# MINUTES LEGISLATIVE TASK FORCE ON SUSTAINABLE BUILDING DESIGN AND PRACTICES OF THE ARKANSAS GENERAL ASSEMBLY

Thursday, September 29, 2011 2:00 P.M. Room 171, State Capitol Little Rock, Arkansas

The Legislative Task Force on Sustainable Building Design and Practices met at 2:00 p.m., Thursday, September 29, 2011, in Room 171 of the State Capitol in Little Rock, Arkansas. The following members attended:

**Legislative Members:** Senators David Johnson and Jake Files; Representatives Kathy Webb and Greg Leding.

**Non-Legislative Members:** Chris Benson, Joseph Burak, John Coleman, Richard Davies, Charlie Foster, Anne Laidlaw, Mikel Lolley, Martha J. Murray, Barbara Nix, Mark Robertson, and Kenneth Smith.

Also attending: Representative Tommy Baker.

Representative Webb called the meeting to order and welcomed everyone to the interim's first meeting of the Task Force. Senator Johnson was recognized for remarks and said as a two-year Task Force member, he has seen a lot of good work done by the group, and he looks forward to moving forward.

## TASK FORCE MEMBER INTRODUCTION

Task Force members introduced themselves. Representative Webb noted the Task Force represents a nice blend of returning and new members, and is diversely represented geographically and professionally.

CO-CHAIRMEN ELECTIONS – [Establishing Act 1770 of 2005, as codified ACA 22-3-1806 (b)(4) specifies, "the co-chairs of the task force shall be members of the General Assembly. One co-chair shall be a member of the Senate and one co-chair shall be a member of the House of Representatives"] (Exhibit E)

<u>Senator Files was recognized and made a motion to elect Senator Johnson for co-chair. With no further nominations, and without objection, Senator Johnson was elected.</u>

Representative Webb was recognized and made a motion to elect Representative Leding for cochair. With no further nominations, and without objection, Representative Leding was elected.

Senator Johnson chaired the meeting.

# **CONSIDERATION TO APPROVE DECEMBER 13, 2010 MINUTES (EXHIBIT F)**

# Mr. Robertson made a motion to approve the December 13, 2010, minutes. Without objection, the motion carried.

## **GOALS**

Senator Johnson said the Task Force is eager to examine ways to address state law for enhancing sustainable buildings in Arkansas, and opened the floor for discussion. The following goals were offered:

- Line up support earlier for Property Assessed Clean Energy (PACE) legislation
- Examine funding options
- Be aware of attempts to eliminate energy efficiency programs and be pro-active in keeping current programs in place
- Become informed on performance-based contracts for efficiency funding and how they are used in Arkansas
- Serve as clearinghouse for utilities and creating ideas
- Demonstrate success of Task Force about specific savings occurring in state buildings because of Task Force initiatives
- Inform public of energy saving programs available
- Become informed of progress of the Act that passed in 2008, and how agencies have implemented plans
- Examine renewable energy components and experiences of others who have brought renewable energy into municipal projects
- Inform assessors of the economic value of structures built with energy efficiency improvements, so builders can see the value of implementing these practices
- Look at best practices from other states for ideas of how the Task Force can utilize Arkansas Development Finance Authority (ADFA) funds available that will sunset in 2013 and 2014

Nate McGee, Energy Director, Arkansas Department of Human Services (DHS), was recognized and said DHS began developing a program three years ago for addressing Governor Beebe's executive order to reduce energy consumption by 20%. The DHS program addresses all aspects of energy savings including buildings, recycling, vehicle replacement, employee training, etc. An energy audit of DHS buildings is 50% complete, but funding remains an issue. In the governor's revolving loan fund, \$2 million remains, but it is not enough, as this is a \$6 million project. DHS is working with the Energy Office for bonding possibilities but no revenue sources for educating employees is available. For the programs to be successful, people must understand how to use them.

Ms. Laidlaw said the Governor's executive order that requires state agencies to prepare a strategic energy plan is helpful information. The Energy Office requires everyone in the program to record data in "Energy Star Portfolio Manager", a valuable tool for evaluating consumption, establishing base lines, and planning.

Scott Hamilton, Director, Energy Office, Arkansas Economic Development Commission (AEDC), was recognized and said AEDC is working with ADFA and a plan will be in place within 30 to 45 days to put the \$29 million, that will sunset in 2013 and 2014, to best use. Mr. Hamilton plans to regularly attend Task Force meetings and report on this topic.

# **NEXT MEETING DATE**

The Task Force agreed to hold meetings on the second Monday of each month, at 1:30 p.m. beginning in November. The next meeting date is November 14, 2011.

# **OTHER BUSINESS**

**Ms. Laidlaw, Task Force Member**, was recognized and introduced Charles Thomas, newly hired manager of the Revolving Loan Fund. A grant from the Arkansas Energy Office provided \$11,370,000 for implementing energy efficiency programs, and the money must be loaned before March 31, 2012. All but \$2.16 million has been awarded through the following grant and/or loan agreements:

- University of Arkansas for Medical Science \$3 million
- Arkansas Oil and Gas Commission \$600,000
- Arkansas State Police \$2 million
- Southern Arkansas University (3 projects) \$1.6 million & \$350,0000
- University of Arkansas at Little Rock \$2 million

\$3 million has been retained in the General Improvement Fund, and repayments have already begun.

Marsha Guffey, Research Planner, Metroplan, was recognized and said Metroplan is a financial transportation planning organization for urban communities with populations of 50,000+. Metroplan has applied for a grant that promotes livability and sustainability, offered through a partnership among the U.S. Housing and Urban Development, the U.S. Department of Transportation, and the Environmental Protection Agency. Ms. Guffey asked the Task Force to issue a letter stating "Metroplan demonstrates planning efforts that align with state government initiatives that prioritize sustainable planning and development that reinforce the federal partnership for sustainable communities livability principles".

Representative Webb made a motion for the Task Force to write a letter supporting Metroplan for the grant. Mr. Robertson seconded the motion. Without objection, the motion carried.

With no further business, the meeting adjourned at 2:55 p.m.