Stricken language would be deleted from and underlined language would be added to the law as it existed prior to this session of the General Assembly.

1 2	State of Arkansas 83rd General Assembly	A Bill		
3	Regular Session, 2001		HOUSE BILL 2578	
4				
5	By: Representative Magnus			
6				
7				
8	For An Act To Be Entitled			
9	AN ACT TO ESTABLISH THE CONGRESSIONAL DISTRICTS			
10	IN ARKANSAS; AND FOR OTHER PURPOSES.			
11				
12		Subtitle		
13	AN ACT TO ESTABLISH THE CONGRESSIONAL			
14	DISTRICTS IN ARKANSAS.			
15				
16				
17	BE IT ENACTED BY THE GENERAL ASSE	EMBLY OF THE STATE OF	ARKANSAS:	
18				
19	SECTION 1. Arkansas Code 7-2-101 is amended to read as follows:			
20	7-2-101. Number of congressional districts.			
21	The State of Arkansas is hereby divided into four (4) congressional			
22	districts, provided that the members of the House of Representatives of the			
23	United States Congress presently serving from each of the existing			
24	congressional districts of this state shall continue to serve until the			
25	expiration of their current terms, and successor congressmen shall be elected			
26	from the congressional districts as established in this subchapter. It is			
27	the intention of this subchapter to provide for congressional districts of			
28	substantially equal population in order to comply with the Equal Protection			
29	Clause of the Fourteenth Amendmer	nt to the Constitution	n of the United States.	
30				
31		SECTION 2. Arkansas Code 7-2-102 is amended to read as follows:		
32	7-2-102. First Congressional District.			
33	The First Congressional District shall be composed of the counties of:			
34	Arkansas, Clay, Cleburne, Craighead, Crittenden, Cross, Fulton, Greene,			
35	Independence, Izard, Jackson, Lawrence, Lee, Lonoke, Mississippi, Monroe, Phillips, Prairie, Poinsett, Randolph, St. Francis, Searcy, Sharp, Stone, and			
36	Phillips, Prairie, Poinsett, Rand	iorph, St. Francis, Se	earcy, Sharp, Stone, and	

1 Woodruff; and the qualified electors residing therein shall elect one (1) 2 member of the House of Representatives of the United States. 3 4 SECTION 3. Arkansas Code 7-2-103 is amended to read as follows: 5 7-2-103. Second Congressional District. 6 The Second Congressional District shall be composed of the counties of: 7 Conway, Faulkner, Perry, Pulaski, Saline, Van Buren, White, and Yell; and the 8 qualified electors residing therein shall elect one (1) member of the House 9 of Representatives of the United States. 10 11 SECTION 4. Arkansas Code 7-2-104 is amended to read as follows: 7-2-104. Third Congressional District. 12 13 The Third Congressional District shall be composed of the counties of: 14 Baxter, Benton, Boone, Carroll, Crawford, Franklin, Johnson, Logan, Madison, 15 Marion, Newton, Polk, Pope, Sebastian, Scott, and Washington; and the 16 qualified electors residing therein shall elect one (1) member of the House 17 of Representatives of the United States. 18 19 Arkansas Code 7-2-105 is amended to read as follows: SECTION 5. 20 7-2-105. Fourth Congressional District. 21 The Fourth Congressional District shall be composed of the counties of: 22 Ashley, Bradley, Calhoun, Chicot, Clark, Cleveland, Columbia, Dallas, Desha, 23 Drew, Garland, Grant, Hempstead, Hot Spring, Howard, Jefferson, Lafayette, 24 Little River, Lincoln, Miller, Montgomery, Nevada, Ouachita, Pike, Sevier, 25 and Union; and the qualified electors residing therein shall elect one (1) 26 member of the House of Representatives of the United States. 27 28 29 30 31 32 33 34 35 36