Stricken language would be deleted from and underlined language would be added to law as it existed prior to the 82nd General Assembly.

1	State of Arkansas As Engrossed: S3/24/99	
2	82nd General Assembly A B1II	
3	Regular Session, 1999 SENATE BILL	874
4		
5	By: Senator Wilson	
6		
7		
8	For An Act To Be Entitled	
9	"AN ACT TO AMEND ARKANSAS CODE 22-3-502 CONCERNING THE	
10	CAPITOL ARTS AND GROUNDS COMMISSION; AND FOR OTHER	
11	PURPOSES. "	
12		
13	Subtitle	
14	"AN ACT TO CONCERNING THE CAPITOL ARTS	
15	AND GROUNDS COMMISSION."	
16		
17		
18	BE IT ENACTED BY THE GENERAL ASSEMBLY OF THE STATE OF ARKANSAS:	
19		
20	SECTION 1. Arkansas Code 22-3-502 [As amended by Acts 1997, Nos. 10	43
21	and 1354.] is amended to read as follows:	
22	"22-3-502. Creation - Members, etc. [As amended by Acts 1997, Nos. 1	043
23	and 1354.]	
24	(a)(1) There is created a Capitol Arts and Grounds Commission. The	
25	commission shall be composed of $\frac{thirteen}{(13)}$ $\frac{fifteen}{(15)}$ members as follows:	ows:
26	(A) The Governor or a designee;	
27	(B) The Secretary of State or a designee who shall serv	e as
28	commission chair and ex officio member;	
29	(C) The Director of the Arkansas Historic Preservation	
30	Program;	
31	(D) The Director of the Arkansas Department of Parks an	d
32	Touri sm;	
33	(E) The Chair of the Capitol Zoning District Commission	;
34	(F) One (1) Landscape architect in this state, to be na	med
35	by the Secretary of State from a list of three (3) names submitted by the	
36	Arkansas Chapter of the American Society of Landscape Architects; and	

LAM581

As Engrossed: S3/24/99 SB874

1 (G) One (1) licensed architect in this state, to be named 2 by the Secretary of State from a list of three (3) names submitted by the 3 Arkansas Chapter of the American Institute of Architects; 4 (H) Two (2) citizen members at-large to be appointed by the 5 Governor, who shall serve a four-year terms; (I) Two (2) Four (4) citizen members at-large to be 6 7 appointed by the Secretary of State, who shall serve a four-year terms. (2)(J) In addition to the foregoing members, the The President 8 Pro Tempore of the Senate shall name one (1) member of the Senate to serve as 9 an ex officio member on the commission appoint one (1) non-legislator as a 10 member of the commission, and the Speaker of the House of Representatives 11 12 shall name one (1) member of the House of Representatives to serve as an ex 13 officio member on the commission appoint one (1) non-legislator as a member of 14 the commission. (b)(1) Members of the commission shall serve without pay, but shall be 15 16 reimbursed by Secretary of State funds for reasonable and necessary expenses in attending commission meetings and in the performance of duties of the 17 18 commission, if funds are provided therefor, in accordance with the rate 19 prescribed for state employees in state travel regulations. 20 (2) The nonvoting legislative members of the commission shall be entitled to receive per diem and mileage for attending commission meetings at 21 22 the same rate as provided by law for attending meetings of the interim committees of the General Assembly, and the allowances shall be paid from 23 24 funds appropriated for that purpose. 25 (c)(1) The commission shall meet at least twice a year or on call of 26 the chairman or upon written request of any four (4) of its members. 27 (2) A majority vote of the voting members of the commission shall 28 be necessary for the adoption of any action by the commission. 29 (d)(1) The terms of office of the four (4) six (6) appointive members of the commission shall be four (4) years. The initial at-large members 30 31 appointed by the Governor and Secretary of State shall determine their terms by lot so that: one (1) member shall serve a term of two (2) years; and one 32 (1) member shall serve a term of four (4) years. 33 (2) The two (2) nonvoting legislative members of the commission 34 shall serve until their successors are named at the next-following regular 35

session of the General Assembly.

36

As Engrossed: S3/24/99 SB874

ı	$\frac{(3)}{(2)}$ within ninety (90) days prior to the expiration of the
2	term of office of each professional member, the American Society of Landscape
3	Architects may submit to the Secretary of State, a list of three (3) names of
4	licensed landscape architects for each position for which a term expires.
5	Within ninety (90) days prior to the expiration of the term of office of each
6	professional member, the American Institute of Architects may submit to the
7	Secretary of State, a list of three (3) names of licensed architects for each
8	position for which a term expires. Appointments expire June 30."
9	
10	
11	SECTION 2. Arkansas Code 22-3-502 [As amended by Acts 1997, Nos. 250
12	and 1354.] is repealed
13	22-3-502. Creation - Members, etc. [As amended by Acts 1997, Nos. 250
14	and 1354.]
15	(a)(1) There is created a Capitol Grounds Commission consisting of the
16	following members:
17	(A) The Governor or his designee;
18	(B) The Secretary of State or his designee;
19	(C) The Director of the Arkansas Historic Preservation
20	Commi ssi on;
21	(D) The Chairman of the Capitol Zoning District Commission;
22	(E) One (1) Landscape architect in this state, to be named
23	by the Governor from a list of three (3) names submitted to him by the
24	Arkansas Chapter of the American Society of Landscape Architects; and
25	(F) One (1) Licensed architect in this state, to be named
26	by the Secretary of State from a list of three (3) names submitted to him by
27	the Arkansas Chapter of the American Institute of Architects.
28	(2) In addition to the foregoing members, the President Pro
29	Tempore of the Senate shall name one (1) member of the Senate to serve as a
30	nonvoting member on the commission, and the Speaker of the House of
31	Representatives shall name one (1) member of the House of Representatives to
32	serve as a nonvoting member on the commission.
33	(b)(1) The Governor shall serve as chairman of the commission or shall
34	designate some other member of the commission to serve as chairman in his
35	pl ace.
36	(2) Members of the commission shall serve without nay but may

As Engrossed: S3/24/99 SB874

1	receive expense reimbursement in accordance with § 25-16-901 et seq.
2	(3) The nonvoting legislative members of the commission shall be
3	entitled to receive per diem and mileage for attending commission meetings at
4	the same rate as provided by law for attending meetings of the interim
5	committees of the General Assembly, and the allowances shall be paid from
6	funds appropriated for that purpose.
7	(c)(1) The commission shall meet on call of the chairman or upon
8	written request of any four (4) of its members.
9	(2) A majority vote of the voting members of the commission shall
10	be necessary for the adoption of any action by the commission.
11	(d)(1) The terms of office of the two (2) appointive members of the
12	commission shall be four (4) years.
13	(2) The two nonvoting legislative members of the commission shall
14	serve until their successors are named at the next-following regular session
15	of the General Assembly.
16	
17	SECTION 3. All provisions of this act of a general and permanent nature
18	are amendatory to the Arkansas Code of 1987 Annotated and the Arkansas Code
19	Revision Commission shall incorporate the same in the Code.
20	
21	SECTION 4. If any provision of this act or the application thereof to
22	any person or circumstance is held invalid, such invalidity shall not affect
23	other provisions or applications of the act which can be given effect without
24	the invalid provision or application, and to this end the provisions of this
25	act are declared to be severable.
26	
27	SECTION 5. All laws and parts of laws in conflict with this act are
28	hereby repeal ed.
29	/s/ Wilson
30	
31	
32	
33	
34	
35	
36	