ARKANSAS ALTERNATIVE ENERGY COMMISSION [Established by ACT 1301 of 2009] State Capitol, Room 171, Little Rock, Arkansas Thursday, January 5, 2017

The Arkansas Alternative Energy Commission (AAEC) met Thursday, January 5, 2017, at 10:00 a.m. in Room 171 of the State Capitol in Little Rock, Arkansas.

Commission members in attendance: Warren Allen, Chair; Stan Berry, Jay Caspary, Don Crabbe, David Dodge, Audrey House, Rod Krug, Andrew Lachowsky, Paul Love, John Nabholz, and Gregory Perkins.

Commission members using conference call: Rita Potts and Jessica Sabin. Commissioner Allen called the meeting to order.

REVIEW AND APPROVAL OF DECEMBER 8, 2016, MEETING MINUTES

[EXHIBIT C]

Ms. House made a motion to approve the December 8, 2016, minutes, and with a second by Ms. Sabin, the motion carried.

REPORT ON DISCUSSION WITH COUNSEL

Mr. Allen said he spoke with Mike Feehan, Bureau of Legislative Research Attorney, who gave direction regarding the Commission concluding business such as approving final minutes with a vote. Mr. Feehan noted there is an act in effect which allows a commission or committee, not being replaced, to continue for conclusion of its business.

The Commission had discussed a letter of recommendation to the legislature and the executive office regarding a comprehensive utilization study of spent fuels for nuclear power generation. Mr. Allen asked Mr. Feehan about the conduct of business by this Commission, and Mr. Feehan advised the Commission may not write a letter of recommendation, but individuals may. The Commission is obliged only to make recommendations in its report to the President Pro-Tem, the Governor, and the House Speaker.

There is a draft template letter made available by Mr. Nabholz for Commissioners' personal use, which indicates that the Commission has made recommendations and as a citizen of Arkansas, encourages the governor et al. to consider this particular recommendation.

REVIEW AND APPROVAL OF 2016 ARKANSAS ALTERNATIVE ENERGY COMMISSION REPORT [HANDOUT 1]

The revised draft report was distributed. Ms. House pointed out changes and said the executive summary, and Mr. Allen's letter, and her added language regarding battery storage technology and wood energy to future studies were all that had not been approved.

Mr. Allen called for a motion.

Ms. House made a motion to accept the executive summary and the open letter from the chairman; Mr. Nabholz seconded the motion, and it carried.

A motion was made to approve the report as submitted. Ms. House seconded the motion, and the motion carried.

There was more discussion regarding the report.

Mr. Love made a motion to amend the previous motion and second to include discretionary authority for the Chairman to approve correction of any typographic errors that might be found. Mr. Crabbe seconded the motion, and the motion carried.

Ms. House asked the Commissioners to look through the report. She said she included the approved minutes from December 8, 2016, and also Mr. Warmack's report from the December 8th meeting with summary and comparison.

Mr. Allen said if there are no questions he would entertain a motion to approve the draft report with the changes discussed.

Mr. Love made a motion to approve the draft with discussed changes, and with a second by Mr. Caspary, the motion carried.

Mr. Allen thanked Ms. House, Ms. Sabin and Mr. Nabholz for their work on the report.

Mr. Allen asked for discussion on the sunset rule. He thanked Carol Stapleton and Mike Feehan for all they have done. Mr. Allen noted the Commission is in a hover/holding mode [regarding the September 30, 2017, Commission sunset date] until there is word from the legislature.

Mr. Allen recognized John Bethel for the help and direction he has provided the Commission through the years.

Mr. Berry asked for discussion about Clean-Line and it was recommended its progress be monitored.

There being no further business, the meeting adjourned at 10:45 a.m.