Stricken language would be deleted from and underlined language would be added to the law as it existed prior to this session of the General Assembly.

1	State of Arkansas	As Engrossed: H2/8/01 S3/6/01		
2	83rd General Assembly	A Bill		
3	Regular Session, 2001		HOUSE BILL	1527
4				
5	By: Representative Teague			
6	By: Senator Riggs			
7				
8				
9		For An Act To Be Entitled		
10	AN ACT	TO ENSURE THAT MUNICIPAL, COUNTY AND	STATE	
11	NEEDS A	ARE CONSIDERED IN THE DEVELOPMENT AND	1	
12	IMPLEM	ENTATION OF THE ARKANSAS WIRELESS		
13	I NFORM	ATION NETWORK (AWIN); AND FOR OTHER		
14	PURPOS	ES.		
15				
16		Subtitle		
17	AN A	ACT TO INCLUDE MUNICIPAL, COUNTY AND		
18	STA	TE ENTITIES IN THE ARKANSAS WIRELESS		
19	INF	ORMATION NETWORK (AWIN).		
20				
21				
22	BE IT ENACTED BY THE	GENERAL ASSEMBLY OF THE STATE OF ARKA	ANSAS:	
23				
24	SECTION 1. Def	finitions.		
25	<u>As used in this</u>	<u>sact:</u>		
26	<u>(1) "AWIN" mear</u>	ns a multi-agency, integrated, statewi	ide shared-use	
27	<u>wireless communication</u>	ons system including, but not limited	to base stations	1
28	<u>mobile devices, porta</u>	ables, antennas, towers, real estate a	and other such	
29	devices, systems and supporting infrastructure as may be necessary for the			
30	proper functioning of	f such a system which is to be availal	ble for the use o	f
31	<u>all municipal, county</u>	<u>y and state entities;</u>		
32	<u>(2) "Chair" me</u>	eans the chair of the Work Group; and		
33	<u>(3) "Work Grou</u>	up" means the AWIN Work Group.		
34				
35	SECTION 2. <u>Wor</u>	<u>rk Group.</u>		
36	<u>(a)</u> There is a	created the AWIN Work Group to guide	<u>the development a</u>	nd



1	implementation of AWIN.		
2	(b) The membership of the Work Group shall consist of:		
3	(1) The Director of the Department of Information Systems or the		
4	<u>director's designee;</u>		
5	(2) The Director of the Arkansas Highway and Transportation		
6	Department of the director's designee;		
7	(3) The Director of the Arkansas State Game and Fish Commission		
8	or the director's designee;		
9	(4) The State Forester of the State Forester's designee;		
10	(5) The Director of the Department of Arkansas State Police or		
11	the director's designee;		
12	(6) The Director of the Department of Parks and Tourism or the		
13	<u>director's designee;</u>		
14	(7) The Director of the Arkansas Department of Emergency		
15	Management or the director's designee;		
16	(8) The Director of the Department of Correction or the		
17	<u>director's designee;</u>		
18	(9) The Secretary of State or the Secretary's designee;		
19	(10) The Director of Arkansas Department of Environmental Quality		
20	<u>or the director's designee;</u>		
21	(11) The Adjutant General of the State Military Department or the		
22	<u>Adjutant General's designee;</u>		
23	(12) The Director of the Arkansas Soil and Water Conservation		
24	<u>Commission or the director's designee;</u>		
25	(13) The Director of the Department of Community Punishment or		
26	<u>the director's designee;</u>		
27	(14) The Director of the Arkansas Crime Information Center or the		
28	<u>director's designee;</u>		
29	(15) The Director of the Arkansas Department of Health or the		
30	<u>director's designee;</u>		
31	(16) The President of the Arkansas Sheriffs Association or the		
32	president's designee;		
33	(17) The President of the Arkansas Association of Chiefs of		
34	Police or the president's designee;		
35	(18) The President of the Arkansas Search and Rescue Association		
36	<u>or the president's designee;</u>		

2

1	(19) Two (2) persons appointed by the Speaker of the House of		
2	<u>Representatives;</u>		
3	(20) Two (2) persons appointed by the President Pro Tempore of		
4	the Senate;		
5	(21) One (1) person appointed by the House Cochair of the Rural		
6	Fire Departments Study Commission;		
7	(22) One (1) person appointed by the Senate Cochair of the Rural		
8	Fire Departments Study Commission;		
9	(23) Two (2) persons appointed by the Governor; and		
10	(24) The Chairman of the Arkansas Fire Service Alliance or the		
11	<u>Chai rman' s' desi gnee.</u>		
12			
13	(c) The chair of the Work Group shall be appointed by the Governor from		
14	the membership of the Work Group. The chair may appoint subcommittees as are		
15	necessary to carry out the provisions of this act.		
16	(d) The Work Group may be convened by a majority of members, or by the		
17	Chair.		
18	(e) Members shall not receive compensation for service on the Work		
19	Group but may receive expense reimbursement as provided in Arkansas Code 25-		
20	<u>16-902.</u>		
21	(f) All state agencies shall cooperate with the Work Group in the		
22	performance of its duties.		
23	(g) The Work Group shall exist cease to exist as of July 1, 2003.		
24			
25	SECTION 3. The Department of Information Services shall provide staff		
26	support for the Work Group.		
27			
28	SECTION 4. EMERGENCY CLAUSE. It is found and determined by the General		
29	Assembly that there is an urgent need to implement a statewide wireless		
30	information network; that this act establishes an AWIN Work Group to guide		
31	development and implementation of a statewide wireless information network;		
32	and that this act is immediately necessary so that the AWIN Work Group can		
33	complete its work in a timely way. Therefore, an emergency is declared to		
34	exist and this act being immediately necessary for the preservation of the		
35	public peace, health and safety shall become effective on the date of its		
36	approval by the Governor. If the bill is neither approved nor vetoed by the		

As Engrossed: H2/8/01 S3/6/01

1	Governor, it shall become effective on the expiration of the period of time
2	during which the Governor may veto the bill. If the bill is vetoed by the
3	Governor and the veto is overridden, it shall become effective on the date the
4	last house overrides the veto.
5	/s/ Teague
6	
7	
8	
9	
10	
11	
12	
13	
14	
15	
16	
17	
18	
19	
20	
21	
22	
23	
24	
25	
26	
27	
28	
29	
30	
31	
32	
33	
34	
35	
36	