STATE	SUMMARY OF STATE-BASED LEGISLATION PERTAINING TO CHILDREN'S ADVOCACY CENTERS
Alabama	 Legislation sets criteria for full membership in the Alabama Network of Children's Advocacy Centers. State funding is available for centers as follows: \$50,000 is allocated to each full member center during the first fiscal year following certification; \$75,000 is allocated to each full member center during the second fiscal year following certification; \$100,000 is allocated to each full member center during the third and subsequent years following certification; each associate member receives \$25,000 during the first and second years following approval by the network for associate membership status; any additional funds left over are allocated to full member centers.
Alaska	 Alaska has a state law that mandates the use of Multidisciplinary Teams. Money is also appropriated to the state Department of Health and Human Services for the establishment and operations of Children's Advocacy Centers around the state.
Arizona	 On September 30, 2003, Governor Napolitano issued an "Action Plan for Reform of Arizona's Child Protection System" calling for an increase in funding of \$8.5 million for the Child Protection System. In addition, the Governor's plan of action included the expansion of Arizona Child Advocacy Centers and the co-location of Law Enforcement, Behavioral Health, and Domestic Violence Professionals in CPS offices in areas not served by Children's Advocacy Centers.
Arkansas	 Arkansas has enabling legislation that explains the need and support of Children's Advocacy Centers. An appropriations bill is written every two years when the legislature meets. In 2001, Children's Advocacy Centers received \$300,000. In 2003, the bill asked for more money, but Children's Advocacy Centers only received \$100,000 due to the budget crunch.
Colorado	Colorado has legislation defining and encouraging the use of CACs.
Connecticut	 Connecticut has legislation mandating Multidisciplinary Teams. There are 15 teams, 7 Full Member NCA programs and 2 NCA Associate Members. Each program receives \$20,000 annually from the Governors Task Force on Child Abuse.
Delaware	 Delaware has state law that recommends the use of Multidisciplinary Teams. Delaware Code, Title 16, Section 906 "State Response to reports of abuse or neglect. Subsection (15) states "Multidisciplinary services shall be used whenever possible in conducting the investigation or family assessment and services approach, including the services of law enforcement agencies, the medical community, and other agencies, both public and private." In addition, CACs receive \$587,000 as a line item in the State budget to support rations.
Florida	Legislature has appropriated funds to 5 Children's Advocacy Centers since 1999.

STATE	SUMMARY OF STATE-BASED LEGISLATION PERTAINING TO CHILDREN'S ADVOCACY CENTERS
	 Florida statute sets criteria for full membership in the Florida Network of Children's Advocacy Centers (state chapter).
	 The Office of Program Policy Analysis and Government Accountability produced a special review of Children's Advocacy Centers. The report identified four options for legislative consideration: discontinue funding for Children's Advocacy Centers; provide funding to some Children's Advocacy Centers as Community Budget Request items; establish a trust fund endowment that would provide funding for all Children's Advocacy Centers; provide uniform statewide funding to Children's Advocacy Centers. Effective July 1, 2004 new court costs will provide revenue for CACs.
Georgia	 The Georgia Children's Advocacy Centers have a line item of \$875,000 in the Human Resources budget.
Hawaii	 Georgia has standards for Children's Advocacy Centers and internal review for standards. Children's Justice Centers are fully funded statewide by the state legislature through the Judiciary budget and are court based programs The centers were established statutorily in 1986. HRS588 describes the duties and responsibilities of the centers.
Illinois	 The Children's Advocacy Center Act states the establishment of Children's Advocacy Centers throughout the state of Illinois is desirable to coordinate the investigation, prosecution and treatment referral of child sexual abuse. Each county in the state has an established Child Advocacy Advisory Board that establishes a written child sexual abuse protocol filed with the Department of Child and Family Services. CACs receive \$3,000,000 in funding via a DCFS appropriation each year. There is legislation that allows each county to pass a referendum to funnel .004% of county property tax dollars to the country Children's Advocacy Center.
lowa	 Under the lowa administrative code section 135.118, Chapter 94 legislation exists that funds both existing and developing Children's Advocacy Centers. Funding is granted through the Child Protection Center Grant Program, however funding is based on availability of excess state funds and currently there is no availability.
Kentucky	 Legislation defines a Children's Advocacy Center and a Multidisciplinary Team. All regional Children's Advocacy Centers receive a \$75,000 state appropriation. Statute includes language on confidentiality of records and duplicating of taped interviews.

