Stricken language would be deleted from present law. Underlined language would be added to present law.

1	State of Arkansas	As Engrossed: H3/12/97 H4/3/97			
2	81st General Assembly	A Bill			
3	Regular Session, 1997		HOUSE BILL	1951	
4					
5	By: Representative Booker				
6	By: Senator Kennedy				
7					
8					
9		For An Act To Be Entitled			
10	"AN ACT 7	TO ESTABLISH DISTRICTS FOR THE COURT OF APP	EALS;		
11	AND FOR C	OTHER PURPOSES.""			
12					
13		Subtitle			
14		"TO ESTABLISH DISTRICTS FOR THE COURT OF			
15		APPEALS"			
16					
17	BE IT ENACTED BY	THE GENERAL ASSEMBLY OF THE STATE OF ARKAI	NSAS:		
18					
19	SECTION 1.	Effective January 1, 1999, the Court of A	Appeals Distric	ts	
20	shall be as foll	ows:			
21	<u>(a)</u> Distr	ict 1A shall be composed of the counties of	f Mississippi,		
22	Crittenden, St.	Francis, Lee, Phillips, and Arkansas;			
23	(b) Distr	ict 1B shall be composed of the counties of	f Monroe, Prair	ie,	
24	Greene, Woodruff	, Cross, Jackson, Poinsett, and Craighead;			
25	(c) Distr	ict 1C shall be composed of the counties of	f Independence,		
26	Clay, Randolph,	Sharp, Fulton, Izard, Stone, Cleburne, Sea	rcy, Marion, Ba	xter,	
27	and Lawrence;				
28	(d) Distr	ict 2A shall be composed of the counties of	f Pulaski and		
29	Lonoke;				
30	<u>(e)</u> Distr	ict 2B shall be composed of the counties of	f Pulaski and		
31	Lonoke;				
32	(f) Distr	ict 2C shall be composed of the counties of	f Pope, Conway,	Van	
33	Buren, Faulkner, and White;				
34	<u>(g)</u> Distr	ict 3A shall be composed of the counties of	f Yell, Perry,		
35	Garland, Madison	n, Newton, Franklin, Johnson, Logan, and Hot	t Spring;		
36	(h) Distr	ict 3B shall be composed of the counties of	f Benton,		

As Engrossed: H3/12/97 H4/3/97

1	Washington, Crawford, Carroll, Boone, and Sebastian;
2	(i) District 3C shall be composed of the counties of Benton,
3	Washington, Crawford, Carroll, Boone, and Sebastian;
4	(j) District 4A shall be composed of the counties of Little River,
5	Sevier, Howard, Pike, Montgomery, Hempstead, Miller, Lafayette, Nevada, Scott,
6	Polk, and Columbia;
7	(k) District 4B shall be composed of the counties of Grant, Dallas,
8	Saline, Jefferson, Cleveland, and Lincoln;
9	(1) District 4C shall be composed of the counties of Bradley, Ashley,
10	Drew, Desha, Ouachita, Calhoun, Clark, Union, and Chicot.
11	
12	SECTION 2. At the general election in 1998, one member of the Court of
13	Appeals shall be elected from District 1A, one member shall be elected from
14	District 2A, one member shall be elected from District 2C, one member shall be
15	elected from District 3B, one member shall be elected from District 4A, and
16	one member shall be elected from District 4B. The six (6) members of the
17	Court of Appeals elected at the general election in 1998 shall by lot draw
18	terms of office so that two (2) will serve four (4) year terms, two (2) will
19	serve six (6) year terms, and two (2) will serve eight (8) year terms. Their
20	successors shall serve full eight (8) year terms.
21	
22	SECTION 3. At the general election in 2000, one member of the Court of
23	Appeals shall be elected from District 1B, and one member shall be elected
24	from District 2B. The Court of Appeals Judge currently serving from the
25	current District 1 shall serve as the Court of Appeals Judge of District 1B
26	for the remainder of his current term. The Court of Appeals Judge currently
27	serving from current District 6 shall serve as the Court of Appeals Judge of
28	District 2B for the remainder of her current term.
29	
30	SECTION 4. At the general election in 2002, one member of the Court of
31	Appeals shall be elected from District 1C, and one member shall be elected
32	from District 3C. The Court of Appeals Judge currently serving from the
33	current District 2 shall serve as the Court of Appeals Judge of District 1C
34	for the remainder of his current term. The Court of Appeals Judge currently
35	serving from current District 3 shall serve as the Court of Appeals Judge of
36	District 3C for the remainder of his current term.

0226971643.jjd387

As Engrossed: H3/12/97 H4/3/97

1	
2	SECTION 5. At the general election in 2004, one member of the Court of
3	Appeals shall be elected from District 3A, and one member shall be elected
4	from District 4C. The Court of Appeals Judge currently serving from the
5	current District 4 shall serve as the Court of Appeals Judge of District 3A
6	for the remainder of his current term. The Court of Appeals Judge currently
7	serving from current District 5 shall serve as the Court of Appeals Judge of
8	District 4C for the remainder of his current term.
9	
10	SECTION 6. All provisions of this act of a general and permanent nature
11	are amendatory to the Arkansas Code of 1987 Annotated and the Arkansas Code
12	Revision Commission shall incorporate the same in the Code.
13	
14	SECTION 7. If any provision of this act or the application thereof to
15	any person or circumstance is held invalid, such invalidity shall not affect
16	other provisions or applications of the act which can be given effect without
17	the invalid provision or application, and to this end the provisions of this
18	act are declared to be severable.
19	
20	SECTION 8. (a) Arkansas Code Annotated $^{\hat{6}\hat{6}}$ 16-12-101(c)(2) and 16-12-
21	101(d) as amended by Acts 11 and 15 of 1995 First Extraordinary Session are
22	repealed:
23	(2) The qualified electors of the Court of Appeals Districts
24	established in compliance with subsection (e) of this section shall elect the
25	additional Court of Appeals judges at the November, 1998 general election to
26	take office on January 1, 1999.
27	(d) Two (2) of the additional Court of Appeals judges elected pursuant
28	to subsection $(c)(2)$ of this section shall be elected to an initial term of
29	four (4) years; two (2) shall be elected to an initial term of six (6) years;
30	and two (2) shall be elected to an initial term of eight (8) years. The
31	initial terms of these additional judges shall be determined by lot during the
32	first public session of the court after their elected terms shall commence.
33	Thereafter, these judges shall be elected for full eight (8) year terms. Each
34	of the judges shall be a resident of the district from which elected and shall
35	have the same qualifications for holding office and shall receive the same
36	salary, expenses and other allowances as provided by law for other judges of

0226971643.jjd387

3

As Engrossed: H3/12/97 H4/3/97

1	the Court of Appeals.
2	(b) All other laws and parts of laws in conflict with this act are
3	hereby repealed.
4	
5	/s/Rep. Booker
6	
7	
8	
9	
10	
11	
12	
13	
14	
15	
16	
17	
18	
19 20	
20	
22	
23	
24	
25	
26	
27	
28	
29	
30	
31	
32	
33	
34	
35	
36	