1	State of Arkansas
2	81st General Assembly
3	Regular Session, 1997 S.C.R. 17
4	By: Senators Fitch, Roebuck, Gwatney, Jeffries, Kennedy, Walters, Webb, and Wyrick
5	
6	
7	SENATE CONCURRENT RESOLUTION
8	RESPECTFULLY REQUESTING THE CONGRESS OF THE UNITED STATES
9	TO ENDORSE THE "ISTEA INTEGRITY RESTORATION ACT"
10	INTRODUCED DURING THE 105TH CONGRESSIONAL SESSION.
11	
12	Subtitle
13	RESPECTFULLY REQUESTING THE CONGRESS OF
14	THE UNITED STATES TO ENDORSE THE "ISTEA
15	INTEGRITY RESTORATION ACT" INTRODUCED
16	DURING THE 105TH CONGRESSIONAL SESSION.
17	
18	WHEREAS, the current Federal Highway Authorization Act, the Intermodel
19	Surface Transportation Efficiency Act of 1991 (ISTEA), expires on September
20	30, 1997; and
21	
22	WHEREAS, ISTEA contains numerous highway funding formulas and categories
23	which are complex and based on outdated criteria; and
24	
25	WHEREAS, the "ISTEA Integrity Restoration Act", HR 674 and S 335, which
26	incorporate the recommendations proposed by the STEP-21 Coalition (Streamlined
27	Transportation Efficiency Program for the 21st Century) has been introduced in
28	Congress to streamline the federal highway program by allowing each state the
29	flexibility to meet its specific surface transportation needs; and
30	WHEREAS, the "ISTEA Integrity Restoration Act" provides for at least a
31	95% return on the payments each state makes to the Federal Highway Trust Fund;
32	and
33	WHEREAS, the "ISTEA Integrity Restoration Act" updates the federal
34	funding distribution formulas to reflect more current, fair and equitable
35	factors;

36

2 NOW THEREFORE, 3 BE IT RESOLVED BY THE SENATE OF THE EIGHTY-FIRST GENERAL ASSEMBLY OF THE STATE 4 OF ARKANSAS, THE HOUSE OF REPRESENTATIVES CONCURRING THEREIN: THAT the Congress of the United States is respectfully requested to 7 endorse the "ISTEA Integrity Restoration Act", HR 674 and S 335; and BE IT FURTHER RESOLVED THAT copies of this Resolution signed by the 10 Speaker of the House, the President of the Senate and Governor of the State of 11 Arkansas be transmitted to the President of the United States, the Speaker of 12 the U.S. House of Representatives, the President of the U.S. Senate and 13 members of Congress duly elected from the State of Arkansas. 

1