STATE	SUMMARY OF STATE-BASED LEGISLATION PERTAINING TO CHILDREN'S ADVOCACY CENTERS
Louisiana	 Legislation SB 303 was passed in Louisiana in 2003. The legislation finds that the use of Multidisciplinary Teams and Children's Advocacy Centers encourage agency cooperation, expedite the resolution of allegations, minimize the trauma to children and their families, and otherwise serve the best interests of the children. A Multidisciplinary investigative team must be established in judicial districts by February 15, 2004. The legislation states an interagency protocol must be established in each jurisdiction and explains the components of a Children's Advocacy Center. Every Children's Advocacy Center must seek full membership from National Children's Alliance and remain in good standing.
Maryland	 Maryland law includes statue that mandates child abuse investigations to be carried out by Multidisciplinary Teams. Sponsoring legislation in upcoming session requires sex offender registration fees to be allocated to the Maryland state chapter of Children's Advocacy Centers. Looking to legislate that sex offenders cannot live within 1000 ft of schools & childcare facilities.
Massachusetts	 Massachusetts's statute requires the coordination of CPS, DA, and mental health in determining case planning and prosecution decision-making. This process has largely been converted into the work of Multidisciplinary Teams and Children's Advocacy Centers as part of the post-interview process and is part of mandated reporting law (Massachusetts General Laws Chapter 119 sections 51A and 51B).
Minnesota (continued on next page)	 In 1986, then Attorney General Hubert Humphrey created a task force called "Task Force on Child Abuse within the Family". That task force resulted in two state laws. 1) Child Abuse investigations must be conducted by teams; 2) Individuals conducting interviews must receive specialized training and education. Full Member Children's Advocacy Centers receive state grants from the Department of Public Safety. The grants are annual, competitive and vary from year to year depending on state resources and VOCA funds available. MN 626.561 states that child abuse interviews/assessments be "recorded" and that unnecessary, duplicative or otherwise not in the best interests of the child interviews are discouraged. MN 626.556 Reporting of maltreatment of minors. Requires child protection and law

STATE	SUMMARY OF STATE-BASED LEGISLATION PERTAINING TO CHILDREN'S ADVOCACY CENTERS
Minnesota Con't.	 enforcement to cross-report allegations of abuse within 24 hours. Additionally requires "the local law enforcement agency and local welfare agency shall coordinate the planning and execution of their respective investigation and assessment efforts to avoid a duplication of fact-finding efforts and multiple interviews." Also requires "in cases of alleged sexual abuse, audio-video recordings of each interview with the alleged victim and child witnesses." MN 634.35 Videotapes of child victims; conditions of disclosure.
	MN 611A.90 Release of videotapes of child abuse victims. Both statutes place strict regulations on copying, dissemination and use of videotapes of child victims of abuse.
Mississippi	 Mississippi law MS 43-15-51 was enacted in 2001. The law outlines the Multidisciplinary Team standards and recognizes Children's Advocacy Centers as part of the team.
Missouri	 State legislation requires all child abuse investigations be carried out by and MDT. CACs receive \$1.6 million (down from \$2.2 million in previous budget years) from the Department of Social Services budget. The funds are disseminated to 14 CACs based on a funding formula.
New Hampshire	 State Department of Justice provides 5 year funding to each county for developing Children's Advocacy Centers. First year funding \$50,000, second year \$40,000, forth year \$20.000 fifth year \$10,000.
New Jersey	 NJ law states Multidisciplinary Teams are recommended in investigating child abuse. CACs receive state funding through appropriations.
New Mexico	 New Mexico has a line item in the Governors budget that includes \$150,000 for Children's Advocacy Centers. The State Network of Children's Advocacy Center programs, convenes each year and decides how the money will be divided between programs.
New York	 Each year the New York Governor has \$1.5 million in the budget for the expansion and support of Multidisciplinary Teams and Children's Advocacy Centers. Children's Advocacy Centers must apply for this money through a Request for Proposal process. In addition, each year, the State Legislature shows its support for CACs by allocating above and beyond the Governor's commitment of \$1.5 million. The level of the "legislative add" is contingent upon the state's fiscal situation and has ranged from \$307,000 to \$500,000.

