1	State of Arkansas	As Engrossed: H3/11/99 H4/6/99	
2	82nd General Assembly		
3	Regular Session, 1999		HR 1037
4			
5	By: Representatives Allison, H	Bookout, Agee, Ammons, Angel, Bennett, Bevis	s, Biggs, Bledsoe, Bond,
6	Booker, Broadway, Buchanan, Bush, Carson, Cleveland, Cook, Courtway, Creekmore, Davis,		
7	Dees, Duggar, Eason, Elliott, Faris, Ferguson, Ferrell, Files, French, Gillespie, Gipson, Glover,		
8	Green, Gullett, Haak, Hale, Harris, Hathorn, Hausam, Hendren, Hickinbotham, Horn, House,		
9	Hunt, Jacobs, G. Jeffress, J. Jeffress, B. Johnson, C. Johnson, Jones, Judy, Kidd, King, Lancaster,		
10	Laverty, Lendall, J. Lewellen, Luker, Lynn, Madison, Magnus, P. Malone, Milligan, Milum, Minton,		
11	Morris, Napper, Oglesby, Pappas, Parks, Prater, Rackley, Rodgers, Salmon, Scrimshire, Seawel,		
12	Sheppard, Shoffner, Simmons, Simon, M. Smith, R. Smith, T. Smith, M. Steele, T. Steele, Taylor,		
13	Teague, L. Thomas, T. Thomas, Trammell, Vess, W. Walker, Weaver, White, Wilkins, Wilkinson,		
14	Willis, Womack, Wood		
15			
16			
17	HOUSE RESOLUTION		
18	"COMMENDING AND CONGRATULATING THE MEMBERS OF THE		
19	ARKANSAS STATE UNIVERSITY INDIANS MEN'S BASKETBALL		
20	TEAM AND HEAD COACH DICKEY NUTT ON THEIR OUTSTANDING		
21	1998-99 REGULAR SEASON. "		
22			
23		Subtitle	
24	"COMMENDING AND CONGRATULATING THE		
25	MEMBERS OF THE ARKANSAS STATE UNIVERSITY		
26	INDIANS MEN'S BASKETBALL TEAM AND HEAD		
27	COACH DICKEY NUTT ON THEIR OUTSTANDING		
28	1998-9	9 REGULAR SEASON. "	
29			
30			
31	WHEREAS, Arkansas	State University has competed in in	itercol I egi ate
32	athletics as a member of the National Collegiate Athletic Association (NCAA)		
33	since 1952 and has participated in NCAA Division I athletics since 1975; and		
34			
35	WHEREAS, the India	ans of Arkansas State University won	the Sun Belt
36	Conference Tournament, H	held in Lafayette, Louisiana, by def	eating Western

ECB493

HR1037

Kentucky University in the finals, 65-48, on March 2, 1999 and have achieved a 1 2 win-loss record of 18-11 for the year, 9-5 in the Sun Belt Conference; and 3 4 WHEREAS, student athletes have a great responsibility to be role models for other young people and members of the 1998-99 men's team at Arkansas State 5 University have continuously demonstrated those qualities most associated with 6 7 success both on and off the court of competition; and 8 9 WHEREAS, the five seniors on the 1998-99 team-Eric Beatty of Okmulgee, Oklahoma, Jermaine Ezell of Crawfordsville, Arkansas, Antonio Harvey of 10 Jacksonville, Florida, Freddy Hicks of Moro, Arkansas, and Jeff Holloway of 11 12 Muncie, Indiana, have distinguished themselves through their outstanding 13 sportsmanship, team spirit and athletic ability; and 14 WHEREAS, Chico Fletcher of Osceola was designated Most Valuable Player 15 of the Sun Belt Conference Tournament, and honor which follows being named Sun 16 17 Belt Conference Player of the Year for the second straight Year; and 18 19 WHEREAS, team members Cody Mears of Conway, Geoff Williams of Coahoma, 20 Mississppi, Bryan Breininger of Chesapeake, Virginia, DeShawn Denson of 21 Oklahoma City, Oklahoma, DeWayne Hart of Lonoke, Arkansas, C.J. Pepper of 22 Hopkinsville, Kentucky, Luis Rivas of Quincy, Illinois, Norman Stewart of 23 Garland, Texas, and Kolin Weaver of Graham, Texas, have worked diligently 24 throughout the season to help achieve the team's goals; and 25 WHEREAS, coach Dickey Nutt, in his fourth year as head coach, has been 26

27 an outstanding leader, teacher, and team motivator, and has guided the program 28 to the goal he and his team set for the 1998-99 season and assistant coaches 29 Dennis Nutt, Charlie Fenske and Tony Madlock, and team assistants Mark Green 30 and Micah Marsh, have played key roles in the Indians' success this season; 31 and

32

33 WHEREAS, Arkansas State University Indians' fans have consistently 34 supported the team, as evidenced by the largest average home game attendance 35 record among the eight universities in the Sun Belt Conference; and

2

HR1037

1	WHEREAS, the Arkansas State University Indians, by virtue of the their		
2	Sun Belt Tournament Championship, earned a berth in the National Collegiate		
3	Athletic Association's Division I men's Basketball Championship Tournament,		
4	becoming one of only 64 NCAA Division I schools, out of 315 nationally, to		
5	compete for the national championship.		
6			
7	NOW THEREFORE,		
8	BE IT RESOLVED BY THE HOUSE OF REPRESENTATIVES OF THE EIGHTY-SECOND GENERAL		
9	ASSEMBLY OF THE STATE OF ARKANSAS:		
10			
11	That the House of Representatives wishes to commend and congratulate the		
12	members of the Arkansas State University Indians men's basketball team and		
13	Head Coach Dickey Nutt on their outstanding 1998-99 Regular Season.		
14	/s/ Allison, et al		
15			
16			
17			
18			
19			
20			
21			
22			
23			
24			
25			
26			
27			
28			
29			
30			
31			
32			
33			
34			
35			
36			

1