## AGENDA (Revised 6/14/10) Legislative Task Force on Sickle Cell Disease

\_\_\_\_\_

Wednesday, June 16, 2010 10:00 AM Room 272, State Capitol Little Rock, Arkansas

**Legislative Members** 

## **Non-Legislative Members**

Mr. Germaine Johnson, Chair Dr. David Becton, Vice Chair Dr. Bob West

Ms. Christine Patterson

Ms. Kimberly Hayman Ms. Idonia Trotter Mr. David Deere Ms. Jewellyne Walker Dr. Jocelyn Elders

- A. Call to Order
- B. Comments by Chairman, Mr. Germaine Johnson
- C. Consideration to approve Minutes of June 2, 2010 (EXHIBIT C)
- D. Comments from community-based program representatives
  - 1. Partners for Inclusive Communities Ms. Ruby Brown
  - 2. Pine Bluff Mutual Sickle Cell Support Group Ms. Cathy Hunt
  - 3. Arkansas Children's Hospital Ms. Angela Mull
  - 4. Southeast Sickle Cell Support Services Ms. Sherry Gamble
  - 5. Sickle Cell Support Services of Arkansas Mr. Germaine Johnson, Sr.
- E. Report of Strategic Plan Focus Groups:
  - 1. Evidence-based clinical care Dr. David Becton (EXHIBIT E-1)
  - 2. Education Ms. Kimberly Hayman (EXHIBIT E-2)
  - 3. Supportive services Mr. Germaine Johnson, Sr. (EXHIBIT E-3)
  - 4. Registry Dr. Bob West (EXHIBIT E-4)
  - 5. Research infrastructure Mr. David Deere (EXHIBIT E-5)
  - 6. Marketing Ms. Robin Lockhart
  - 7. Discussion by Task Force
  - 8. Public comments
- F. Sickle Cell Disease Consultant's Recommendation **(EXHIBIT F)**[Dr. Wally R. Smith, MD, Division Chair, Division of Quality Health Care, Virginia Commonwealth University]
- G. Budget Planning
- H. Other Business
- Confirm next meeting date
- J. Adjournment

Notice: Silence your cell phones. Keep your personal conversations to a minimum. Observe restrictions designating areas as "Members and Staff Only"