STATE	SUMMARY OF STATE-BASED LEGISLATION PERTAINING TO CHILDREN'S ADVOCACY CENTERS
North Carolina	North Carolina does not currently have legislation that pertains to Children's Advocacy Centers, however their state commission, which is appointed by the governor and deals with Children's Justice issues, encouraged NC to apply for grants to fund their chapter.
Ohio	Ohio does not currently have legislation that pertains to Children's Advocacy Centers, however S.B. 66 was recently introduced in the General Assembly. The bill defines a Children's Advocacy Center, who will be served by the center, and the assembly of the center's Multidisciplinary Team.
Oklahoma	 Oklahoma has free standing Multidisciplinary Teams in addition to Children's Advocacy Centers. Legislation mandates that a Multidisciplinary Team be in every county and in addition, has a government entity to help get Multidisciplinary Teams off the ground. Children's Advocacy Centers and Multidisciplinary Teams receive stable funding through civil filing fees of \$10. Oklahoma also uses an equitable funding formula where Children's Advocacy Centers get 5% of the base budget. A Children's Advocacy Center must be a full member of National Children's Alliance to receive funding and must pass a 3rd year site review. In 2003, Multidisciplinary Teams and Children's Advocacy Centers received 2.4 million dollars. Oklahoma legislation has a defined plan of growth that requires 1 Children's Advocacy Center per District Attorney office. Currently Oklahoma has 16 full members and this plan would bring that number to 29.
Oregon	 Every county in Oregon is mandated to have a Multidisciplinary Team. Multidisciplinary Teams receive Child Abuse Multidisciplinary Intervention Funds (CAMI) that are allocated from the criminal assessment fees throughout the state. CACs receive funding for medical exams through a Criminal Injuries Account fund.
Pennsylvania	 A state law was passed in 1998 that requires each county to have a Multidisciplinary Team.
Rhode Island	 Children's Advocacy Center receives \$30,000 from Department of Youth and Families budget. Umbrella agency that encompasses Children's Advocacy Center receives a \$90,000 appropriation each year. A portion of this money is designated for the Children's Advocacy Center.

STATE	SUMMARY OF STATE-BASED LEGISLATION PERTAINING TO CHILDREN'S ADVOCACY CENTERS
South Carolina	South Carolina does not have active legislation effecting Children's Advocacy Centers, however SB 500 is pending and names Children's Advocacy Centers as the preferred method for investigating child abuse. This bill also requires Multidisciplinary Teams to meet standards. The bill passed in the Senate and will be considered in the House in January.
Tennessee	 State appropriations are available when a center meets criteria listed in the statute. A Multidisciplinary Team must exist in each county.
Texas	 The Texas Family Code includes enabling legislation that specifically defines Children's Advocacy Centers and also allows for enactment of a funding contract between the Office of the Attorney General and CACTX, Inc. The legislative appropriation for CACs, currently funded by the Crime Victim Compensation Fund, appears as a line item in the budget of the Texas OAG. Grant funds are then administered to eligible local programs throughout the state by CACTX, Inc. The Texas Office of the Attorney General also approves the Standards for Texas Children's Advocacy Centers. The state association is responsible for monitoring local programs for compliance with the Standards, Family Code Statute and the funding contract.
Utah	 CJCs receive state funding that is allocated through the Attorney General's office. The AG allocates the appropriated funds; administers applications for state and federal grants; staffs the Advisory Board on Children's Justice; assists in the development of new centers; and coordinates services between centers.
Vermont	 Vermont's legislation states Multidisciplinary Teams must be used to investigate child abuse. A new mandated reporting law that includes clergy is being finalized and will include language regarding CACs.
Washington	 2002 legislation recognized CAC as the best model to serve abused children and encourages the development of the centers across the state.
Wisconsin	 Wisconsin has state law regarding the videotaping statements of children. The videotaped statement of a child may be admitted as evidence.

^{*} This information is continually being updated. If you have any changes/updates, please contact National Children's Alliance's Public Affairs Department at 202-452-6001.