fuel from the state's vast pine and hardwoods in Monticello and Pine Bluff. These companies will bring jobs and residual economic gains to these communities.

INTEGRATED BUILDING TECHNOLOGIES

Mr. David Dodge, Commissioner, was recognized and presented a video titled, "Integrated Metal Roof Retrofit with Multiple Energy Saving Technologies." [https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=l8gTva48p9Y]

Mr. Robert Scichili, President, RSK Avanti Partners, was recognized and provided a brief overview of how metal roofing affects energy efficiency in homes and businesses. He stated Cool Metal Roofing is now a standard in the industry and accepted as a premier contribution to the betterment of industry and its customers.

SELECTION OF STUDY SUBJECTS AND POSSIBLE PRESENTERS

Mr. Nabholz suggested strategic planning should be done to determine focus, look at impediments to alternative energy, and if necessary, determine if legislation is required and see what has been successful in other states.

The commission made the following suggestions for study subjects and presenters:

- Mr. Frank Kelly, Chairman, Arkansas Renewable Energy Association Solar Energy
- Mr. Robert McAfee, Arkansas Citizens' Climate Lobby Carbon fee and dividend initiative
- Arkansas Energy Office
- Walmart Alternative Energy Technologies
- Battery storage
- Compressed Natural Gas Conversion
- Arkansas Department of Environmental Quality

NEXT MEETING – DECEMBER 10, 2015

The commission tentatively set the following presenters and organizations for upcoming meetings:

December 10, 2015

- Mr. Gene Higginbotham, Executive Director, Arkansas Waterways Commission
- Mr. John Bethel Energy efficiency programs currently in place
- AR Energy Office Boundaries of the AAEC

2016 Meetings

- Arkansas Department of Environmental Quality
- George Sheffer, Vice President, Operations, Fayetteville Shale, Southwestern Energy Company Update on Fayetteville Shale (3/17/2016)

There being no further business, the meeting adjourned at 12:10 p.m.