1	State of Arkansas
2	81st General Assembly
3	Regular Session, 1997 H.C.R. 1004
4	By: Representatives McGee, Angel, Johnson, Kidd, Ammons, Davis, Jeffress, French, Keltner, Shoffner, Mullenix, Hunton, Lancaster,
5	Wooldridge, Dianne Hudson, Whorton, Magnus, McGehee, Hausam, and Harris
6	
7	
8	HOUSE CONCURRENT RESOLUTION
9	URGING THE UNITED STATES SENATE TO ACCELERATE THE
10	CONFIRMATION OF RODNEY SLATER AS SECRETARY OF
11	TRANSPORTATION AND EXTENDING THE BEST WISHES OF THE
12	EIGHTY-FIRST ARKANSAS GENERAL ASSEMBLY TO MR. SLATER.
13	
14	Subtitle
15	URGING THE UNITED STATES SENATE TO
16	ACCELERATE THE CONFIRMATION OF RODNEY
17	SLATER AS SECRETARY OF TRANSPORTATION.
18	
19	
20	WHEREAS, Rodney Slater began confirmation hearings to head the United
21	States Department of Transportation on January 29, 1997; and
22	
23	WHEREAS, Rodney Slater has extensive knowledge of the transportation
24	industry, including past service as a Commissioner with the Arkansas State
25	Highway Commission, and has worked for the past four (4) years as the Federal
26	Highway Administrator and has done an excellent job; and
27	
28	WHEREAS, his academic qualifications and his employment record, both
29	past and present, are impeccable; and
30	
31	WHEREAS, Rodney Slater has bipartisan support resulting from his sense
32	of fairness and concern for all people and he would be an outstanding
33	Secretary of the United States Department of Transportation,
34	
35	NOW THEREFORE,
36	BE IT RESOLVED BY THE HOUSE OF REPRESENTATIVES OF THE EIGHTY-FIRST GENERAL

H.C.R. 1004

1 ASSEMBLY OF THE STATE OF ARKANSAS, THE SENATE CONCURRING THEREIN: THAT the confirmation of Rodney Slater as the Secretary of 4 Transportation of the United States Department of Transportation be 5 accelerated; and б 7 BE IT FURTHER RESOLVED, THAT the House and Senate members of the Eighty-First Arkansas General 10 Assembly wish him well; and 12 BE IT FURTHER RESOLVED, THAT a copy of this resolution, after its concurrence by the Senate, be 15 sent to the Secretary of the Senate of the United States Senate.