1	State of Arkansas 83rd General Assembly	A Bill		
3	Regular Session, 2001		HOUSE BILL 2603	
4	110801011, 2001		110022 2122 2000	
5	By: Representative Bledsoe			
6				
7				
8	For An Act To Be Entitled			
9	AN ACT TO ESTABLISH THE CONGRESSIONAL DISTRICTS			
10	IN ARKAI	NSAS; AND FOR OTHER PURPOSES.		
11				
12		Subtitle		
13	AN ACT TO ESTABLISH THE CONGRESSIONAL			
14	DI STI	RICTS IN ARKANSAS.		
15				
16				
17	BE IT ENACTED BY THE G	GENERAL ASSEMBLY OF THE STATE OF AR	RKANSAS:	
18				
19	SECTION 1. Arka	ansas Code 7-2-101 is amended to re	ad as follows:	
20	7-2-101. Number of congressional districts.			
21	The State of Arkansas is hereby divided into four (4) congressional			
22	districts, provided that the members of the House of Representatives of the			
23	United States Congress presently serving from each of the existing			
24	congressional district	ts of this state shall continue to	serve until the	
25	expiration of their cu	urrent terms, and successor congres	ssmen shall be elected	
26	from the congressional	districts as established in this	subchapter. It is	
27	the intention of this	subchapter to provide for congress	sional districts of	
28	substantially equal po	opulation in order to comply with t	the Equal Protection	
29	Clause of the Fourteer	nth Amendment to the Constitution o	of the United States.	
30				
31	SECTION 2. Arka	ansas Code 7-2-102 is amended to re	ad as follows:	
32	7-2-102. First Congressional District.			
33	The First Congressional District shall be composed of the counties of:			
34	Arkansas, Clay, Cleburne, Craighead, Crittenden, Cross, Fulton, Greene,			
35	Independence, Izard, Jackson, Lawrence, Lee, Lonoke, Mississippi, Monroe,			
36	Phillins Prairie Poi	nsett Randolph St Francis Sear	cy Sharn Stone and	

MHF879

1	Woodruff; and the qualified electors residing therein shall elect one (1)		
2	member of the House of Representatives of the United States.		
3			
4	SECTION 3. Arkansas Code 7-2-103 is amended to read as follows:		
5	7-2-103. Second Congressional District.		
6	The Second Congressional District shall be composed of the counties of		
7	Conway, Faulkner, Perry, Pulaski, Saline, Van Buren, White, and Yell; and th		
8	qualified electors residing therein shall elect one (1) member of the House		
9	of Representatives of the United States.		
10			
11	SECTION 4. Arkansas Code 7-2-104 is amended to read as follows:		
12	7-2-104. Third Congressional District.		
13	The Third Congressional District shall be composed of the counties of:		
14	Baxter, Benton, Boone, Carroll, Crawford, Franklin, Johnson, Logan, Madison,		
15	Marion, Newton, Polk, Pope, Sebastian, Scott, and Washington; and the		
16	qualified electors residing therein shall elect one (1) member of the House		
17	of Representatives of the United States.		
18			
19	SECTION 5. Arkansas Code 7-2-105 is amended to read as follows:		
20	7-2-105. Fourth Congressional District.		
21	The Fourth Congressional District shall be composed of the counties of		
22	Ashley, Bradley, Calhoun, Chicot, Clark, Cleveland, Columbia, Dallas, Desha,		
23	Drew, Garland, Grant, Hempstead, Hot Spring, Howard, Jefferson, Lafayette,		
24	Little River, Lincoln, Miller, Montgomery, Nevada, Ouachita, Pike, Sevier,		
25 26	and Union; and the qualified electors residing therein shall elect one (1) member of the House of Representatives of the United States.		
27	member of the house of Representatives of the onlited States.		
28			
29			
30			
31			
32			
33			
34			
35			
36			